The boat people: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Doubleday,
Pub. Date:
[2018]
Language:
English
Description
For readers of Khaled Hosseini and Chris Cleave, The Boat People is an extraordinary novel about a group of refugees who survive a perilous ocean voyage only to face the threat of deportation amid accusations of terrorismWhen a rusty cargo ship carrying Mahindan and five hundred fellow refugees from Sri Lanka's bloody civil war reaches Vancouver's shores, the young father thinks he and his six-year-old son can finally start a new life. Instead, the group is thrown into a detention processing center, with government officials and news headlines speculating that among the "boat people" are members of a separatist militant organization responsible for countless suicide attacks—and that these terrorists now pose a threat to Canada's national security. As the refugees become subject to heavy interrogation, Mahindan begins to fear that a desperate act taken in Sri Lanka to fund their escape may now jeopardize his and his son's chance for asylum.     Told through the alternating perspectives of Mahindan; his lawyer, Priya, a second-generation Sri Lankan Canadian who reluctantly represents the refugees; and Grace, a third-generation Japanese Canadian adjudicator who must decide Mahindan's fate as evidence mounts against him, The Boat People is a spellbinding and timely novel that provokes a deeply compassionate lens through which to view the current refugee crisis.
More Details
ISBN:
9780385542296
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 1ec466c2-cc1c-a41e-981a-57f29d91519e
full_title boat people
author bala sharon
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-11-01 04:57:24AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Bala, Sharon,
author_display Bala, Sharon
collection_arlington On Order
detailed_location_arlington Arlington Public Library On Order
display_description
format_arlington Book
format_category_arlington Books
id 1ec466c2-cc1c-a41e-981a-57f29d91519e
isbn 9780385542296
item_details ils:.b20026869|.o11379042|Arlington Public Library On Order|ON ORDER|||2|true|false|||||On Order||cafn||
itype_arlington
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington ON ORDER
local_time_since_added_arlington 2 Months, Day, Month, On Order, Quarter, Six Months, Week, Year
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library On Order, Aurora Hills On Order, Central On Order, Cherrydale On Order, Columbia Pike On Order, Connection Crystal City On Order, Detention Center On Order, Glencarlyn On Order, Local History On Order, Plaza On Order, Shirlington On Order, Westover On Order
owning_location_arlington Central On Order
primary_isbn 9780385542296
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:.b20026869|Book|Books||English|Doubleday,|[2018]|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b20026869|.o11379042|On Order|On Order|false|false|true|false|false|true||||
title_display The boat people : a novel
title_full The boat people : a novel / Sharon Bala
title_short The boat people :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Coming Soon, On Order