Collective dreams: political imagination & community

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Pennsylvania State University Press,
Pub. Date:
c2005.
Language:
English
Description

How do we go about imagining different and better worlds for ourselves? Collective Dreams looks at ideals of community, frequently embraced as the basis for reform across the political spectrum, as the predominant form of political imagination in America today. Examining how these ideals circulate without having much real impact on social change provides an opportunity to explore the difficulties of practicing critical theory in a capitalist society.

Different chapters investigate how ideals of community intersect with conceptions of self and identity, family, the public sphere and civil society, and the state, situating community at the core of the most contested political and social arenas of our time. Ideals of community also influence how we evaluate, choose, and build the spaces in which we live, as the author’s investigations of Celebration, Florida, and of West Philadelphia show.Following in the tradition of Walter Benjamin, Keally McBride reveals how consumer culture affects our collective experience of community as well as our ability to imagine alternative political and social orders.

Taking ideals of community as a case study, Collective Dreams also explores the structure and function of political imagination to answer the following questions: What do these oppositional ideals reveal about our current political and social experiences? How is the way we imagine alternative communities nonetheless influenced by capitalism, liberalism, and individualism? How can these ideals of community be used more effectively to create social change?

More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780271032405
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 4095cc16-4768-1311-2f28-d235c778e3be
full_title collective dreams political imagination and community
author mcbride keally d
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-08-14 05:04:18AM

Solr Details

_version_ 1575877836243206144
accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author McBride, Keally D.
author-letter McBride, Keally D.
author2 NetLibrary, Inc.
author2-role NetLibrary, Inc.
author_additional Keally D. McBride.
author_display McBride, Keally D
availability_toggle_arlington Available Now, Available Online, Entire Collection
callnumber-a HM756
callnumber-first H - Social Science
callnumber-subject HM - Sociology
days_since_added 4245
detailed_location_arlington EBSCOhost
display_description
econtent_protection_type_arlington external
econtent_source_arlington EBSCOhost
format_arlington eBook
format_boost 10
format_category_arlington eBook
grouping_category book
id 4095cc16-4768-1311-2f28-d235c778e3be
isbn 9780271032405
item_details external_econtent:ils:.b12957318||EBSCOhost|Online|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|EBSCOhost||http://www.netlibrary.com.library.access.arlingtonva.us/urlapi.asp?action=summary&v=1&bookid=172177||Available Online||q||
itype_arlington eCollection
language English
language_boost 10
language_boost_es 1
lexile_score -1
lib_boost_arlington 50
literary_form Other
literary_form_full Other
local_callnumber_arlington Online
local_callnumber_exact_arlington Online
local_callnumber_left_arlington Online
local_days_since_added_arlington 4245
num_holdings 0
oclc (OCoLC)74849753
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library Online, Aurora Hills Online, Central Online, Cherrydale Online, Columbia Pike Online, Connection Crystal City Online, Detention Center Online, Glencarlyn Online, Local History Online, Plaza Online, Shirlington Online, Westover Online
physical 154 p. ; 24 cm.
popularity 0
primary_isbn 9780271032405
publishDate 2005
publishDateSort 2005
publisher Pennsylvania State University Press,
rating 2.5
rating_facet oneStar, twoStar
record_details external_econtent:ils:.b12957318|eBook|eBook||English|Pennsylvania State University Press,|c2005.|154 p. ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scope_has_related_records a, arlington, c, d, g, h, o, p, s, u, v, w
scoping_details_arlington external_econtent:ils:.b12957318||Available Online|Available Online|false|true|false|false|false|true||||
table_of_contents The politics of imagining communities -- A room full of mirrors : community and the promise of identity -- Habits of the hearth : families and politics in theory and practice -- Citizens without states? bringing community into institutions -- Consuming community -- Utopian vision as commodity fetish: social imagineering in postmodern capitalism -- Community in practice.
target_audience Other
target_audience_full Other
title Collective dreams political imagination & community
title_display Collective dreams political imagination & community
title_full Collective dreams [electronic resource] : political imagination & community / Keally D. McBride
title_short Collective dreams
title_sort collective dreams political imagination & community
title_sub political imagination & community