The diplomat's daughter: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(1)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and Orphan Train, the author of the “thought-provoking” (Library Journal, starred review) and “must-read” (PopSugar) novel The Gilded Years crafts a captivating tale of three young people divided by the horrors of World War II and their journey back to one another.During the turbulent months following the 1941 bombing of Pearl Harbor, twenty-one-year-old Emi Kato, the daughter of a Japanese diplomat, is locked behind barbed wire in a Texas internment camp. She feels hopeless until she meets handsome young Christian Lange, whose German-born parents were wrongfully arrested for un-American activities. Together, they live as prisoners with thousands of other German and Japanese families, but discover that love can bloom in even the bleakest circumstances. When Emi and her mother are abruptly sent back to Japan, Christian enlists in the United States Army, with his sights set on the Pacific front—and, he hopes, a reunion with Emi—unaware that her first love, Leo Hartmann, the son of wealthy of Austrian parents and now a Jewish refugee in Shanghai, may still have her heart. Fearful of bombings in Tokyo, Emi’s parents send her to a remote resort town in the mountains, where many in the foreign community have fled. Cut off from her family, struggling with growing depression and hunger, Emi repeatedly risks her life to help keep her community safe—all while wondering if the two men she loves are still alive. As Christian Lange struggles to adapt to life as a soldier, his unit pushes its way from the South Pacific to Okinawa, where one of the bloodiest battles of World War II awaits them. Meanwhile, in Japanese-occupied Shanghai, as Leo fights to survive the squalor of the Jewish ghetto, a surprise confrontation with a Nazi officer threatens his life. For each man, Emi Kato is never far from their minds. Flung together by war, passion, and extraordinary acts of selflessness, the paths of these three remarkable young people will collide as the fighting on the Pacific front crescendos. With her “elegant and extremely gratifying” (USA TODAY) storytelling, Karin Tanabe paints a stunning portrait of a turning point in history.
More Details
ISBN:
9781501110474
9781501110481
9781508239949
9781432841126
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID07ccc695-8510-e899-603b-aa3ff8296743
Grouping Titlediplomat s daughter
Grouping Authortanabe karin
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-11-22 04:43:22AM
Last Indexed2019-11-22 04:44:20AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorTanabe, Karin,
author_displayKarin Tanabe
available_at_arlingtonAurora Hills
Central
Columbia Pike
Shirlington
Westover
collection_arlingtonAdult Fiction
Large Type
detailed_location_arlingtonAurora Hills Adult Fiction
Aurora Hills Large Type
Central Adult Fiction
Columbia Pike Adult Fiction
Shirlington Adult Fiction
Westover Adult Fiction
display_description"For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and Orphan Train, the author of the "thought-provoking" (Library Journal, starred review) and "must-read" (PopSugar) novel The Gilded Years crafts a captivating tale of three young people divided by the horrors of World War II and their journey back to one another. During the turbulent months following the 1941 bombing of Pearl Harbor, twenty-one-year-old Emi Kato, the daughter of a Japanese diplomat, is locked behind barbed wire in a Texas interment camp, the victim of misfortune and America's new policies of fear. Plagued by fence sickness, her world changes when she meets Christian Lange, whose German-born parents were wrongfully arrested for un-American activities. Together, they live as prisoners with thousands of other German and Japanese families, but discover that young love can triumph over even the most unjust circumstances. When Emi and her mother are abruptly sent back to Japan, Christian enlists in the US Army, with his sights set on the Pacific front--and a reunion with Emi. Sent away for her safety, Emi lives out the war in a Japanese resort town where many in the foreign community have fled, including both Jews and Nazis. When she overhears a German officer boasting of the men he has murdered in Asia, fate brings Emi back to Leo Hartmann, the son of prominent Austrian Jews, now a refugee in Shanghai--her oldest friend and her first love. Fearing for his life, Emi is determined to find Leo. But will Christian's devotion be strong enough to stop her? Hurtled together by war, passion, and extraordinary acts of selflessness, the paths of these three remarkable young people collide as the fighting on the Pacific front crescendos. With her "elegant and extremely gratifying" (USA TODAY) storytelling, Tanabe paints a stunning portrait of a turning point in history"--
format_arlingtonBook
Large Type
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_arlingtonAudio Books
Books
eBook
id07ccc695-8510-e899-603b-aa3ff8296743
isbn9781432841126
9781501110474
9781501110481
9781508239949
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:4bd7e752-1eef-4d57-849c-2f7cd2385a11-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
ils:.b19751424.i21378162Central Adult FictionF TANAB1falsefalseOn ShelfSep 15, 2019caf
ils:.b19751424.i21404161Columbia Pike Adult FictionF TANAB1falsefalseOn ShelfMay 21, 2019oaf
ils:.b19751424.i21404136Shirlington Adult FictionF TANAB1falsefalseOn ShelfNov 17, 2019saf
ils:.b19751424.i21342337Central Adult FictionF TANAB1falsefalseOn ShelfSep 29, 2019caf
ils:.b19751424.i21404173Central Adult FictionF TANAB1falsefalseOn ShelfAug 13, 2019caf
ils:.b19751424.i21404148Westover Adult FictionF TANAB1falsefalseOn ShelfMar 19, 2019waf
ils:.b19751424.i2140415xAurora Hills Adult FictionF TANAB1falsefalseOn ShelfAug 10, 2018aaf
ils:.b19751424.i21404185Central Adult FictionF TANAB1falsefalseOn ShelfSep 13, 2019caf
ils:.b19751424.i21342313Shirlington Adult FictionF TANAB1falsefalseOn ShelfNov 02, 2019saf
overdrive:f8ab1d11-4cee-42a7-a219-38a38779100d-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
ils:.b19892676.i21395494Aurora Hills Large TypeLT F TANAB1falsefalseOn ShelfMay 22, 2019aafl
itype_arlingtonHardback
Paperback
last_indexed2019-11-22T09:44:20.882Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_arlingtonF TANAB
LT F TANAB
Online OverDrive
owning_library_arlingtonArlington Public Library
Aurora Hills
Central
Cherrydale
Columbia Pike
Connection Crystal City
Detention Center
Glencarlyn
Local History
Plaza
Shirlington
Westover
owning_location_arlingtonAurora Hills
Central
Columbia Pike
Shirlington
Westover
primary_isbn9781501110474
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:4bd7e752-1eef-4d57-849c-2f7cd2385a11eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishSimon & Schuster Audio2017
ils:.b19751424BookBooksFirst Washington Square Press trade paperback edition.EnglishWashington Square Press, c2017.451 pages ; 21 cm.
overdrive:f8ab1d11-4cee-42a7-a219-38a38779100deBookeBookEnglishWashington Square Press2017
ils:.b19892676Large TypeBooksEnglishThorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2017.665 pages (large print) ; 23.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:4bd7e752-1eef-4d57-849c-2f7cd2385a11-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b19751424.i21378162On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b19751424.i21404161On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b19751424.i21404136On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b19751424.i21342337On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b19751424.i21404173On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b19751424.i21404148On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b19751424.i2140415xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b19751424.i21404185On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b19751424.i21342313On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
overdrive:f8ab1d11-4cee-42a7-a219-38a38779100d-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b19892676.i21395494On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
subject_facetMan-woman relationships -- Fiction
World War, 1939-1945 -- Fiction
title_displayThe diplomat's daughter : a novel
title_fullThe Diplomat's Daughter A Novel
The diplomat's daughter / by Karin Tanabe
The diplomat's daughter : a novel / Karin Tanabe
title_shortThe diplomat's daughter
title_subA Novel
topic_facetFiction
Historical Fiction
Literature
Romance