Diary of a haunting: Book of shadows

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Series:
Publisher:
Simon Pulse,
Pub. Date:
2017.
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of American Horror Story and The Craft, a young girl discovers a magical spell book and dives headfirst into the occult—but this powerful book comes with a dangerous warning: OPEN AT YOUR OWN RISK.All Melanie wants is a blank book to keep a journal of her private thoughts. One day while browsing in a used bookshop, she finds the perfect blank book—smooth black leather with strange symbols in gold embossing. But once she gets home, Melanie finds herself too intimidated by the heavy vellum pages to write her trivial thoughts on them. Her Wiccan friend Lara tells her it’s better suited to be a magical spell book, called The Book of Shadows. Melanie doesn’t know much about that stuff, but Lara, her boyfriend Caleb, and his friend Lucas, get her started by writing their own made up spells inside the book’s tempting pages. What they didn’t expect was a new spell showing up inside the book—and in handwriting none of them recognize. Soon they discover that the spells suggested by The Book of Shadows itself do work—but not without wreaking havoc on the lives of the four teenagers.
More Details
ISBN:
9781481492027
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 0b0486fa-483d-c8d5-8518-bfc41317c2fe
Grouping Title diary of a haunting book of shadows
Grouping Author verano m
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-10-03 04:49:02AM
Last Indexed 2018-10-22 04:51:40AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Verano, M.,
author_display Verano, M
available_at_arlington Central
collection_arlington Teen Fiction
detailed_location_arlington Central Teen Fiction
display_description All Melanie wants is a blank book to keep a journal of her private thoughts. One day while browsing in a used bookshop, she finds the perfect blank book—smooth black leather with strange symbols in gold embossing. But once she gets home, Melanie finds herself too intimidated by the heavy vellum pages to write her trivial thoughts on them. Her Wiccan friend Lara tells her it’s better suited to be a magical spell book, called The Book of Shadows. Melanie doesn’t know much about that stuff, but Lara, her boyfriend Caleb, and his friend Lucas, get her started by writing their own made up spells inside the book’s tempting pages. What they didn’t expect was a new spell showing up inside the book—and in handwriting none of them recognize. Soon they discover that the spells suggested by The Book of Shadows itself do work—but not without wreaking havoc on the lives of the four teenagers. -- from Amazon.
format_arlington Book
format_category_arlington Books
id 0b0486fa-483d-c8d5-8518-bfc41317c2fe
isbn 9781481492027
item_details ils:.b19855497|.i21450778|Central Teen Fiction|YF VERAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Aug 02, 2018|cyf||
itype_arlington Hardback
last_indexed 2018-10-22T08:51:40.822Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington YF VERAN
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central
primary_isbn 9781481492027
publishDate 2017
record_details ils:.b19855497|Book|Books|First Simon Pulse hardcover edition.|English|Simon Pulse,|2017.|279 pages : ; 21 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b19855497 .i21450778 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 9999
series Diary of a haunting
series_with_volume Diary of a haunting|3
subject_facet Demonology -- Juvenile fiction, Diaries -- Juvenile fiction, Good and evil -- Juvenile fiction, Horror tales, Paranormal fiction
title_display Diary of a haunting : Book of shadows
title_full Diary of a haunting : Book of shadows / by M. Verano
title_short Diary of a haunting :
title_sub Book of shadows