Nightingales in Berlin: searching for the perfect sound

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
The University of Chicago Press,
Pub. Date:
2019.
Language:
English
Description
A celebrated figure in myth, song, and story, the nightingale has captivated the imagination for millennia, its complex song evoking a prism of human emotions,—from melancholy to joy, from the fear of death to the immortality of art. But have you ever listened closely to a nightingale’s song? It’s a strange and unsettling sort of composition—an eclectic assortment of chirps, whirrs, trills, clicks, whistles, twitters, and gurgles. At times it is mellifluous, at others downright guttural. It is a rhythmic assault, always eluding capture. What happens if you decide to join in? As philosopher and musician David Rothenberg shows in this searching and personal new book, the nightingale’s song is so peculiar in part because it reflects our own cacophony back at us. As vocal learners, nightingales acquire their music through the world around them, singing amidst the sounds of humanity in all its contradictions of noise and beauty, hard machinery and soft melody. Rather than try to capture a sound not made for us to understand, Rothenberg seeks these musical creatures out, clarinet in tow, and makes a new sound with them. He takes us to the urban landscape of Berlin—longtime home to nightingale colonies where the birds sing ever louder in order to be heard—and invites us to listen in on their remarkable collaboration as birds and instruments riff off of each other’s sounds. Through dialogue, travel records, sonograms, tours of Berlin’s city parks, and musings on the place animal music occupies in our collective imagination, Rothenberg takes us on a quest for a new sonic alchemy, a music impossible for any one species to make alone. In the tradition of The Hidden Life of Trees and The Invention of Nature, Rothenberg has written a provocative and accessible book to attune us ever closer to the natural environment around us.  
More Details
ISBN:
9780226467184
022646718
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 027167ba-8a98-2b64-e6f5-0eff39527060
Grouping Title nightingales in berlin searching for the perfect sound
Grouping Author rothenberg david
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-06-13 04:48:36AM
Last Indexed 2019-07-18 04:51:41AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Rothenberg, David, 1962-
author_display Rothenberg, David
available_at_arlington Central
collection_arlington New Nonfiction
detailed_location_arlington Central New Nonfiction
display_description
format_arlington Book
format_category_arlington Books
id 027167ba-8a98-2b64-e6f5-0eff39527060
isbn 022646718, 9780226467184
item_details ils:.b2069720x|.i22530952|Central New Nonfiction|781.17 ROTHE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||cann||
itype_arlington Hardback
last_indexed 2019-07-18T08:51:41.383Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington 781.17 ROTHE
local_time_since_added_arlington 2 Months, Quarter, Six Months, Year
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central
primary_isbn 9780226467184
publishDate 2019
record_details ils:.b2069720x|Book|Books||English|The University of Chicago Press,|2019.|179 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations (some color), color map ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b2069720x .i22530952 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 9999
subject_facet Birdsongs, Human-animal relationships -- Germany -- Berlin, Music -- Philosophy and aesthetics, Nature sounds, Nightingale, Nightingale -- Germany -- Berlin, Nightingale -- Vocalization -- Germany -- Berlin
title_display Nightingales in Berlin : searching for the perfect sound
title_full Nightingales in Berlin : searching for the perfect sound / David Rothenberg
title_short Nightingales in Berlin :
title_sub searching for the perfect sound