The storm: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2018.
Language:
English
Description
“A remarkable debut, in which fiction vividly portrays specific events in history.”—Booklist (starred review) “This powerful and important debut is a story for our time.” —Library Journal (starred review) From an immensely talented new voice in international fiction, a sweeping tour de force that seamlessly interweaves five love stories that, together, chronicle sixty years of Bangladeshi history.Shahryar, a recent PhD graduate and father of nine-year-old Anna, must leave the US when his visa expires. In their last remaining weeks together, we learn Shahryar’s history, in a vil­lage on the Bay of Bengal, where a poor fisherman and his wife are preparing to face a storm of historic proportions. That story intersects with those of a Japanese pilot, a British doctor stationed in Burma during World War II, and a privileged couple in Calcutta who leaves everything behind to move to East Pakistan following the Partition of India. Inspired by the 1970 Bhola cyclone, in which half a million-people perished overnight, the structure of this riveting novel mimics the storm itself. Building to a series of revelatory and moving climaxes, it shows the many ways in which families love, betray, honor, and sacrifice for one another. At once grounded in history and fantastically imaginative, The Storm explores the human­ity that connects us beyond the surface differences of race, religion, and nationality. It is an epic novel in the tradition of Khaled Hosseini’s The Kite Runner and Rohinton Mistry’s A Fine Balance, by a singularly gifted and perceptive new writer.
More Details
ISBN:
9781501174513
9781432857899
9781501174506
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID26ea8207-148e-ac67-038a-095990e7dc55
Grouping Titlestorm
Grouping Authoranwar arif
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-10-31 04:43:55AM
Last Indexed2019-11-13 04:51:12AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorAnwar, Arif,
author_displayAnwar, Arif
available_at_arlingtonCentral
Shirlington
collection_arlingtonAdult Fiction
Large Type
detailed_location_arlingtonCentral Large Type
Shirlington Adult Fiction
display_description"Seamlessly interweaves five love stories that, together, chronicle sixty years of Bangladeshi history. Shahryar, a recent PhD graduate and father of nine-year-old Anna, must leave the US when his visa expires. In their last remaining weeks together, we learn Shahryar's history, in a village on the Bay of Bengal, where a poor fisherman and his wife are preparing to face a storm of historic proportions. That story intersects with those of a Japanese pilot, a British doctor stationed in Burma during World War II, and a privileged couple in Calcutta who leaves everything behind to move to East Pakistan following the Partition of India. Inspired by the 1970 Bhola cyclone, in which half a million-people perished overnight, the structure of this riveting novel mimics the storm itself. Building to a series of revelatory and moving climaxes, it shows the many ways in which families love, betray, honor, and sacrifice for one another. At once grounded in history and fantastically imaginative, The Storm explores the humanity that connects us beyond the surface differences of race, religion, and nationality. It is an epic novel in the tradition of Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner and Rohinton Mistry's A Fine Balance, by a singularly gifted and perceptive new writer.--
format_arlingtonBook
Large Type
format_category_arlingtonBooks
id26ea8207-148e-ac67-038a-095990e7dc55
isbn9781432857899
9781501174506
9781501174513
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b20589104.i22155442Central Large TypeLT F ANWAR1falsefalseOn ShelfJun 13, 2019cafl
ils:.b20372772.i21852959Shirlington Adult FictionF ANWAR1falsefalseOn ShelfSep 22, 2019saf
itype_arlingtonHardback
last_indexed2019-11-13T09:51:12.393Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_arlingtonF ANWAR
LT F ANWAR
owning_library_arlingtonArlington Public Library
Aurora Hills
Central
Cherrydale
Columbia Pike
Connection Crystal City
Detention Center
Glencarlyn
Local History
Plaza
Shirlington
Westover
owning_location_arlingtonCentral
Shirlington
primary_isbn9781501174513
publishDate2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b20589104Large TypeBooksLarge print edition.EnglishThorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2018.465 pages (large print) : illustration ; 23 cm.
ils:.b20372772BookBooksFirst Atria Books hardcover edition.EnglishAtria Books, 2018.306 pages ; 24.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b20589104.i22155442On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b20372772.i21852959On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
subject_facetBangladesh -- History -- 20th century -- Fiction
Bangladesh -- Social conditions -- Fiction
Bhola Cyclone, 1970 -- Fiction
Cultural Heritage
Families
Families -- Bangladesh -- Fiction
Immigrants -- United States -- Fiction
Large type books
Literary
World War, 1939-1945 -- Burma -- Fiction
title_displayThe storm : a novel
title_fullThe storm / Arif Anwar
The storm : a novel / Arif Anwar
title_shortThe storm
title_suba novel