Who is Rich?: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
A provocative satire of love, sex, money, and politics that unfolds over four wild days in so-called “paradise”—the long-awaited first novel from the acclaimed author of Sam the Cat “I seriously, deeply love this book.”—Michael CunninghamNAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE NEW YORK TIMES AND THE WASHINGTON POST Every summer, a once-sort-of-famous cartoonist named Rich Fischer leaves his wife and two kids behind to teach a class at a weeklong arts conference in a charming New England beachside town. It’s a place where, every year, students—nature poets and driftwood sculptors, widowed seniors, teenagers away from home for the first time—show up to study with an esteemed faculty made up of prizewinning playwrights, actors, and historians; drunkards and perverts; members of the cultural elite; unknown nobodies, midlist somebodies, and legitimate stars—a place where drum circles happen on the beach at midnight, clothing optional.   Once more, Rich finds himself, in this seaside paradise, worrying about his family’s nights without him and trying not to think about his book, now out of print, or his future as an illustrator at a glossy magazine about to go under, or his back taxes, or the shameless shenanigans of his colleagues at this summer make-out festival. He can’t decide whether his own very real desire for love and human contact is going to rescue or destroy him.   A warped and exhilarating tale of love and lust, Who Is Rich? goes far beyond to address deeper questions: of family, monogamy, the intoxicating beauty of children, and the challenging interdependence of two soulful, sensitive creatures in a confusing domestic alliance.LONGLISTED FOR THE CENTER FOR FICTION FIRST NOVEL PRIZE“Funny, maddening . . . defiantly original . . . [Matthew] Klam’s prose is so clean, so self-assured, that it feels a little like a miracle.”The New York Times “A dazzling meditation on monogamy [and] parenthood . . . full of sound and fury and signifying pretty much everything.”The Boston Globe “Comic, wondrous, and sad.”The New Yorker “Almost scarily astute.”People “An electric amalgam of frustration and tenderness, wonder and rebellion: a paean to the obliterating power of parental love.”—Jennifer Egan “A contemporary masterpiece.”Salon
More Details
ISBN:
9780812997989
9780812997996
9780525493143
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 2ff46962-db1e-0a00-7320-8cbc2357e6cc
Grouping Title who is rich
Grouping Author klam matthew
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-09-19 04:48:22AM
Last Indexed 2019-09-19 04:51:58AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Klam, Matthew,
author_display Matthew Klam
available_at_arlington Central
Cherrydale
Columbia Pike
Westover
collection_arlington Adult Fiction
detailed_location_arlington Central Adult Fiction
Cherrydale Adult Fiction
Columbia Pike Adult Fiction
Westover Adult Fiction
display_description "The long-awaited first novel from the acclaimed author of Sam the Cat is a provocative and hilarious satire of love, sex, money, and politics in our new gilded age--for readers of The Nix and This Is Where I Leave You"-- "Two people, who are married to other people, meet at a conference for artists and writers in a charming seaside village much like Provincetown. Rich, a formerly sort-of-famous cartoonist, and Amy, a student of narrative painting, shared a moment of passion the summer before, and have returned to see what happens next. In the wicked events that follow, both of their lives completely unravel"--
format_arlington Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_arlington Audio Books
Books
eBook
id 2ff46962-db1e-0a00-7320-8cbc2357e6cc
isbn 9780525493143
9780812997989
9780812997996
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:4d6a843b-52a1-41e0-9268-50cffb1e72ae -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 2 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
overdrive:489693cd-7f47-42ff-b5cf-f25d2012ab8c -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eAudiobook Audio Books 1 false true OverDrive OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen Available Online
ils:.b19718068 .i21356026 Central Adult Fiction F KLAM 1 false false On Shelf Sep 14, 2019 caf
ils:.b19718068 .i2135604x Cherrydale Adult Fiction F KLAM 1 false false On Shelf Aug 21, 2018 haf
ils:.b19718068 .i2135599x Columbia Pike Adult Fiction F KLAM 1 false false On Shelf Jul 10, 2019 oaf
ils:.b19718068 .i21356002 Westover Adult Fiction F KLAM 1 false false On Shelf Mar 04, 2019 waf
ils:.b19718068 .i21356014 Columbia Pike Adult Fiction F KLAM 1 false false Due Oct 6, 2019 Jul 11, 2018 oaf
ils:.b19718068 .i21333798 Central Adult Fiction F KLAM 1 false false On Shelf Jun 11, 2019 caf
ils:.b19718068 .i21356038 Columbia Pike Adult Fiction F KLAM 1 false false On Shelf Feb 28, 2019 oaf
itype_arlington
Hardback
last_indexed 2019-09-19T08:51:58.244Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington F KLAM
Online OverDrive
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library
Aurora Hills
Central
Cherrydale
Columbia Pike
Connection Crystal City
Detention Center
Glencarlyn
Local History
Plaza
Shirlington
Westover
owning_location_arlington Central
Cherrydale
Columbia Pike
Westover
primary_isbn 9780812997989
publishDate 2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:4d6a843b-52a1-41e0-9268-50cffb1e72ae eBook eBook English Random House Publishing Group 2017
overdrive:489693cd-7f47-42ff-b5cf-f25d2012ab8c eAudiobook Audio Books English Books on Tape 2017
ils:.b19718068 Book Books First edition. English Random House, ©2017. 321 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:4d6a843b-52a1-41e0-9268-50cffb1e72ae -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:489693cd-7f47-42ff-b5cf-f25d2012ab8c -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:.b19718068 .i21356026 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 9999
ils:.b19718068 .i2135604x On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 9999
ils:.b19718068 .i2135599x On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 9999
ils:.b19718068 .i21356002 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 9999
ils:.b19718068 .i21356014 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true 9999
ils:.b19718068 .i21333798 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 9999
ils:.b19718068 .i21356038 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 9999
subject_facet Families -- Fiction
title_display Who is Rich? : a novel
title_full Who Is Rich? A Novel
Who is Rich? : a novel / Matthew Klam
title_short Who is Rich? :
title_sub A Novel
topic_facet Fiction
Literature