The diplomat's daughter: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and Orphan Train, the author of the “thought-provoking” (Library Journal, starred review) and “must-read” (PopSugar) novel The Gilded Years crafts a captivating tale of three young people divided by the horrors of World War II and their journey back to one another.During the turbulent months following the 1941 bombing of Pearl Harbor, twenty-one-year-old Emi Kato, the daughter of a Japanese diplomat, is locked behind barbed wire in a Texas internment camp. She feels hopeless until she meets handsome young Christian Lange, whose German-born parents were wrongfully arrested for un-American activities. Together, they live as prisoners with thousands of other German and Japanese families, but discover that love can bloom in even the bleakest circumstances. When Emi and her mother are abruptly sent back to Japan, Christian enlists in the United States Army, with his sights set on the Pacific front—and, he hopes, a reunion with Emi—unaware that her first love, Leo Hartmann, the son of wealthy of Austrian parents and now a Jewish refugee in Shanghai, may still have her heart. Fearful of bombings in Tokyo, Emi’s parents send her to a remote resort town in the mountains, where many in the foreign community have fled. Cut off from her family, struggling with growing depression and hunger, Emi repeatedly risks her life to help keep her community safe—all while wondering if the two men she loves are still alive. As Christian Lange struggles to adapt to life as a soldier, his unit pushes its way from the South Pacific to Okinawa, where one of the bloodiest battles of World War II awaits them. Meanwhile, in Japanese-occupied Shanghai, as Leo fights to survive the squalor of the Jewish ghetto, a surprise confrontation with a Nazi officer threatens his life. For each man, Emi Kato is never far from their minds. Flung together by war, passion, and extraordinary acts of selflessness, the paths of these three remarkable young people will collide as the fighting on the Pacific front crescendos. With her “elegant and extremely gratifying” (USA TODAY) storytelling, Karin Tanabe paints a stunning portrait of a turning point in history.
More Details
ISBN:
9781501110474
9781501110481
9781432841126
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 07ccc695-8510-e899-603b-aa3ff8296743
full_title diplomat s daughter
author tanabe karin
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-09-20 13:08:59PM

Solr Details

_version_ 1579079362142011392
accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Karin Tanabe
author-letter Tanabe, Karin,
author_additional Karin Tanabe., by Karin Tanabe.
author_display Karin Tanabe
availability_toggle_arlington Entire Collection
callnumber_sort_arlington F TANAB
collection_arlington New Fiction, New Large Type
date_added 2017-07-07T04:00:00Z
days_since_added 75
detailed_location_arlington Central New Fiction, Cherrydale New Fiction, Columbia Pike New Fiction, Shirlington New Fiction, Westover New Fiction, Westover New Large Type
display_description "For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and Orphan Train, the author of the "thought-provoking" (Library Journal, starred review) and "must-read" (PopSugar) novel The Gilded Years crafts a captivating tale of three young people divided by the horrors of World War II and their journey back to one another. During the turbulent months following the 1941 bombing of Pearl Harbor, twenty-one-year-old Emi Kato, the daughter of a Japanese diplomat, is locked behind barbed wire in a Texas interment camp, the victim of misfortune and America's new policies of fear. Plagued by fence sickness, her world changes when she meets Christian Lange, whose German-born parents were wrongfully arrested for un-American activities. Together, they live as prisoners with thousands of other German and Japanese families, but discover that young love can triumph over even the most unjust circumstances. When Emi and her mother are abruptly sent back to Japan, Christian enlists in the US Army, with his sights set on the Pacific front--and a reunion with Emi. Sent away for her safety, Emi lives out the war in a Japanese resort town where many in the foreign community have fled, including both Jews and Nazis. When she overhears a German officer boasting of the men he has murdered in Asia, fate brings Emi back to Leo Hartmann, the son of prominent Austrian Jews, now a refugee in Shanghai--her oldest friend and her first love. Fearing for his life, Emi is determined to find Leo. But will Christian's devotion be strong enough to stop her? Hurtled together by war, passion, and extraordinary acts of selflessness, the paths of these three remarkable young people collide as the fighting on the Pacific front crescendos. With her "elegant and extremely gratifying" (USA TODAY) storytelling, Tanabe paints a stunning portrait of a turning point in history"--
econtent_device Android, BlackBerry, Kindle, Kindle Fire, Mac, Windows, iPad, iPhone, iPod touch
econtent_protection_type_arlington Limited Access
econtent_source_arlington OverDrive
edition First Washington Square Press trade paperback edition.
