The diplomat's daughter: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and Orphan Train, the author of the “thought-provoking” (Library Journal, starred review) and “must-read” (PopSugar) novel The Gilded Years crafts a captivating tale of three young people divided by the horrors of World War II and their journey back to one another.During the turbulent months following the 1941 bombing of Pearl Harbor, twenty-one-year-old Emi Kato, the daughter of a Japanese diplomat, is locked behind barbed wire in a Texas internment camp. She feels hopeless until she meets handsome young Christian Lange, whose German-born parents were wrongfully arrested for un-American activities. Together, they live as prisoners with thousands of other German and Japanese families, but discover that love can bloom in even the bleakest circumstances. When Emi and her mother are abruptly sent back to Japan, Christian enlists in the United States Army, with his sights set on the Pacific front—and, he hopes, a reunion with Emi—unaware that her first love, Leo Hartmann, the son of wealthy of Austrian parents and now a Jewish refugee in Shanghai, may still have her heart. Fearful of bombings in Tokyo, Emi’s parents send her to a remote resort town in the mountains, where many in the foreign community have fled. Cut off from her family, struggling with growing depression and hunger, Emi repeatedly risks her life to help keep her community safe—all while wondering if the two men she loves are still alive. As Christian Lange struggles to adapt to life as a soldier, his unit pushes its way from the South Pacific to Okinawa, where one of the bloodiest battles of World War II awaits them. Meanwhile, in Japanese-occupied Shanghai, as Leo fights to survive the squalor of the Jewish ghetto, a surprise confrontation with a Nazi officer threatens his life. For each man, Emi Kato is never far from their minds. Flung together by war, passion, and extraordinary acts of selflessness, the paths of these three remarkable young people will collide as the fighting on the Pacific front crescendos. With her “elegant and extremely gratifying” (USA TODAY) storytelling, Karin Tanabe paints a stunning portrait of a turning point in history.
More Details
ISBN:
9781501110474
9781501110481
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 07ccc695-8510-e899-603b-aa3ff8296743
full_title diplomat s daughter
author tanabe karin
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-07-26 10:30:27AM

Solr Details

_version_ 1573995828172816384
accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Karin Tanabe
author-letter Tanabe, Karin,
author_additional Karin Tanabe.
author_display Karin Tanabe
availability_toggle_arlington Entire Collection
callnumber_sort_arlington F TANAB
collection_arlington Connection Crystal City New Fiction, New Fiction, On Order
date_added 2017-07-07T04:00:00Z
days_since_added 19
detailed_location_arlington Arlington Public Library On Order, Connection Crystal City New Fiction, Westover New Fiction
display_description "For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and Orphan Train, the author of the "thought-provoking" (Library Journal, starred review) and "must-read" (PopSugar) novel The Gilded Years crafts a captivating tale of three young people divided by the horrors of World War II and their journey back to one another. During the turbulent months following the 1941 bombing of Pearl Harbor, twenty-one-year-old Emi Kato, the daughter of a Japanese diplomat, is locked behind barbed wire in a Texas interment camp, the victim of misfortune and America's new policies of fear. Plagued by fence sickness, her world changes when she meets Christian Lange, whose German-born parents were wrongfully arrested for un-American activities. Together, they live as prisoners with thousands of other German and Japanese families, but discover that young love can triumph over even the most unjust circumstances. When Emi and her mother are abruptly sent back to Japan, Christian enlists in the US Army, with his sights set on the Pacific front--and a reunion with Emi. Sent away for her safety, Emi lives out the war in a Japanese resort town where many in the foreign community have fled, including both Jews and Nazis. When she overhears a German officer boasting of the men he has murdered in Asia, fate brings Emi back to Leo Hartmann, the son of prominent Austrian Jews, now a refugee in Shanghai--her oldest friend and her first love. Fearing for his life, Emi is determined to find Leo. But will Christian's devotion be strong enough to stop her? Hurtled together by war, passion, and extraordinary acts of selflessness, the paths of these three remarkable young people collide as the fighting on the Pacific front crescendos. With her "elegant and extremely gratifying" (USA TODAY) storytelling, Tanabe paints a stunning portrait of a turning point in history"--
econtent_device Android, BlackBerry, Kindle, Kindle Fire, Mac, Windows, iPad, iPhone, iPod touch
econtent_protection_type_arlington Limited Access
econtent_source_arlington OverDrive
edition First Washington Square Press trade paperback edition.
