ALERT -- Item availability may not be correctly reflected in the Catalog due to a system error - please check back soon or call to confirm

The fruit of her hands: the story of Shira of Ashkenaz

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Pocket Books,
Pub. Date:
2009.
Language:
English
Description

Based on the life of the author’s thirteenth-century ancestor, Meir ben Baruch of Rothenberg, a renowed Jewish scholar of medieval Europe, this is the richly dramatic fictional story of Rabbi Meir’s wife, Shira, a devout but rebellious woman who preserves her religious traditions as she and her family witness the rise of anti-Semitism in Europe.

Raised by her widowed rabbi father and a Christian nursemaid in Normandy, Shira is a free-spirited, inquisitive girl whose love of learning shocks the community. When Shira’s father is arrested by the local baron intent on enforcing the Catholic Church’s strictures against heresy, Shira fights for his release and encounters two men who will influence her life profoundly—an inspiring Catholic priest and Meir ben Baruch, a brilliant scholar. In Meir, Shira finds her soulmate.

Married to Meir in Paris, Shira blossoms as a wife and mother, savoring the intellectual and social challenges that come with being the wife of a prominent scholar. After witnessing the burning of every copy of the Talmud in Paris, Shira and her family seek refuge in Germany. Yet even there they experience bloody pogroms and intensifying anti-Semitism. With no safe place for Jews in Europe, they set out for Israel only to see Meir captured and imprisoned by Rudolph I of Hapsburg. As Shira weathers heartbreak and works to find a middle ground between two warring religions, she shows her children and grandchildren how to embrace the joys of life, both secular and religious.

Vividly bringing to life a period rarely covered in historical fiction, this multi-generational novel will appeal to readers who enjoy Maggie Anton’s Rashi’s Daughters, Brenda Rickman Vantrease’s The Illuminator, and Geraldine Brooks’s People of the Book.

More Details
ISBN:
9781439118221
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 12a26ace-f7ca-6af7-5b23-87255c6d43d3
full_title fruit of her hands the story of shira of ashkenaz
author cameron michelle
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-06-24 11:03:41AM

Solr Details

_version_ 1571100269331087360
accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Cameron, Michelle.
author-letter Cameron, Michelle.
author_additional by Michelle Cameron.
author_display Cameron, Michelle
availability_toggle_arlington Available Now, Entire Collection
available_at_arlington Central
callnumber-a PS3603.A453
callnumber-first P - Language and Literature
callnumber-subject PS - American Literature
callnumber_sort_arlington F CAMER
collection_arlington Adult Fiction
date_added 2011-01-26T05:00:00Z
days_since_added 2341
detailed_location_arlington Central Adult Fiction
display_description
edition 1st Pocket Books hardcover ed.
format_arlington Book
format_boost 10
format_category_arlington Books
grouping_category book
id 12a26ace-f7ca-6af7-5b23-87255c6d43d3
isbn 9781439118221
item_details ils:.b13114803|.i14255996|Central Adult Fiction|F CAMER|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Jan 09, 2016|caf||
itype_arlington Hardback
language English
language_boost 10
language_boost_es 1
lexile_code
lexile_score -1
lib_boost_arlington 50
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington F CAMER
local_callnumber_exact_arlington F CAMER
local_callnumber_left_arlington F CAMER
local_days_since_added_arlington 2341
num_holdings 1
oclc (OCoLC)311262982
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central
physical 436 p. ; 24 cm.
popularity 3
primary_isbn 9781439118221
publishDate 2009
publishDateSort 2009
publisher Pocket Books,
rating 2.5
rating_facet oneStar, twoStar
record_details ils:.b13114803|Book|Books|1st Pocket Books hardcover ed.|English|Pocket Books,|2009.|436 p. ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scope_has_related_records a, arlington, c, d, g, h, o, p, s, u, v, w
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b13114803|.i14255996|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999||
target_audience Adult
target_audience_full Adult
title The fruit of her hands : the story of Shira of Ashkenaz
title_display The fruit of her hands : the story of Shira of Ashkenaz
title_full The fruit of her hands : the story of Shira of Ashkenaz / by Michelle Cameron
title_short The fruit of her hands :
title_sort fruit of her hands the story of shira of ashkenaz
title_sub the story of Shira of Ashkenaz