format_arlington Book, Large Type, eBook
format_boost 24
format_category_arlington Books, eBook
genre Fiction
genre_facet Fiction
grouping_category book
id 07ccc695-8510-e899-603b-aa3ff8296743
isbn 9781432841126, 9781501110474, 9781501110481
item_details ils:.b19751424|.i21342313|Columbia Pike New Fiction|F TANAB|||1|false|false|||||Due Sep 19, 2017|Aug 22, 2017|oafn||, ils:.b19751424|.i21342325|Columbia Pike New Fiction|F TANAB|||1|false|false|||||Due Oct 7, 2017|Sep 11, 2017|oafn||, ils:.b19751424|.i21342337|Central New Fiction|F TANAB|||1|false|false|||||On Holdshelf|Sep 18, 2017|cafn||, ils:.b19751424|.i21378162|Central New Fiction|F TANAB|||1|false|false|||||Due Oct 9, 2017|Sep 12, 2017|cafn||, ils:.b19751424|.i21404136|Central New Fiction|F TANAB|||1|false|false|||||Due Sep 26, 2017||cafn||, ils:.b19751424|.i21404148|Shirlington New Fiction|F TANAB|||1|false|false|||||Due Oct 4, 2017|Sep 07, 2017|safn||, ils:.b19751424|.i2140415x|Westover New Fiction|F TANAB|||1|false|false|||||Due Oct 6, 2017|Sep 13, 2017|wafn||, ils:.b19751424|.i21404161|Westover New Fiction|F TANAB|||1|false|false|||||Due Sep 30, 2017|Sep 05, 2017|wafn||, ils:.b19751424|.i21404173|Shirlington New Fiction|F TANAB|||1|false|false|||||Due Oct 11, 2017|Sep 07, 2017|safn||, ils:.b19751424|.i21404185|Cherrydale New Fiction|F TANAB|||1|false|false|||||Due Sep 30, 2017|Sep 05, 2017|hafn||, ils:.b19892676|.i21395494|Westover New Large Type|LT F TANAB|||1|false|false|||||Due Sep 27, 2017|Sep 05, 2017|wafln||, overdrive:f8ab1d11-4cee-42a7-a219-38a38779100d|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|6|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Checked Out||||
itype_arlington , Hardback, Paperback
language English
language_boost 10
language_boost_es 1
lexile_score -1
lib_boost_arlington 10
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington F TANAB, LT F TANAB, Online OverDrive
local_callnumber_exact_arlington F TANAB, LT F TANAB, Online OverDrive
local_callnumber_left_arlington F TANAB, LT F TANAB, Online OverDrive
local_days_since_added_arlington 75
local_time_since_added_arlington Quarter, Six Months, Year
num_holdings 17
oclc (OCoLC)961005756, (OCoLC)986237456
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Shirlington, Westover
physical 451 pages ; 21 cm., 665 pages (large print) ; 23 cm.
popularity 114
primary_isbn 9781501110474
publishDate 2017
publishDateSort 2017
publisher Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company,, Washington Square Press, Washington Square Press,
rating 2.5
rating_facet oneStar, twoStar
record_details ils:.b19751424|Book|Books|First Washington Square Press trade paperback edition.|English|Washington Square Press,|c2017.|451 pages ; 21 cm., ils:.b19892676|Large Type|Books||English|Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company,|2017.|665 pages (large print) ; 23 cm., overdrive:f8ab1d11-4cee-42a7-a219-38a38779100d|eBook|eBook||English|Washington Square Press|2017|
recordtype grouped_work
scope_has_related_records a, arlington, c, d, g, h, o, p, s, u, v, w
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b19751424|.i21342313|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19751424|.i21342325|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19751424|.i21342337|Checked Out|On Holdshelf|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19751424|.i21378162|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19751424|.i21404136|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19751424|.i21404148|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19751424|.i2140415x|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19751424|.i21404161|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19751424|.i21404173|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19751424|.i21404185|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19892676|.i21395494|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, overdrive:f8ab1d11-4cee-42a7-a219-38a38779100d|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Man-woman relationships -- Fiction, World War, 1939-1945 -- Fiction
target_audience Adult
target_audience_full Adult
time_since_added Quarter, Six Months, Year
title The diplomat's daughter : A Novel
title_display The diplomat's daughter : a novel
title_full The Diplomat's Daughter A Novel, The diplomat's daughter / by Karin Tanabe, The diplomat's daughter : a novel / Karin Tanabe
title_short The diplomat's daughter :
title_sort diplomat's daughter a novel
title_sub A Novel
topic Fiction, Historical Fiction, Literature
topic_facet Fiction, Historical Fiction, Literature