The fruit of her hands: the story of Shira of Ashkenaz

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Pocket Books,
Pub. Date:
2009.
Language:
English
Description

Based on the life of the author’s thirteenth-century ancestor, Meir ben Baruch of Rothenberg, a renowed Jewish scholar of medieval Europe, this is the richly dramatic fictional story of Rabbi Meir’s wife, Shira, a devout but rebellious woman who preserves her religious traditions as she and her family witness the rise of anti-Semitism in Europe.

Raised by her widowed rabbi father and a Christian nursemaid in Normandy, Shira is a free-spirited, inquisitive girl whose love of learning shocks the community. When Shira’s father is arrested by the local baron intent on enforcing the Catholic Church’s strictures against heresy, Shira fights for his release and encounters two men who will influence her life profoundly—an inspiring Catholic priest and Meir ben Baruch, a brilliant scholar. In Meir, Shira finds her soulmate.

Married to Meir in Paris, Shira blossoms as a wife and mother, savoring the intellectual and social challenges that come with being the wife of a prominent scholar. After witnessing the burning of every copy of the Talmud in Paris, Shira and her family seek refuge in Germany. Yet even there they experience bloody pogroms and intensifying anti-Semitism. With no safe place for Jews in Europe, they set out for Israel only to see Meir captured and imprisoned by Rudolph I of Hapsburg. As Shira weathers heartbreak and works to find a middle ground between two warring religions, she shows her children and grandchildren how to embrace the joys of life, both secular and religious.

Vividly bringing to life a period rarely covered in historical fiction, this multi-generational novel will appeal to readers who enjoy Maggie Anton’s Rashi’s Daughters, Brenda Rickman Vantrease’s The Illuminator, and Geraldine Brooks’s People of the Book.

More Details
ISBN:
9781439118221
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 12a26ace-f7ca-6af7-5b23-87255c6d43d3
full_title fruit of her hands the story of shira of ashkenaz
author cameron michelle
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-08-14 05:04:38AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Cameron, Michelle.
author_display Cameron, Michelle
available_at_arlington Central
collection_arlington Adult Fiction
detailed_location_arlington Central Adult Fiction
display_description
format_arlington Book
format_category_arlington Books
id 12a26ace-f7ca-6af7-5b23-87255c6d43d3
isbn 9781439118221
item_details ils:.b13114803|.i14255996|Central Adult Fiction|F CAMER|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Jan 09, 2016|caf||
itype_arlington Hardback
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington F CAMER
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central
primary_isbn 9781439118221
publishDate 2009
record_details ils:.b13114803|Book|Books|1st Pocket Books hardcover ed.|English|Pocket Books,|2009.|436 p. ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b13114803|.i14255996|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||
title_display The fruit of her hands : the story of Shira of Ashkenaz
title_full The fruit of her hands : the story of Shira of Ashkenaz / by Michelle Cameron
title_short The fruit of her hands :
title_sub the story of Shira of Ashkenaz