Nightingales in Berlin: searching for the perfect sound

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
The University of Chicago Press,
Pub. Date:
2019.
Language:
English
Description
A celebrated figure in myth, song, and story, the nightingale has captivated the imagination for millennia, its complex song evoking a prism of human emotions,—from melancholy to joy, from the fear of death to the immortality of art. But have you ever listened closely to a nightingale’s song? It’s a strange and unsettling sort of composition—an eclectic assortment of chirps, whirs, trills, clicks, whistles, twitters, and gurgles. At times it is mellifluous, at others downright guttural. It is a rhythmic assault, always eluding capture. What happens if you decide to join in? As philosopher and musician David Rothenberg shows in this searching and personal new book, the nightingale’s song is so peculiar in part because it reflects our own cacophony back at us. As vocal learners, nightingales acquire their music through the world around them, singing amidst the sounds of humanity in all its contradictions of noise and beauty, hard machinery and soft melody. Rather than try to capture a sound not made for us to understand, Rothenberg seeks these musical creatures out, clarinet in tow, and makes a new sound with them. He takes us to the urban landscape of Berlin—longtime home to nightingale colonies where the birds sing ever louder in order to be heard—and invites us to listen in on their remarkable collaboration as birds and instruments riff off of each other’s sounds. Through dialogue, travel records, sonograms, tours of Berlin’s city parks, and musings on the place animal music occupies in our collective imagination, Rothenberg takes us on a quest for a new sonic alchemy, a music impossible for any one species to make alone. In the tradition of The Hidden Life of Trees and The Invention of Nature, Rothenberg has written a provocative and accessible book to attune us ever closer to the natural environment around us.  
More Details
ISBN:
9780226467184
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID027167ba-8a98-2b64-e6f5-0eff39527060
Grouping Titlenightingales in berlin searching for the perfect sound
Grouping Authorrothenberg david
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-11-15 12:38:56PM
Last Indexed2019-11-22 04:44:08AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorRothenberg, David, 1962-
author_displayRothenberg, David
available_at_arlingtonConnection Crystal City
collection_arlingtonConnection Crystal City New Nonfiction
detailed_location_arlingtonConnection Crystal City New Nonfiction
display_description
format_arlingtonBook
format_category_arlingtonBooks
id027167ba-8a98-2b64-e6f5-0eff39527060
isbn9780226467184
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b2069720x.i22530952Connection Crystal City New Nonfiction781.17 ROTHE1falsefalseOn ShelfNov 01, 2019uann
itype_arlingtonHardback
last_indexed2019-11-22T09:44:08.885Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington781.17 ROTHE
local_time_since_added_arlingtonSix Months
Year
owning_library_arlingtonArlington Public Library
Aurora Hills
Central
Cherrydale
Columbia Pike
Connection Crystal City
Detention Center
Glencarlyn
Local History
Plaza
Shirlington
Westover
owning_location_arlingtonConnection Crystal City
primary_isbn9780226467184
publishDate2019
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b2069720xBookBooksEnglishThe University of Chicago Press, 2019.179 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations (some color), color map ; 24 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b2069720x.i22530952On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
subject_facetBirdsongs
Human-animal relationships -- Germany -- Berlin
Music -- Philosophy and aesthetics
Nature sounds
Nightingale
Nightingale -- Germany -- Berlin
Nightingale -- Vocalization -- Germany -- Berlin
title_displayNightingales in Berlin : searching for the perfect sound
title_fullNightingales in Berlin : searching for the perfect sound / David Rothenberg
title_shortNightingales in Berlin
title_subsearching for the perfect sound