The boat people: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Doubleday,
Pub. Date:
c2018.
Language:
English
Description
Globe and Mail bestseller, The Boat People is an extraordinary novel about a group of refugees who survive a perilous ocean voyage only to face the threat of deportation amid accusations of terrorism When a rusty cargo ship carrying Mahindan and five hundred fellow refugees from Sri Lanka's bloody civil war reaches Vancouver's shores, the young father thinks he and his six-year-old son can finally start a new life. Instead, the group is thrown into a detention processing center, with government officials and news headlines speculating that among the "boat people" are members of a separatist militant organization responsible for countless suicide attacks—and that these terrorists now pose a threat to Canada's national security. As the refugees become subject to heavy interrogation, Mahindan begins to fear that a desperate act taken in Sri Lanka to fund their escape may now jeopardize his and his son's chance for asylum.     Told through the alternating perspectives of Mahindan; his lawyer, Priya, a second-generation Sri Lankan Canadian who reluctantly represents the refugees; and Grace, a third-generation Japanese Canadian adjudicator who must decide Mahindan's fate as evidence mounts against him, The Boat People is a spellbinding and timely novel that provokes a deeply compassionate lens through which to view the current refugee crisis.
More Details
ISBN:
9780525432463
9780385542296
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 1ec466c2-cc1c-a41e-981a-57f29d91519e
full_title boat people
author bala sharon
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2018-02-21 04:41:27AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Bala, Sharon,
author_display Bala, Sharon
collection_arlington New Fiction
detailed_location_arlington Central New Fiction
display_description "For readers of Khaled Hosseini and Chris Cleave, The Boat People is an extraordinary novel about a group of refugees who survive a perilous ocean voyage only to face the threat of deportation amid accusations of terrorism When a rusty cargo ship carrying Mahindan and five hundred fellow refugees from Sri Lanka's bloody civil war reaches Vancouver's shores, the young father thinks he and his six-year-old son can finally start a new life. Instead, the group is thrown into a detention processing center, with government officials and news headlines speculating that among the "boat people" are members of a separatist militant organization responsible for countless suicide attacks--and that these terrorists now pose a threat to Canada's national security. As the refugees become subject to heavy interrogation, Mahindan begins to fear that a desperate act taken in Sri Lanka to fund their escape may now jeopardize his and his son's chance for asylum. Told through the alternating perspectives of Mahindan; his lawyer, Priya, a second-generation Sri Lankan Canadian who reluctantly represents the refugees; and Grace, a third-generation Japanese Canadian adjudicator who must decide Mahindan's fate as evidence mounts against him, The Boat People is a spellbinding and timely novel that provokes a deeply compassionate lens through which to view the current refugee crisis"-- "A debut novel about a thirty-five-year-old Sri Lankan refugee who has survived the harrowing experiences of civil war, a prison camp, and a perilous ocean voyage to Canada -- but his journey has only begun, as he and his young son navigate the morass of the refugee system"--
format_arlington Book
format_category_arlington Books
id 1ec466c2-cc1c-a41e-981a-57f29d91519e
isbn 9780385542296, 9780525432463
item_details ils:.b20026869|.i21632340|Central New Fiction|F BALA|||1|false|false|||||Due Mar 13, 2018|Jan 25, 2018|cafn||, ils:.b20026869|.i21632352|Central New Fiction|F BALA|||1|false|false|||||Due Mar 4, 2018|Feb 03, 2018|cafn||
itype_arlington Hardback
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington F BALA
local_time_since_added_arlington 2 Months, Quarter, Six Months, Year
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central
primary_isbn 9780525432463
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:.b20026869|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Doubleday,|c2018.|338 pages ; 25 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b20026869|.i21632340|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b20026869|.i21632352|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||
subject_facet Fathers and sons -- Fiction, Refugees -- Canada -- Fiction
title_display The boat people : a novel
title_full The boat people : a novel / Sharon Bala
title_short The boat people :
title_sub a novel