Who is Rich?: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
A provocative satire of love, sex, money, and politics that unfolds over four wild days in so-called “paradise”—the long-awaited first novel from the acclaimed author of Sam the Cat   “I seriously, deeply love this book.”—Michael Cunningham   Every summer, a once-sort-of-famous cartoonist named Rich Fischer leaves his wife and two kids behind to teach a class at a weeklong arts conference in a charming New England beachside town. It’s a place where, every year, students—nature poets and driftwood sculptors, widowed seniors, teenagers away from home for the first time—show up to study with an esteemed faculty made up of prizewinning playwrights, actors, and historians; drunkards and perverts; members of the cultural elite; unknown nobodies, midlist somebodies, and legitimate stars—a place where drum circles happen on the beach at midnight, clothing optional.   Once more, Rich finds himself, in this seaside paradise, worrying about his family’s nights without him and trying not to think about his book, now out of print, or his future as an illustrator at a glossy magazine about to go under, or his back taxes, or the shameless shenanigans of his colleagues at this summer make-out festival. He can’t decide whether his own very real desire for love and human contact is going to rescue or destroy him.   A warped and exhilarating tale of love and lust, Who Is Rich? goes far beyond to address deeper questions: of family, monogamy, the intoxicating beauty of children, and the challenging interdependence of two soulful, sensitive creatures in a confusing domestic alliance. Praise for Who Is Rich?Who Is Rich? is a gem within the canon of infidelity literature [with] a wonderful narrator, lacerating and gentle. . . . Comic, wondrous, and sad.”The New Yorker“Like all great humorists, Klam is a sharp observer and he skewers his targets here with specificity and brio.”—Maureen Corrigan, Fresh Air A brilliant rumination on the trap of cannibalizing one’s life for art.”The Washington Post “One of those novels with the rare power to mesmerize. It’s a dazzling meditation . . . told by an adulterous middle-aged schlub, full of sound and fury, and signifying, well, pretty much everything.”The Boston Globe “This portrait of midlife crisis is almost scarily astute.”People
More Details
ISBN:
9780812997989
9780525493143
9780812997996
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 2ff46962-db1e-0a00-7320-8cbc2357e6cc
full_title who is rich
author klam matthew
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-09-19 06:22:35AM

Solr Details

_version_ 1578963431832158208
accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Klam, Matthew,
author-letter Klam, Matthew,
author_additional Matthew Klam.
author_display Matthew Klam
availability_toggle_arlington Entire Collection
callnumber_sort_arlington F KLAM
collection_arlington New Fiction
date_added 2017-06-30T04:00:00Z
days_since_added 81
detailed_location_arlington Central New Fiction, Shirlington New Fiction
display_description "The long-awaited first novel from the acclaimed author of Sam the Cat is a provocative and hilarious satire of love, sex, money, and politics in our new gilded age--for readers of The Nix and This Is Where I Leave You"-- "Two people, who are married to other people, meet at a conference for artists and writers in a charming seaside village much like Provincetown. Rich, a formerly sort-of-famous cartoonist, and Amy, a student of narrative painting, shared a moment of passion the summer before, and have returned to see what happens next. In the wicked events that follow, both of their lives completely unravel"--
econtent_device Android, BlackBerry, Kindle, Kindle Fire, Mac, Windows, iPad, iPhone, iPod touch
econtent_protection_type_arlington Limited Access
econtent_source_arlington OverDrive
edition First edition.
format_arlington Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_boost 28
format_category_arlington Audio Books, Books, eBook
genre Fiction
genre_facet Fiction
grouping_category book
id 2ff46962-db1e-0a00-7320-8cbc2357e6cc
isbn 9780525493143, 9780812997989, 9780812997996
item_details ils:.b19718068|.i21333798|Shirlington New Fiction|F KLAM|||1|false|false|||||Due Oct 3, 2017|Sep 05, 2017|safn||, ils:.b19718068|.i2135599x|Central New Fiction|F KLAM|||1|false|false|||||Due Sep 22, 2017|Aug 29, 2017|cafn||, ils:.b19718068|.i21356002|Central New Fiction|F KLAM|||1|false|false|||||On Holdshelf|Sep 13, 2017|cafn||, ils:.b19718068|.i21356014|Central New Fiction|F KLAM|||1|false|false|||||Due Oct 9, 2017|Sep 16, 2017|cafn||, ils:.b19718068|.i21356026|Central New Fiction|F KLAM|||1|false|false|||||Due Oct 7, 2017|Sep 13, 2017|cafn||, ils:.b19718068|.i21356038|Central New Fiction|F KLAM|||1|false|false|||||Due Sep 29, 2017|Sep 03, 2017|cafn||, ils:.b19718068|.i2135604x|Central New Fiction|F KLAM|||1|false|false|||||Due Oct 7, 2017|Sep 09, 2017|cafn||, ils:.b19718068|.i21363973|Shirlington New Fiction|F KLAM|||1|false|false|||||In Transit|Sep 18, 2017|safn||, overdrive:489693cd-7f47-42ff-b5cf-f25d2012ab8c|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||, overdrive:4d6a843b-52a1-41e0-9268-50cffb1e72ae|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|2|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Checked Out||||
itype_arlington , Hardback
language English
language_boost 10
language_boost_es 1
lexile_score -1
lib_boost_arlington 10
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington F KLAM, Online OverDrive
local_callnumber_exact_arlington F KLAM, Online OverDrive
local_callnumber_left_arlington F KLAM, Online OverDrive
local_days_since_added_arlington 81
local_time_since_added_arlington Quarter, Six Months, Year
num_holdings 11
oclc (OCoLC)962005509
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central, Shirlington
physical 321 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm.
popularity 88
primary_isbn 9780812997989
publishDate 2017
publishDateSort 2017
publisher Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group, Random House Publishing Group, Random House,
rating 2.5
rating_facet oneStar, twoStar
record_details ils:.b19718068|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Random House,|c2017.|321 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm., overdrive:489693cd-7f47-42ff-b5cf-f25d2012ab8c|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2017|, overdrive:4d6a843b-52a1-41e0-9268-50cffb1e72ae|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2017|
recordtype grouped_work
scope_has_related_records a, arlington, c, d, g, h, o, p, s, u, v, w
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b19718068|.i21333798|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19718068|.i2135599x|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19718068|.i21356002|Checked Out|On Holdshelf|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19718068|.i21356014|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19718068|.i21356026|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19718068|.i21356038|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19718068|.i2135604x|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19718068|.i21363973|In Transit|In Transit|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, overdrive:489693cd-7f47-42ff-b5cf-f25d2012ab8c|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||, overdrive:4d6a843b-52a1-41e0-9268-50cffb1e72ae|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Families -- Fiction
target_audience Adult
target_audience_full Adult
time_since_added Quarter, Six Months, Year
title Who is Rich? : A Novel
title_display Who is Rich? : a novel
title_full Who Is Rich? A Novel, Who is Rich? : a novel / Matthew Klam
title_short Who is Rich? :
title_sort who is rich? a novel
title_sub A Novel
topic Fiction, Literature
topic_facet Fiction, Literature