Diary of a haunting: Book of shadows

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Series:
Publisher:
Simon Pulse,
Pub. Date:
2017.
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of American Horror Story and The Craft, a young girl discovers a magical spell book and dives headfirst into the occult—but this powerful book comes with a dangerous warning: OPEN AT YOUR OWN RISK.All Melanie wants is a blank book to keep a journal of her private thoughts. One day while browsing in a used bookshop, she finds the perfect blank book—smooth black leather with strange symbols in gold embossing. But once she gets home, Melanie finds herself too intimidated by the heavy vellum pages to write her trivial thoughts on them. Her Wiccan friend Lara tells her it’s better suited to be a magical spell book, called The Book of Shadows. Melanie doesn’t know much about that stuff, but Lara, her boyfriend Caleb, and his friend Lucas, get her started by writing their own made up spells inside the book’s tempting pages. What they didn’t expect was a new spell showing up inside the book—and in handwriting none of them recognize. Soon they discover that the spells suggested by The Book of Shadows itself do work—but not without wreaking havoc on the lives of the four teenagers.
More Details
ISBN:
9781481492027
Lexile measure:
940L
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID0b0486fa-483d-c8d5-8518-bfc41317c2fe
Grouping Titlediary of a haunting book of shadows
Grouping Authorverano m
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-10-31 04:43:55AM
Last Indexed2019-12-13 04:44:47AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorVerano, M.,
author_displayVerano, M
available_at_arlingtonCentral
collection_arlingtonTeen Fiction
detailed_location_arlingtonCentral Teen Fiction
display_descriptionAll Melanie wants is a blank book to keep a journal of her private thoughts. One day while browsing in a used bookshop, she finds the perfect blank book—smooth black leather with strange symbols in gold embossing. But once she gets home, Melanie finds herself too intimidated by the heavy vellum pages to write her trivial thoughts on them. Her Wiccan friend Lara tells her it’s better suited to be a magical spell book, called The Book of Shadows. Melanie doesn’t know much about that stuff, but Lara, her boyfriend Caleb, and his friend Lucas, get her started by writing their own made up spells inside the book’s tempting pages. What they didn’t expect was a new spell showing up inside the book—and in handwriting none of them recognize. Soon they discover that the spells suggested by The Book of Shadows itself do work—but not without wreaking havoc on the lives of the four teenagers. -- from Amazon.
format_arlingtonBook
format_category_arlingtonBooks
id0b0486fa-483d-c8d5-8518-bfc41317c2fe
isbn9781481492027
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b19855497.i21450778Central Teen FictionYF VERAN1falsefalseOn ShelfAug 02, 2018cyf
itype_arlingtonHardback
last_indexed2019-12-13T09:44:47.773Z
lexile_score940
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_arlingtonYF VERAN
owning_library_arlingtonArlington Public Library
Aurora Hills
Central
Cherrydale
Columbia Pike
Connection Crystal City
Detention Center
Glencarlyn
Local History
Plaza
Shirlington
Westover
owning_location_arlingtonCentral
primary_isbn9781481492027
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b19855497BookBooksFirst Simon Pulse hardcover edition.EnglishSimon Pulse, 2017.279 pages : ; 21 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b19855497.i21450778On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
seriesDiary of a haunting
series_with_volumeDiary of a haunting|3
subject_facetDemonology -- Juvenile fiction
Diaries -- Juvenile fiction
Good and evil -- Juvenile fiction
Horror tales
Paranormal fiction
title_displayDiary of a haunting : Book of shadows
title_fullDiary of a haunting : Book of shadows / by M. Verano
title_shortDiary of a haunting
title_subBook of shadows