ALERT -- Item availability may not be correctly reflected in the Catalog due to a system error - please check back soon 

Amatka

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Vintage
Pub. Date:
20170627.
Language:
Unknown
Description
“I recommend that you lay your hands on a copy.” —Ann Leckie“An instant classic.” Jeff VanderMeerA surreal debut novel set in a world shaped by language in the tradition of Margaret Atwood and Ursula K. Le Guin. Vanja, an information assistant, is sent from her home city of Essre to the austere, wintry colony of Amatka with an assignment to collect intelligence for the government. Immediately she feels that something strange is going on: people act oddly in Amatka, and citizens are monitored for signs of subversion. Intending to stay just a short while, Vanja falls in love with her housemate, Nina, and prolongs her visit. But when she stumbles on evidence of a growing threat to the colony, and a cover-up by its administration, she embarks on an investigation that puts her at tremendous risk.In Karin Tidbeck’s world, everyone is suspect, no one is safe, and nothing—not even language, nor the very fabric of reality—can be taken for granted. Amatka is a beguiling and wholly original novel about freedom, love, and artistic creation by a captivating new voice.
More Details
ISBN:
9781101973950
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 0ea9058d-ebb6-f525-8678-a604224b7e9d
full_title amatka
author tidbeck karin
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-06-09 04:56:59AM

Solr Details

_version_ 1570713756981264384
accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Tidbeck, Karin.
author-letter Tidbeck, Karin.
author_display Tidbeck, Karin
availability_toggle_arlington Entire Collection
callnumber_sort_arlington ON ORDER
collection_arlington On Order
date_added 2017-06-21T09:02:48.458Z
days_since_added -1
detailed_location_arlington Arlington Public Library On Order
display_description
format_arlington Book
format_boost 10
format_category_arlington Books
grouping_category book
id 0ea9058d-ebb6-f525-8678-a604224b7e9d
isbn 9781101973950
item_details ils:.b1963576x|.o11253654|Arlington Public Library On Order|ON ORDER|||1|true|false|||||On Order||cafsn||
itype_arlington
language Unknown
language_boost 1
language_boost_es 1
lexile_code
lexile_score -1
lib_boost_arlington 10
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington ON ORDER
local_callnumber_exact_arlington ON ORDER
local_callnumber_left_arlington ON ORDER
local_days_since_added_arlington -1
local_time_since_added_arlington 2 Months, Day, Month, On Order, Quarter, Six Months, Week, Year
num_holdings 1
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library On Order, Aurora Hills On Order, Central On Order, Cherrydale On Order, Columbia Pike On Order, Connection Crystal City On Order, Detention Center On Order, Glencarlyn On Order, Local History On Order, Plaza On Order, Shirlington On Order, Westover On Order
owning_location_arlington Central On Order
popularity 3
primary_isbn 9781101973950
publishDate 2017
publishDateSort 2017
publisher Vintage
rating 2.5
rating_facet oneStar, twoStar
record_details ils:.b1963576x|Book|Books||Unknown|Vintage|20170627.|
recordtype grouped_work
scope_has_related_records a, arlington, c, d, g, h, o, p, s, u, v, w
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b1963576x|.o11253654|On Order|On Order|false|false|true|false|false|true|||
target_audience Adult
target_audience_full Adult
time_since_added 2 Months, Day, Month, On Order, Quarter, Six Months, Week, Year
title Amatka
title_display Amatka
title_full Amatka
title_short Amatka
title_sort amatka
topic Coming Soon, On Order
topic_facet Coming Soon, On Order