The boat people: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Doubleday,
Pub. Date:
©2018.
Language:
English
Description
Globe and Mail bestseller, The Boat People is an extraordinary novel about a group of refugees who survive a perilous ocean voyage only to face the threat of deportation amid accusations of terrorism When a rusty cargo ship carrying Mahindan and five hundred fellow refugees from Sri Lanka's bloody civil war reaches Vancouver's shores, the young father thinks he and his six-year-old son can finally start a new life. Instead, the group is thrown into a detention processing center, with government officials and news headlines speculating that among the "boat people" are members of a separatist militant organization responsible for countless suicide attacks—and that these terrorists now pose a threat to Canada's national security. As the refugees become subject to heavy interrogation, Mahindan begins to fear that a desperate act taken in Sri Lanka to fund their escape may now jeopardize his and his son's chance for asylum.     Told through the alternating perspectives of Mahindan; his lawyer, Priya, a second-generation Sri Lankan Canadian who reluctantly represents the refugees; and Grace, a third-generation Japanese Canadian adjudicator who must decide Mahindan's fate as evidence mounts against him, The Boat People is a spellbinding and timely novel that provokes a deeply compassionate lens through which to view the current refugee crisis.
More Details
ISBN:
9780525432463
9780385542296
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID1ec466c2-cc1c-a41e-981a-57f29d91519e
Grouping Titleboat people
Grouping Authorbala sharon
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-11-27 15:49:23PM
Last Indexed2019-12-08 04:47:38AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorBala, Sharon,
author_displayBala, Sharon
collection_arlingtonAdult Fiction
detailed_location_arlingtonGlencarlyn Adult Fiction
display_description"For readers of Khaled Hosseini and Chris Cleave, The Boat People is an extraordinary novel about a group of refugees who survive a perilous ocean voyage only to face the threat of deportation amid accusations of terrorism When a rusty cargo ship carrying Mahindan and five hundred fellow refugees from Sri Lanka's bloody civil war reaches Vancouver's shores, the young father thinks he and his six-year-old son can finally start a new life. Instead, the group is thrown into a detention processing center, with government officials and news headlines speculating that among the "boat people" are members of a separatist militant organization responsible for countless suicide attacks--and that these terrorists now pose a threat to Canada's national security. As the refugees become subject to heavy interrogation, Mahindan begins to fear that a desperate act taken in Sri Lanka to fund their escape may now jeopardize his and his son's chance for asylum. Told through the alternating perspectives of Mahindan; his lawyer, Priya, a second-generation Sri Lankan Canadian who reluctantly represents the refugees; and Grace, a third-generation Japanese Canadian adjudicator who must decide Mahindan's fate as evidence mounts against him, The Boat People is a spellbinding and timely novel that provokes a deeply compassionate lens through which to view the current refugee crisis"-- "A debut novel about a thirty-five-year-old Sri Lankan refugee who has survived the harrowing experiences of civil war, a prison camp, and a perilous ocean voyage to Canada -- but his journey has only begun, as he and his young son navigate the morass of the refugee system"--
format_arlingtonBook
format_category_arlingtonBooks
id1ec466c2-cc1c-a41e-981a-57f29d91519e
isbn9780385542296
9780525432463
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b20026869.i21632352Glencarlyn Adult FictionF BALA1falsefalseDue Dec 18, 2019Nov 26, 2019gaf
itype_arlingtonHardback
last_indexed2019-12-08T09:47:38.81Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_arlingtonF BALA
owning_library_arlingtonArlington Public Library
Aurora Hills
Central
Cherrydale
Columbia Pike
Connection Crystal City
Detention Center
Glencarlyn
Local History
Plaza
Shirlington
Westover
owning_location_arlingtonGlencarlyn
primary_isbn9780525432463
publishDate2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b20026869BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishDoubleday, ©2018.338 pages ; 25.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b20026869.i21632352Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
subject_facetFathers and sons -- Fiction
Refugees -- Canada -- Fiction
title_displayThe boat people : a novel
title_fullThe boat people : a novel / Sharon Bala
title_shortThe boat people
title_suba novel