Blood of the prodigal: an Ohio Amish mystery

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Publisher:
Ohio University Press,
Pub. Date:
c1999.
Language:
English
Description
From the choppy waves of Lake Erie's Middle Bass Island to the too-tranquil farmlands of Holmes County's Amish countryside, mystery and foreboding lurk under layers of tradition and repression before boiling up to the surface with tragic consequences.For Jon Mills, the journey begins with his decision to retrieve his ten-year-old son from the hands of the Bishop who had ten years earlier cast Mills out of the Order, the same Bishop who is Jon Mills's father.When Mills turns up dead, dressed in Amish garb, and with the boy missing, Professor Michael Branden plunges headlong into the closed culture to unravel the mystery and find the boy. Working in tandem sometimes and at cross purposes at others with his old friend Sheriff Robertson, Professor Branden digs through the past, recent and otherwise, to uncover the truths that many would prefer to leave undisturbed.In the tradition of Tony Hillerman, P. L. Gaus depicts a culture that stands outside the norm, but one that is every bit as susceptible to the undertow of the human spirit as any we might know.
More Details
ISBN:
9780821412763
9780821412770
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 16edab90-5a99-b0bc-ecd3-5d20356a728e
full_title blood of the prodigal an ohio amish mystery
author gaus paul l
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-06-24 11:03:48AM

Solr Details

_version_ 1571375611147976704
accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Gaus, Paul L.
author-letter Gaus, Paul L.
author_additional P.L. Gaus.
author_display Gaus, Paul L
availability_toggle_arlington Available Now, Entire Collection
available_at_arlington Central
callnumber-a PS3557.A9517
callnumber-first P - Language and Literature
callnumber-subject PS - American Literature
callnumber_sort_arlington D GAU
collection_arlington Detectives
date_added 2013-05-20T04:00:00Z
days_since_added 1499
detailed_location_arlington Central Detectives
display_description
format_arlington Book
format_boost 10
format_category_arlington Books
grouping_category book
id 16edab90-5a99-b0bc-ecd3-5d20356a728e
isbn 9780821412763, 9780821412770
item_details ils:.b1316739x|.i18329354|Central Detectives|D GAU|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Sep 19, 2015|cafd||
itype_arlington Paperback
language English
language_boost 10
language_boost_es 1
lexile_code
lexile_score -1
lib_boost_arlington 50
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington D GAU
local_callnumber_exact_arlington D GAU
local_callnumber_left_arlington D GAU
local_days_since_added_arlington 1499
num_holdings 1
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central
physical v, 230 p. ; 23 cm.
popularity 1
primary_isbn 9780821412763
publishDate 1999
publishDateSort 1999
publisher Ohio University Press,
rating 2.5
rating_facet oneStar, twoStar
record_details ils:.b1316739x|Book|Books||English|Ohio University Press,|c1999.|v, 230 p. ; 23 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scope_has_related_records a, arlington, c, d, g, h, o, p, s, u, v, w
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b1316739x|.i18329354|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999||
target_audience Adult
target_audience_full Adult
title Blood of the prodigal : an Ohio Amish mystery
title_display Blood of the prodigal : an Ohio Amish mystery
title_full Blood of the prodigal : an Ohio Amish mystery / P.L. Gaus
title_short Blood of the prodigal :
title_sort blood of the prodigal an ohio amish mystery
title_sub an Ohio Amish mystery