Who is Rich?: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
A provocative satire of love, sex, money, and politics that unfolds over four wild days in so-called “paradise”—the long-awaited first novel from the acclaimed author of Sam the Cat “I seriously, deeply love this book.”—Michael CunninghamNAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE NEW YORK TIMES AND THE WASHINGTON POST Every summer, a once-sort-of-famous cartoonist named Rich Fischer leaves his wife and two kids behind to teach a class at a weeklong arts conference in a charming New England beachside town. It’s a place where, every year, students—nature poets and driftwood sculptors, widowed seniors, teenagers away from home for the first time—show up to study with an esteemed faculty made up of prizewinning playwrights, actors, and historians; drunkards and perverts; members of the cultural elite; unknown nobodies, midlist somebodies, and legitimate stars—a place where drum circles happen on the beach at midnight, clothing optional.   Once more, Rich finds himself, in this seaside paradise, worrying about his family’s nights without him and trying not to think about his book, now out of print, or his future as an illustrator at a glossy magazine about to go under, or his back taxes, or the shameless shenanigans of his colleagues at this summer make-out festival. He can’t decide whether his own very real desire for love and human contact is going to rescue or destroy him.   A warped and exhilarating tale of love and lust, Who Is Rich? goes far beyond to address deeper questions: of family, monogamy, the intoxicating beauty of children, and the challenging interdependence of two soulful, sensitive creatures in a confusing domestic alliance.LONGLISTED FOR THE CENTER FOR FICTION FIRST NOVEL PRIZE“Funny, maddening . . . defiantly original . . . [Matthew] Klam’s prose is so clean, so self-assured, that it feels a little like a miracle.”The New York Times “A dazzling meditation on monogamy [and] parenthood . . . full of sound and fury and signifying pretty much everything.”The Boston Globe “Comic, wondrous, and sad.”The New Yorker “Almost scarily astute.”People “An electric amalgam of frustration and tenderness, wonder and rebellion: a paean to the obliterating power of parental love.”—Jennifer Egan “A contemporary masterpiece.”Salon
More Details
ISBN:
9780812997989
9780812997996
9780525493143
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID2ff46962-db1e-0a00-7320-8cbc2357e6cc
Grouping Titlewho is rich
Grouping Authorklam matthew
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-11-12 04:43:19AM
Last Indexed2019-11-12 04:44:23AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorKlam, Matthew,
author_displayMatthew Klam
available_at_arlingtonCentral
Cherrydale
Columbia Pike
Glencarlyn
Westover
collection_arlingtonAdult Fiction
detailed_location_arlingtonCentral Adult Fiction
Cherrydale Adult Fiction
Columbia Pike Adult Fiction
Glencarlyn Adult Fiction
Westover Adult Fiction
display_description"The long-awaited first novel from the acclaimed author of Sam the Cat is a provocative and hilarious satire of love, sex, money, and politics in our new gilded age--for readers of The Nix and This Is Where I Leave You"-- "Two people, who are married to other people, meet at a conference for artists and writers in a charming seaside village much like Provincetown. Rich, a formerly sort-of-famous cartoonist, and Amy, a student of narrative painting, shared a moment of passion the summer before, and have returned to see what happens next. In the wicked events that follow, both of their lives completely unravel"--
format_arlingtonBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_arlingtonAudio Books
Books
eBook
id2ff46962-db1e-0a00-7320-8cbc2357e6cc
isbn9780525493143
9780812997989
9780812997996
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:4d6a843b-52a1-41e0-9268-50cffb1e72ae-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:489693cd-7f47-42ff-b5cf-f25d2012ab8c-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:.b19718068.i2135599xColumbia Pike Adult FictionF KLAM1falsefalseOn ShelfJul 10, 2019oaf
ils:.b19718068.i21333798Central Adult FictionF KLAM1falsefalseOn ShelfJun 11, 2019caf
ils:.b19718068.i2135604xCherrydale Adult FictionF KLAM1falsefalseOn ShelfAug 21, 2018haf
ils:.b19718068.i21356026Central Adult FictionF KLAM1falsefalseOn ShelfSep 14, 2019caf
ils:.b19718068.i21356014Glencarlyn Adult FictionF KLAM1falsefalseOn ShelfOct 09, 2019gaf
ils:.b19718068.i21356038Columbia Pike Adult FictionF KLAM1falsefalseOn ShelfFeb 28, 2019oaf
ils:.b19718068.i21356002Westover Adult FictionF KLAM1falsefalseOn ShelfMar 04, 2019waf
itype_arlingtonHardback
last_indexed2019-11-12T09:44:23.319Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_arlingtonF KLAM
Online OverDrive
owning_library_arlingtonArlington Public Library
Aurora Hills
Central
Cherrydale
Columbia Pike
Connection Crystal City
Detention Center
Glencarlyn
Local History
Plaza
Shirlington
Westover
owning_location_arlingtonCentral
Cherrydale
Columbia Pike
Glencarlyn
Westover
primary_isbn9780812997989
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:4d6a843b-52a1-41e0-9268-50cffb1e72aeeBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2017
overdrive:489693cd-7f47-42ff-b5cf-f25d2012ab8ceAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBooks on Tape2017
ils:.b19718068BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishRandom House, ©2017.321 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:4d6a843b-52a1-41e0-9268-50cffb1e72ae-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:489693cd-7f47-42ff-b5cf-f25d2012ab8c-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b19718068.i2135599xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b19718068.i21333798On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b19718068.i2135604xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b19718068.i21356026On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b19718068.i21356014On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b19718068.i21356038On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b19718068.i21356002On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
subject_facetFamilies -- Fiction
title_displayWho is Rich? : a novel
title_fullWho Is Rich? A Novel
Who is Rich? : a novel / Matthew Klam
title_shortWho is Rich?
title_subA Novel
topic_facetFiction
Literature