The theory of almost everything: the Standard Model, the unsung triumph of modern physics

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Pi,
Pub. Date:
2006.
Language:
English
Description
For fans of Brian Greene and Stephen Hawking, a guide to the most important theory in modern physics, in a tour de force of science writing There are two scientific theories that, taken together, explain the entire universe. The first, which describes the force of gravity, is widely known: Einstein’s General Theory of Relativity. But the theory that explains everything else—the Standard Model of Elementary Particles—is virtually unknown among the general public.

In The Theory of Almost Everything, Robert Oerter shows how what were once thought to be separate forces of nature were combined into a single theory by some of the most brilliant minds of the twentieth century. Rich with accessible analogies and lucid prose, The Theory of Almost Everything celebrates a heretofore unsung achievement in human knowledge—and reveals the sublime structure that underlies the world as we know it. BACKCOVER: “This highly accessible volume explains the Standard Model to the everyman, using literary references and easy-to-follow analogies to make clear mind-bending physics principles.”—Publishers Weekly “Accessible and engaging…This book is for anyone interested in modern physics and ultimate answers about the universe.”—Science News

More Details
ISBN:
9780132366786
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 1667b7cd-3e70-435d-4a10-fc6a3fc22cdc
full_title theory of almost everything the standard model the unsung triumph of modern physics
author oerter robert
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-09-06 04:59:50AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Oerter, Robert.
author_display Oerter, Robert
available_at_arlington Central
collection_arlington Adult Nonfiction
detailed_location_arlington Central Adult Nonfiction
display_description
format_arlington Book
format_category_arlington Books
id 1667b7cd-3e70-435d-4a10-fc6a3fc22cdc
isbn 9780132366786
item_details ils:.b13279324|.i12347760|Central Adult Nonfiction|539.72 OERTE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Sep 05, 2017|can||
itype_arlington Hardback
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington 539.72 OERTE
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central
primary_isbn 9780132366786
publishDate 2006
record_details ils:.b13279324|Book|Books||English|Pi,|2006.|327 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b13279324|.i12347760|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||
subject_facet Standard model (Nuclear physics)
title_display The theory of almost everything : the Standard Model, the unsung triumph of modern physics
title_full The theory of almost everything : the Standard Model, the unsung triumph of modern physics / Robert Oerter
title_short The theory of almost everything :
title_sub the Standard Model, the unsung triumph of modern physics