Amatka

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Vintage,
Pub. Date:
[2017].
Language:
English
Description
“I recommend that you lay your hands on a copy.” —Ann Leckie“An instant classic.” Jeff VanderMeerA surreal debut novel set in a world shaped by language in the tradition of Margaret Atwood and Ursula K. Le Guin. Vanja, an information assistant, is sent from her home city of Essre to the austere, wintry colony of Amatka with an assignment to collect intelligence for the government. Immediately she feels that something strange is going on: people act oddly in Amatka, and citizens are monitored for signs of subversion. Intending to stay just a short while, Vanja falls in love with her housemate, Nina, and prolongs her visit. But when she stumbles on evidence of a growing threat to the colony, and a cover-up by its administration, she embarks on an investigation that puts her at tremendous risk.In Karin Tidbeck’s world, everyone is suspect, no one is safe, and nothing—not even language, nor the very fabric of reality—can be taken for granted. Amatka is a beguiling and wholly original novel about freedom, love, and artistic creation by a captivating new voice.
More Details
ISBN:
9781101973950
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 0ea9058d-ebb6-f525-8678-a604224b7e9d
full_title amatka
author tidbeck karin
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-09-19 13:54:22PM

Solr Details

_version_ 1578991553435664384
accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Tidbeck, Karin, 1977-
author-letter Tidbeck, Karin,
author_additional Karin Tidbeck.
author_display Tidbeck, Karin
availability_toggle_arlington Entire Collection
callnumber_sort_arlington SF TIDBE
collection_arlington New Science Fiction
date_added 2017-06-26T04:00:00Z
days_since_added 85
detailed_location_arlington Columbia Pike New Science Fiction, Westover New Science Fiction
display_description "A surreal and shockingly original debut novel set in a dystopian world shaped by language--literally. Vanja, a government worker, leaves her home city of Essre for the austere, wintry colony of Amatka on a research assignment. It takes some adjusting: people act differently in Amatka, and citizens are monitored for signs of subversion. Intending to stay just a short while, Vanja finds herself falling in love with her housemate, Nina, and decides to stick around. But when she stumbles on evidence of a growing threat to the colony and a cover-up by its administration, she begins an investigation that puts her at tremendous risk. In Karin Tidbeck's dystopic imagining, language has the power to shape reality. Unless objects, buildings, and the surrounding landscape are repeatedly named, and named properly, everything will fall apart. Trapped in the repressive colony, Vanja dreams of using language to break free, but her individualism may well threaten the very fabric of reality. Amatka is a beguiling and wholly original novel about freedom, love, and artistic creation by an idiosyncratic new voice"--
format_arlington Book
format_boost 10
format_category_arlington Books
grouping_category book
id 0ea9058d-ebb6-f525-8678-a604224b7e9d
isbn 9781101973950
item_details ils:.b1963576x|.i21321097|Westover New Science Fiction|SF TIDBE|||1|false|false|||||In Transit|Sep 09, 2017|wafsn||, ils:.b1963576x|.i21363663|Columbia Pike New Science Fiction|SF TIDBE|||1|false|false|||||Due Sep 13, 2017|Aug 22, 2017|oafsn||
itype_arlington Paperback
language English
language_boost 10
language_boost_es 1
lexile_score -1
lib_boost_arlington 10
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington SF TIDBE
local_callnumber_exact_arlington SF TIDBE
local_callnumber_left_arlington SF TIDBE
local_days_since_added_arlington 85
local_time_since_added_arlington Quarter, Six Months, Year
num_holdings 2
oclc (OCoLC)961155461
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Columbia Pike, Westover
physical 216 pages ; 21 cm.
popularity 6
primary_isbn 9781101973950
publishDate 2017
publishDateSort 2017
publisher Vintage,
rating 2
rating_facet oneStar, twoStar
record_details ils:.b1963576x|Book|Books||English|Vintage,|[2017].|216 pages ; 21 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scope_has_related_records a, arlington, c, d, g, h, o, p, s, u, v, w
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b1963576x|.i21321097|In Transit|In Transit|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b1963576x|.i21363663|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||
subject_facet Language and languages -- Fiction
target_audience Adult
target_audience_full Adult
time_since_added Quarter, Six Months, Year
title Amatka
title_alt Amatka.
title_display Amatka
title_full Amatka / Karin Tidbeck
title_short Amatka
title_sort amatka
translation Swedish