Who is Rich?: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
A provocative satire of love, sex, money, and politics that unfolds over four wild days in so-called “paradise”—the long-awaited first novel from the acclaimed author of Sam the Cat   “I seriously, deeply love this book.”—Michael Cunningham  A WASHINGTON POST NOTABLE BOOK Every summer, a once-sort-of-famous cartoonist named Rich Fischer leaves his wife and two kids behind to teach a class at a weeklong arts conference in a charming New England beachside town. It’s a place where, every year, students—nature poets and driftwood sculptors, widowed seniors, teenagers away from home for the first time—show up to study with an esteemed faculty made up of prizewinning playwrights, actors, and historians; drunkards and perverts; members of the cultural elite; unknown nobodies, midlist somebodies, and legitimate stars—a place where drum circles happen on the beach at midnight, clothing optional.   Once more, Rich finds himself, in this seaside paradise, worrying about his family’s nights without him and trying not to think about his book, now out of print, or his future as an illustrator at a glossy magazine about to go under, or his back taxes, or the shameless shenanigans of his colleagues at this summer make-out festival. He can’t decide whether his own very real desire for love and human contact is going to rescue or destroy him.   A warped and exhilarating tale of love and lust, Who Is Rich? goes far beyond to address deeper questions: of family, monogamy, the intoxicating beauty of children, and the challenging interdependence of two soulful, sensitive creatures in a confusing domestic alliance. Praise for Who Is Rich?Who Is Rich? is a gem within the canon of infidelity literature [with] a wonderful narrator, lacerating and gentle. . . . Comic, wondrous, and sad.”The New Yorker“Like all great humorists, Klam is a sharp observer and he skewers his targets here with specificity and brio.”—Maureen Corrigan, Fresh Air A brilliant rumination on the trap of cannibalizing one’s life for art.”The Washington Post “One of those novels with the rare power to mesmerize. It’s a dazzling meditation . . . told by an adulterous middle-aged schlub, full of sound and fury, and signifying, well, pretty much everything.”The Boston Globe “This portrait of midlife crisis is almost scarily astute.”People
More Details
ISBN:
9780812997989
9780525493143
9780812997996
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 2ff46962-db1e-0a00-7320-8cbc2357e6cc
full_title who is rich
author klam matthew
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-11-24 19:27:23PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Klam, Matthew,
author_display Matthew Klam
available_at_arlington Central, Cherrydale, Plaza, Shirlington
collection_arlington New Fiction
detailed_location_arlington Central New Fiction, Cherrydale New Fiction, Columbia Pike New Fiction, Plaza New Fiction, Shirlington New Fiction
display_description "The long-awaited first novel from the acclaimed author of Sam the Cat is a provocative and hilarious satire of love, sex, money, and politics in our new gilded age--for readers of The Nix and This Is Where I Leave You"-- "Two people, who are married to other people, meet at a conference for artists and writers in a charming seaside village much like Provincetown. Rich, a formerly sort-of-famous cartoonist, and Amy, a student of narrative painting, shared a moment of passion the summer before, and have returned to see what happens next. In the wicked events that follow, both of their lives completely unravel"--
format_arlington Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_arlington Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 2ff46962-db1e-0a00-7320-8cbc2357e6cc
isbn 9780525493143, 9780812997989, 9780812997996
item_details ils:.b19718068|.i21333798|Columbia Pike New Fiction|F KLAM|||1|false|false|||||Due Nov 29, 2017|Nov 03, 2017|oafn||, ils:.b19718068|.i2135599x|Shirlington New Fiction|F KLAM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Nov 21, 2017|safn||, ils:.b19718068|.i21356002|Central New Fiction|F KLAM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Nov 09, 2017|cafn||, ils:.b19718068|.i21356014|Plaza New Fiction|F KLAM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Nov 09, 2017|pafn||, ils:.b19718068|.i21356026|Central New Fiction|F KLAM|||1|false|false|||||Due Dec 12, 2017|Nov 16, 2017|cafn||, ils:.b19718068|.i21356038|Cherrydale New Fiction|F KLAM|||1|false|false|||||Due Dec 3, 2017|Oct 11, 2017|hafn||, ils:.b19718068|.i2135604x|Cherrydale New Fiction|F KLAM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Nov 16, 2017|hafn||, ils:.b19718068|.i21363973|Central New Fiction|F KLAM|||1|false|false|||||Due Dec 28, 2017|Nov 06, 2017|cafn||, overdrive:489693cd-7f47-42ff-b5cf-f25d2012ab8c|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||, overdrive:4d6a843b-52a1-41e0-9268-50cffb1e72ae|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|2|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Checked Out||||
itype_arlington , Hardback
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington F KLAM, Online OverDrive
local_time_since_added_arlington Six Months, Year
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Plaza, Shirlington
primary_isbn 9780812997989
publishDate 2017
record_details ils:.b19718068|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Random House,|c2017.|321 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm., overdrive:489693cd-7f47-42ff-b5cf-f25d2012ab8c|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2017|, overdrive:4d6a843b-52a1-41e0-9268-50cffb1e72ae|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2017|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b19718068|.i21333798|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19718068|.i2135599x|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19718068|.i21356002|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19718068|.i21356014|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19718068|.i21356026|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19718068|.i21356038|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19718068|.i2135604x|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19718068|.i21363973|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, overdrive:489693cd-7f47-42ff-b5cf-f25d2012ab8c|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||, overdrive:4d6a843b-52a1-41e0-9268-50cffb1e72ae|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Families -- Fiction
title_display Who is Rich? : a novel
title_full Who Is Rich? A Novel, Who is Rich? : a novel / Matthew Klam
title_short Who is Rich? :
title_sub A Novel
topic_facet Fiction, Literature