1920: the year of the six presidents

Book Cover
Average Rating
Carroll & Graf Publishers,
Pub. Date:
The presidential election of 1920 was one of the most dramatic ever. For the only time in the nation's history, six once-and-future presidents hoped to end up in the White House: Woodrow Wilson, Warren G. Harding, Calvin Coolidge, Franklin Delano Roosevelt, Herbert Hoover, and Theodore Roosevelt. It was an election that saw unprecedented levels of publicity — the Republicans outspent the Democrats by 4 to 1 — and it was the first to garner extensive newspaper and newsreel coverage. It was also the first election in which women could vote. Meanwhile, the 1920 census showed that America had become an urban nation — automobiles, mass production, chain stores, and easy credit were transforming the economy and America was limbering up for the most spectacular decade of its history, the roaring '20s. Award-winning historian David Pietrusza's riveting new work presents a dazzling panorama of presidential personalities, ambitions, plots, and counterplots — a picture of modern America at the crossroads.
More Details
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 3e831d7a-c231-d5ff-a1df-9e1f43a8720f
full_title 1920 the year of the six presidents
author pietrusza david
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-08-14 05:04:55AM

Solr Details

_version_ 1576421335998922752
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Pietrusza, David, 1949-
author-letter Pietrusza, David,
author_additional David Pietrusza.
author_display Pietrusza, David
availability_toggle_arlington Available Now, Entire Collection
available_at_arlington Central
callnumber_sort_arlington 324.973 PIETR
collection_arlington Adult Nonfiction
date_added 2011-01-26T05:00:00Z
days_since_added 2400
detailed_location_arlington Central Adult Nonfiction
format_arlington Book
format_boost 10
format_category_arlington Books
grouping_category book
id 3e831d7a-c231-d5ff-a1df-9e1f43a8720f
isbn 9780786716227
item_details ils:.b13263213|.i12849042|Central Adult Nonfiction|324.973 PIETR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Dec 02, 2016|can||
itype_arlington Hardback
language English
language_boost 10
language_boost_es 1
lexile_score -1
lib_boost_arlington 50
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington 324.973 PIETR
local_callnumber_exact_arlington 324.973 PIETR
local_callnumber_left_arlington 324.973 PIETR
local_days_since_added_arlington 2400
num_holdings 1
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central
physical 533 p., [16] p. of plates : ill. ; 24 cm.
popularity 5
primary_isbn 9780786716227
publishDate 2007
publishDateSort 2007
publisher Carroll & Graf Publishers,
rating 2.5
rating_facet oneStar, twoStar
record_details ils:.b13263213|Book|Books||English|Carroll & Graf Publishers,|2007.|533 p., [16] p. of plates : ill. ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scope_has_related_records a, arlington, c, d, g, h, o, p, s, u, v, w
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b13263213|.i12849042|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||
subject_facet Personality and politics, Presidents -- United States -- Election -- 1920
target_audience Adult
target_audience_full Adult
title 1920 : the year of the six presidents
title_alt Nineteen twenty, the year of the six presidents., Year of the six presidents.
title_display 1920 : the year of the six presidents
title_full 1920 : the year of the six presidents / David Pietrusza
title_short 1920 :
title_sort 1920 the year of the six presidents
title_sub the year of the six presidents