ALERT -- Item availability may not be correctly reflected in the Catalog due to a system error - please check back soon 

The Diplomat's Daughter

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Washington Square Press
Pub. Date:
20170711.
Language:
Unknown
Description
For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and Orphan Train, the author of the “thought-provoking” (Library Journal, starred review) and “must-read” (PopSugar) novel The Gilded Years crafts a captivating tale of three young people divided by the horrors of World War II and their journey back to one another.During the turbulent months following the 1941 bombing of Pearl Harbor, twenty-one-year-old Emi Kato, the daughter of a Japanese diplomat, is locked behind barbed wire in a Texas internment camp. She feels hopeless until she meets handsome young Christian Lange, whose German-born parents were wrongfully arrested for un-American activities. Together, they live as prisoners with thousands of other German and Japanese families, but discover that love can bloom in even the bleakest circumstances. When Emi and her mother are abruptly sent back to Japan, Christian enlists in the United States Army, with his sights set on the Pacific front—and, he hopes, a reunion with Emi—unaware that her first love, Leo Hartmann, the son of wealthy of Austrian parents and now a Jewish refugee in Shanghai, may still have her heart. Fearful of bombings in Tokyo, Emi’s parents send her to a remote resort town in the mountains, where many in the foreign community have fled. Cut off from her family, struggling with growing depression and hunger, Emi repeatedly risks her life to help keep her community safe—all while wondering if the two men she loves are still alive. As Christian Lange struggles to adapt to life as a soldier, his unit pushes its way from the South Pacific to Okinawa, where one of the bloodiest battles of World War II awaits them. Meanwhile, in Japanese-occupied Shanghai, as Leo fights to survive the squalor of the Jewish ghetto, a surprise confrontation with a Nazi officer threatens his life. For each man, Emi Kato is never far from their minds. Flung together by war, passion, and extraordinary acts of selflessness, the paths of these three remarkable young people will collide as the fighting on the Pacific front crescendos. With her “elegant and extremely gratifying” (USA TODAY) storytelling, Karin Tanabe paints a stunning portrait of a turning point in history.
More Details
ISBN:
9781501110474
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 07ccc695-8510-e899-603b-aa3ff8296743
full_title diplomat s daughter
author tanabe karin
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-06-21 04:57:11AM

Solr Details

_version_ 1570713751703781376
accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Tanabe, Karin.
author-letter Tanabe, Karin.
author_display Tanabe, Karin
availability_toggle_arlington Entire Collection
callnumber_sort_arlington ON ORDER
collection_arlington On Order
date_added 2017-06-21T09:02:43.425Z
days_since_added -1
detailed_location_arlington Arlington Public Library On Order
display_description
format_arlington Book
format_boost 10
format_category_arlington Books
grouping_category book
id 07ccc695-8510-e899-603b-aa3ff8296743
isbn 9781501110474
item_details ils:.b19751424|.o11276976|Arlington Public Library On Order|ON ORDER|||3|true|false|||||On Order||cafn||
itype_arlington
language Unknown
language_boost 1
language_boost_es 1
lexile_code
lexile_score -1
lib_boost_arlington 10
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington ON ORDER
local_callnumber_exact_arlington ON ORDER
local_callnumber_left_arlington ON ORDER
local_days_since_added_arlington -1
local_time_since_added_arlington 2 Months, Day, Month, On Order, Quarter, Six Months, Week, Year
num_holdings 3
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library On Order, Aurora Hills On Order, Central On Order, Cherrydale On Order, Columbia Pike On Order, Connection Crystal City On Order, Detention Center On Order, Glencarlyn On Order, Local History On Order, Plaza On Order, Shirlington On Order, Westover On Order
owning_location_arlington Central On Order
popularity 13
primary_isbn 9781501110474
publishDate 2017
publishDateSort 2017
publisher Washington Square Press
rating 2.5
rating_facet oneStar, twoStar
record_details ils:.b19751424|Book|Books||Unknown|Washington Square Press|20170711.|
recordtype grouped_work
scope_has_related_records a, arlington, c, d, g, h, o, p, s, u, v, w
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b19751424|.o11276976|On Order|On Order|false|false|true|false|false|true|||
target_audience Adult
target_audience_full Adult
time_since_added 2 Months, Day, Month, On Order, Quarter, Six Months, Week, Year
title The Diplomat's Daughter
title_display The Diplomat's Daughter
title_full The Diplomat's Daughter
title_short The Diplomat's Daughter
title_sort diplomat's daughter
topic Coming Soon, On Order
topic_facet Coming Soon, On Order