Amatka

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Vintage,
Pub. Date:
[2017]
Language:
English
Description
A LOCUS AWARD FINALISTONE OF THE GUARDIAN’S BEST SCIENCE FICTION AND FANTASY BOOKS OF 2017A surreal debut novel set in a world shaped by language in the tradition of Margaret Atwood and Ursula K. Le Guin. Vanja, an information assistant, is sent from her home city of Essre to the austere, wintry colony of Amatka with an assignment to collect intelligence for the government. Immediately she feels that something strange is going on: people act oddly in Amatka, and citizens are monitored for signs of subversion. Intending to stay just a short while, Vanja falls in love with her housemate, Nina, and prolongs her visit. But when she stumbles on evidence of a growing threat to the colony, and a cover-up by its administration, she embarks on an investigation that puts her at tremendous risk.In Karin Tidbeck’s world, everyone is suspect, no one is safe, and nothing—not even language, nor the very fabric of reality—can be taken for granted. Amatka is a beguiling and wholly original novel about freedom, love, and artistic creation by a captivating new voice.
More Details
ISBN:
9781101973950
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID0ea9058d-ebb6-f525-8678-a604224b7e9d
Grouping Titleamatka
Grouping Authortidbeck karin
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-10-14 04:44:11AM
Last Indexed2019-10-23 04:47:45AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorTidbeck, Karin, 1977-
author_displayTidbeck, Karin
available_at_arlingtonCentral
collection_arlingtonScience Fiction
detailed_location_arlingtonCentral Science Fiction
display_description"A surreal and shockingly original debut novel set in a dystopian world shaped by language--literally. Vanja, a government worker, leaves her home city of Essre for the austere, wintry colony of Amatka on a research assignment. It takes some adjusting: people act differently in Amatka, and citizens are monitored for signs of subversion. Intending to stay just a short while, Vanja finds herself falling in love with her housemate, Nina, and decides to stick around. But when she stumbles on evidence of a growing threat to the colony and a cover-up by its administration, she begins an investigation that puts her at tremendous risk. In Karin Tidbeck's dystopic imagining, language has the power to shape reality. Unless objects, buildings, and the surrounding landscape are repeatedly named, and named properly, everything will fall apart. Trapped in the repressive colony, Vanja dreams of using language to break free, but her individualism may well threaten the very fabric of reality. Amatka is a beguiling and wholly original novel about freedom, love, and artistic creation by an idiosyncratic new voice"--
format_arlingtonBook
format_category_arlingtonBooks
id0ea9058d-ebb6-f525-8678-a604224b7e9d
isbn9781101973950
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b1963576x.i21321097Central Science FictionSF TIDBE1falsefalseOn ShelfOct 13, 2019cafs
ils:.b1963576x.i21363663Central Science FictionSF TIDBE1falsefalseOn ShelfAug 30, 2019cafs
itype_arlingtonPaperback
last_indexed2019-10-23T08:47:45.909Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_arlingtonSF TIDBE
owning_library_arlingtonArlington Public Library
Aurora Hills
Central
Cherrydale
Columbia Pike
Connection Crystal City
Detention Center
Glencarlyn
Local History
Plaza
Shirlington
Westover
owning_location_arlingtonCentral
primary_isbn9781101973950
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b1963576xBookBooksEnglishVintage, [2017]216 pages ; 21.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b1963576x.i21321097On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b1963576x.i21363663On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
subject_facetLanguage and languages -- Fiction
title_displayAmatka
title_fullAmatka / Karin Tidbeck
title_shortAmatka