Who is Rich?: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
A provocative satire of love, sex, money, and politics that unfolds over four wild days in so-called “paradise”—the long-awaited first novel from the acclaimed author of Sam the Cat “I seriously, deeply love this book.”—Michael CunninghamNAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE NEW YORK TIMES AND THE WASHINGTON POST Every summer, a once-sort-of-famous cartoonist named Rich Fischer leaves his wife and two kids behind to teach a class at a weeklong arts conference in a charming New England beachside town. It’s a place where, every year, students—nature poets and driftwood sculptors, widowed seniors, teenagers away from home for the first time—show up to study with an esteemed faculty made up of prizewinning playwrights, actors, and historians; drunkards and perverts; members of the cultural elite; unknown nobodies, midlist somebodies, and legitimate stars—a place where drum circles happen on the beach at midnight, clothing optional.   Once more, Rich finds himself, in this seaside paradise, worrying about his family’s nights without him and trying not to think about his book, now out of print, or his future as an illustrator at a glossy magazine about to go under, or his back taxes, or the shameless shenanigans of his colleagues at this summer make-out festival. He can’t decide whether his own very real desire for love and human contact is going to rescue or destroy him.   A warped and exhilarating tale of love and lust, Who Is Rich? goes far beyond to address deeper questions: of family, monogamy, the intoxicating beauty of children, and the challenging interdependence of two soulful, sensitive creatures in a confusing domestic alliance.LONGLISTED FOR THE CENTER FOR FICTION FIRST NOVEL PRIZE“Funny, maddening . . . defiantly original . . . [Matthew] Klam’s prose is so clean, so self-assured, that it feels a little like a miracle.”The New York Times “A dazzling meditation on monogamy [and] parenthood . . . full of sound and fury and signifying pretty much everything.”The Boston Globe “Comic, wondrous, and sad.”The New Yorker “Almost scarily astute.”People “An electric amalgam of frustration and tenderness, wonder and rebellion: a paean to the obliterating power of parental love.”—Jennifer Egan “A contemporary masterpiece.”Salon
More Details
ISBN:
9780812997989
9780525493143
9780812997996
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 2ff46962-db1e-0a00-7320-8cbc2357e6cc
full_title who is rich
author klam matthew
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2018-04-20 04:51:21AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Klam, Matthew,
author_display Matthew Klam
available_at_arlington Central
collection_arlington New Fiction
detailed_location_arlington Central New Fiction, Cherrydale New Fiction, Plaza New Fiction
display_description "The long-awaited first novel from the acclaimed author of Sam the Cat is a provocative and hilarious satire of love, sex, money, and politics in our new gilded age--for readers of The Nix and This Is Where I Leave You"-- "Two people, who are married to other people, meet at a conference for artists and writers in a charming seaside village much like Provincetown. Rich, a formerly sort-of-famous cartoonist, and Amy, a student of narrative painting, shared a moment of passion the summer before, and have returned to see what happens next. In the wicked events that follow, both of their lives completely unravel"--
format_arlington Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_arlington Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 2ff46962-db1e-0a00-7320-8cbc2357e6cc
isbn 9780525493143, 9780812997989, 9780812997996
item_details ils:.b19718068|.i21333798|Central New Fiction|F KLAM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Apr 10, 2018|cafn||, ils:.b19718068|.i2135599x|Central New Fiction|F KLAM|||1|false|false|||||Due Apr 26, 2018|Mar 11, 2018|cafn||, ils:.b19718068|.i21356002|Central New Fiction|F KLAM|||1|false|false|||||Due May 6, 2018|Mar 28, 2018|cafn||, ils:.b19718068|.i21356014|Plaza New Fiction|F KLAM|||1|false|false|||||Due Apr 26, 2018|Mar 20, 2018|pafn||, ils:.b19718068|.i21356026|Central New Fiction|F KLAM|||1|false|false|||||Due May 7, 2018|Mar 20, 2018|cafn||, ils:.b19718068|.i21356038|Central New Fiction|F KLAM|||1|false|false|||||Due Apr 24, 2018|Feb 20, 2018|cafn||, ils:.b19718068|.i2135604x|Cherrydale New Fiction|F KLAM|||1|false|false|||||Due Apr 28, 2018|Feb 13, 2018|hafn||, ils:.b19718068|.i21363973|Central New Fiction|F KLAM|||1|false|false|||||Due May 3, 2018|Feb 05, 2018|cafn||, overdrive:489693cd-7f47-42ff-b5cf-f25d2012ab8c|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||, overdrive:4d6a843b-52a1-41e0-9268-50cffb1e72ae|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|2|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Checked Out||||
itype_arlington , Hardback
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington F KLAM, Online OverDrive
local_time_since_added_arlington Year
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central, Cherrydale, Plaza
primary_isbn 9780812997989
publishDate 2017
record_details ils:.b19718068|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Random House,|c2017.|321 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm., overdrive:489693cd-7f47-42ff-b5cf-f25d2012ab8c|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2017|, overdrive:4d6a843b-52a1-41e0-9268-50cffb1e72ae|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2017|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b19718068|.i21333798|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19718068|.i2135599x|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19718068|.i21356002|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19718068|.i21356014|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19718068|.i21356026|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19718068|.i21356038|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19718068|.i2135604x|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19718068|.i21363973|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, overdrive:489693cd-7f47-42ff-b5cf-f25d2012ab8c|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||, overdrive:4d6a843b-52a1-41e0-9268-50cffb1e72ae|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Families -- Fiction
title_display Who is Rich? : a novel
title_full Who Is Rich? A Novel, Who is Rich? : a novel / Matthew Klam
title_short Who is Rich? :
title_sub A Novel
topic_facet Fiction, Literature