format_arlington Book, eBook
format_boost 20
format_category_arlington Books, eBook
genre Fiction
genre_facet Fiction
grouping_category book
id 07ccc695-8510-e899-603b-aa3ff8296743
isbn 9781501110474, 9781501110481
item_details ils:.b19751424|.i21342313|Westover New Fiction|F TANAB|||1|false|false|||||Due Aug 7, 2017||wafn||, ils:.b19751424|.i21342325|Westover New Fiction|F TANAB|||1|false|false|||||Due Aug 3, 2017||wafn||, ils:.b19751424|.i21342337|Connection Crystal City New Fiction|F TANAB|||1|false|false|||||Due Aug 8, 2017||uafn||, ils:.b19751424|.o11311642|Arlington Public Library On Order|ON ORDER|||1|true|false|||||On Order||cafn||, overdrive:f8ab1d11-4cee-42a7-a219-38a38779100d|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|3|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Checked Out||||
itype_arlington , Paperback
language English
language_boost 10
language_boost_es 1
lexile_code
lexile_score -1
lib_boost_arlington 10
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington F TANAB, ON ORDER, Online OverDrive
local_callnumber_exact_arlington F TANAB, ON ORDER, Online OverDrive
local_callnumber_left_arlington F TANAB, ON ORDER, Online OverDrive
local_days_since_added_arlington 19
local_time_since_added_arlington 2 Months, Month, Quarter, Six Months, Year
num_holdings 7
oclc (OCoLC)961005756
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Arlington Public Library On Order, Aurora Hills, Aurora Hills On Order, Central, Central On Order, Cherrydale, Cherrydale On Order, Columbia Pike, Columbia Pike On Order, Connection Crystal City, Connection Crystal City On Order, Detention Center, Detention Center On Order, Glencarlyn, Glencarlyn On Order, Local History, Local History On Order, Plaza, Plaza On Order, Shirlington, Shirlington On Order, Westover, Westover On Order
owning_location_arlington Columbia Pike On Order, Connection Crystal City, Westover
physical 451 pages ; 21 cm
popularity 75
primary_isbn 9781501110474
publishDate 2017
publishDateSort 2017
publisher Washington Square Press, Washington Square Press,
rating 2.5
rating_facet oneStar, twoStar
record_details ils:.b19751424|Book|Books|First Washington Square Press trade paperback edition.|English|Washington Square Press,|c2017.|451 pages ; 21 cm, overdrive:f8ab1d11-4cee-42a7-a219-38a38779100d|eBook|eBook||English|Washington Square Press|2017|
recordtype grouped_work
scope_has_related_records a, arlington, c, d, g, h, o, p, s, u, v, w
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b19751424|.i21342313|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19751424|.i21342325|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19751424|.i21342337|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19751424|.o11311642|On Order|On Order|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:f8ab1d11-4cee-42a7-a219-38a38779100d|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Man-woman relationships -- Fiction, World War, 1939-1945 -- Fiction
target_audience Adult
target_audience_full Adult
time_since_added 2 Months, Month, Quarter, Six Months, Year
title The diplomat's daughter : A Novel
title_display The diplomat's daughter : a novel
title_full The Diplomat's Daughter A Novel, The diplomat's daughter : a novel / Karin Tanabe
title_short The diplomat's daughter :
title_sort diplomat's daughter a novel
title_sub A Novel
topic Fiction, Historical Fiction, Literature
topic_facet Fiction, Historical Fiction, Literature