Unsweetined

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Simon Spotlight Entertainment,
Pub. Date:
2009.
Language:
English
Description
How Rude!

Once Danny Tanner's bubbly daughter on America's favorite family sitcom, Jodie Sweetin takes readers behind the scenes of Full House and shares her terrifying -- and uplifting -- real-life story of addiction and recovery.

Jodie Sweetin grew up in front of America, melting our hearts and making us laugh for eight years as the cherub-faced middle child on Full House. Her ups and downs seemed not so different from our own, but more than a decade after the popular television show ended, the star we knew as goody-two-shoes Stephanie Tanner publicly revealed her shocking recovery from methamphetamine addiction. Even then, Jodie still kept a painful secret -- one that could not be solved in thirty minutes with a hug, a stern talking-to, or a bowl of ice cream around the family table. The harrowing battle she swore she had won was really just beginning.

In her deeply personal, utterly raw, and ultimately inspiring memoir, Jodie comes clean about the double life she led -- the crippling identity crisis that began at her birth, the hidden anguish of juggling a regular childhood with her Hollywood life, and the vicious cycle of abuse and recovery that led to a relapse even as she wrote this book. Jodie traveled the country speaking to college kids about her triumph over substance abuse, yet she partied nightly, spending tens of thousands of dollars on her habit. Her addiction tore her family apart and alienated her from her former Full House cast mates until becoming a mother gave her the determination and the courage to get sober.

Today, Jodie's life is a work in progress. Resilient, charming, and funny, she writes candidly about taking each day at a time. Hers is not a story of success or defeat, but of facing your demons, finding yourself, and telling the whole truth -- unSweetined.

More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9781439152683
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 121c52fb-f2dc-64e5-8e37-1a0096ea714a
full_title unsweetined
author sweetin jodie
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-09-06 04:59:40AM

Solr Details

_version_ 1579501654316679168
accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Warech, Jon.
author Sweetin, Jodie.
author-letter Sweetin, Jodie.
author2 Warech, Jon.
author2-role Warech, Jon.
author_additional by Jodie Sweetin with Jon Warech.
author_display Sweetin, Jodie
availability_toggle_arlington Available Now, Entire Collection
available_at_arlington Central
callnumber-a PN2287.S98
callnumber-first P - Language and Literature
callnumber-subject PN - General Literature
callnumber_sort_arlington B SWEET J
collection_arlington Biographies
date_added 2011-01-26T05:00:00Z
days_since_added 2434
detailed_location_arlington Central Biographies
display_description In the vein of Nic Sheff's "Tweak" and Tori Spelling's "sTori Telling," "UnSweetined" reveals the former "Full House" star's harrowing journey from her role as America's sweetheart on a popular television show to her struggle with substance abuse.
format_arlington Book
format_boost 10
format_category_arlington Books
grouping_category book
id 121c52fb-f2dc-64e5-8e37-1a0096ea714a
isbn 9781439152683
item_details ils:.b13127767|.i14360469|Central Biographies|B SWEET J|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Sep 05, 2017|canb||
itype_arlington Hardback
language English
language_boost 10
language_boost_es 1
lexile_score -1
lib_boost_arlington 50
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington B SWEET J
local_callnumber_exact_arlington B SWEET J
local_callnumber_left_arlington B SWEET J
local_days_since_added_arlington 2434
num_holdings 1
oclc (OCoLC)310397027
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central
physical xiii, 235 p., [16] p. of plates : ill. ; 24 cm.
popularity 5
primary_isbn 9781439152683
publishDate 2009
publishDateSort 2009
publisher Simon Spotlight Entertainment,
rating 2.5
rating_facet oneStar, twoStar
record_details ils:.b13127767|Book|Books||English|Simon Spotlight Entertainment,|2009.|xiii, 235 p., [16] p. of plates : ill. ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scope_has_related_records a, arlington, c, d, g, h, o, p, s, u, v, w
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b13127767|.i14360469|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||
subject_facet Television actors and actresses -- United States -- Biography
table_of_contents Speech impediment -- Let there be lights, camera, action -- Stuck in the middle -- When you wish you were a star -- Kiss and tell -- The last "how rude!" -- Creature of habit -- Drunk and high school -- Out of control -- Love and marriage -- A tale of two personalities -- Bottoms up -- Adopted habits -- Malibu's most undaunted -- Transition impossible -- Saving Stephanie -- Friends in low places -- Lost out there and all alone -- Vegas, baby! -- Nine months -- The pursuit of happiness -- The fight of my life -- A letter to Zoie.
target_audience Adult
target_audience_full Adult
title Unsweetined
title_display Unsweetined
title_full Unsweetined / by Jodie Sweetin with Jon Warech
title_short Unsweetined
title_sort unsweetined