The diplomat's daughter: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and Orphan Train, the author of the “thought-provoking” (Library Journal, starred review) and “must-read” (PopSugar) novel The Gilded Years crafts a captivating tale of three young people divided by the horrors of World War II and their journey back to one another.During the turbulent months following the 1941 bombing of Pearl Harbor, twenty-one-year-old Emi Kato, the daughter of a Japanese diplomat, is locked behind barbed wire in a Texas internment camp. She feels hopeless until she meets handsome young Christian Lange, whose German-born parents were wrongfully arrested for un-American activities. Together, they live as prisoners with thousands of other German and Japanese families, but discover that love can bloom in even the bleakest circumstances. When Emi and her mother are abruptly sent back to Japan, Christian enlists in the United States Army, with his sights set on the Pacific front—and, he hopes, a reunion with Emi—unaware that her first love, Leo Hartmann, the son of wealthy of Austrian parents and now a Jewish refugee in Shanghai, may still have her heart. Fearful of bombings in Tokyo, Emi’s parents send her to a remote resort town in the mountains, where many in the foreign community have fled. Cut off from her family, struggling with growing depression and hunger, Emi repeatedly risks her life to help keep her community safe—all while wondering if the two men she loves are still alive. As Christian Lange struggles to adapt to life as a soldier, his unit pushes its way from the South Pacific to Okinawa, where one of the bloodiest battles of World War II awaits them. Meanwhile, in Japanese-occupied Shanghai, as Leo fights to survive the squalor of the Jewish ghetto, a surprise confrontation with a Nazi officer threatens his life. For each man, Emi Kato is never far from their minds. Flung together by war, passion, and extraordinary acts of selflessness, the paths of these three remarkable young people will collide as the fighting on the Pacific front crescendos. With her “elegant and extremely gratifying” (USA TODAY) storytelling, Karin Tanabe paints a stunning portrait of a turning point in history.
More Details
ISBN:
9781501110474
9781501110481
9781432841126
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 07ccc695-8510-e899-603b-aa3ff8296743
Grouping Title diplomat s daughter
Grouping Author tanabe karin
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-22 04:49:56AM
Last Indexed 2018-07-22 04:56:58AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Tanabe, Karin,
author_display Karin Tanabe
available_at_arlington Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Westover
collection_arlington Adult Fiction, Connection Crystal City New Fiction, New Fiction, New Large Type
detailed_location_arlington Aurora Hills New Fiction, Central Adult Fiction, Central New Fiction, Cherrydale New Fiction, Columbia Pike New Fiction, Connection Crystal City New Fiction, Westover New Fiction, Westover New Large Type
display_description "For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and Orphan Train, the author of the "thought-provoking" (Library Journal, starred review) and "must-read" (PopSugar) novel The Gilded Years crafts a captivating tale of three young people divided by the horrors of World War II and their journey back to one another. During the turbulent months following the 1941 bombing of Pearl Harbor, twenty-one-year-old Emi Kato, the daughter of a Japanese diplomat, is locked behind barbed wire in a Texas interment camp, the victim of misfortune and America's new policies of fear. Plagued by fence sickness, her world changes when she meets Christian Lange, whose German-born parents were wrongfully arrested for un-American activities. Together, they live as prisoners with thousands of other German and Japanese families, but discover that young love can triumph over even the most unjust circumstances. When Emi and her mother are abruptly sent back to Japan, Christian enlists in the US Army, with his sights set on the Pacific front--and a reunion with Emi. Sent away for her safety, Emi lives out the war in a Japanese resort town where many in the foreign community have fled, including both Jews and Nazis. When she overhears a German officer boasting of the men he has murdered in Asia, fate brings Emi back to Leo Hartmann, the son of prominent Austrian Jews, now a refugee in Shanghai--her oldest friend and her first love. Fearing for his life, Emi is determined to find Leo. But will Christian's devotion be strong enough to stop her? Hurtled together by war, passion, and extraordinary acts of selflessness, the paths of these three remarkable young people collide as the fighting on the Pacific front crescendos. With her "elegant and extremely gratifying" (USA TODAY) storytelling, Tanabe paints a stunning portrait of a turning point in history"--
format_arlington Book, Large Type, eBook
format_category_arlington Books, eBook
id 07ccc695-8510-e899-603b-aa3ff8296743
isbn 9781432841126, 9781501110474, 9781501110481
item_details ils:.b19751424|.i21342313|Central Adult Fiction|F TANAB|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Jul 15, 2018|caf||, ils:.b19751424|.i21342325|Westover New Fiction|F TANAB|||1|false|false|||||Due Jul 28, 2018|Jun 13, 2018|wafn||, ils:.b19751424|.i21342337|Central New Fiction|F TANAB|||1|false|false|||||Due Aug 5, 2018|Jul 09, 2018|cafn||, ils:.b19751424|.i21378162|Central Adult Fiction|F TANAB|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Jul 15, 2018|caf||, ils:.b19751424|.i21404136|Connection Crystal City New Fiction|F TANAB|||1|false|false|||||Due Aug 7, 2018|Jul 13, 2018|uafn||, ils:.b19751424|.i21404148|Cherrydale New Fiction|F TANAB|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Jul 14, 2018|hafn||, ils:.b19751424|.i2140415x|Aurora Hills New Fiction|F TANAB|||1|false|false|||||Due Aug 10, 2018|Jun 26, 2018|aafn||, ils:.b19751424|.i21404161|Columbia Pike New Fiction|F TANAB|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Jul 20, 2018|oafn||, ils:.b19751424|.i21404173|Cherrydale New Fiction|F TANAB|||1|false|false|||||Due Aug 10, 2018|Jun 12, 2018|hafn||, ils:.b19751424|.i21404185|Columbia Pike New Fiction|F TANAB|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Jul 13, 2018|oafn||, ils:.b19892676|.i21395494|Westover New Large Type|LT F TANAB|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Jun 18, 2018|wafln||, overdrive:f8ab1d11-4cee-42a7-a219-38a38779100d|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|5|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||
itype_arlington , Hardback, Paperback
last_indexed 2018-07-22T08:56:58.441Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington F TANAB, LT F TANAB, Online OverDrive
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Westover
primary_isbn 9781501110474
publishDate 2017
record_details ils:.b19751424|Book|Books|First Washington Square Press trade paperback edition.|English|Washington Square Press,|c2017.|451 pages ; 21 cm., ils:.b19892676|Large Type|Books||English|Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company,|2017.|665 pages (large print) ; 23 cm., overdrive:f8ab1d11-4cee-42a7-a219-38a38779100d|eBook|eBook||English|Washington Square Press|2017|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b19751424 .i21404173 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true 999
ils:.b19751424 .i21378162 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 999
ils:.b19751424 .i21404148 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 999
ils:.b19751424 .i21404185 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 999
ils:.b19751424 .i2140415x Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true 999
ils:.b19751424 .i21404161 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 999
ils:.b19751424 .i21342337 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true 999
ils:.b19751424 .i21342313 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 999
ils:.b19751424 .i21404136 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true 999
ils:.b19751424 .i21342325 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true 999
overdrive:f8ab1d11-4cee-42a7-a219-38a38779100d -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:.b19892676 .i21395494 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 999
subject_facet Man-woman relationships -- Fiction, World War, 1939-1945 -- Fiction
title_display The diplomat's daughter : a novel
title_full The Diplomat's Daughter A Novel, The diplomat's daughter / by Karin Tanabe, The diplomat's daughter : a novel / Karin Tanabe
title_short The diplomat's daughter :
title_sub A Novel
topic_facet Fiction, Historical Fiction, Romance