Songs for the butcher's daughter: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Free Press,
Pub. Date:
2008.
Language:
English
Description
Summer, sweltering, 1996. A book warehouse in western Massachusetts. A man at the beginning of his adult life -- and the end of his career rope -- becomes involved with a woman, a language, and a great lie that will define his future. Most auspiciously of all, he runs across Itsik Malpesh, a ninetysomething Russian immigrant who claims to be the last Yiddish poet in America. When a set of accounting ledgers in which Malpesh has written his memoirs surfaces -- twenty-two volumes brimming with adventure, drama, deception, passion, and wit -- the young man is compelled to translate them, telling Malpesh's story as his own life unfolds, and bringing together two paths that coincide in shocking and unexpected ways.

Moving from revolutionary Russia to New York's Depression-era Lower East Side to millennium's-end Baltimore with drama, adventure, and boisterous, feisty charm to spare, the unpeeling of this friendship is a story of the entire twentieth century. For fans of Nicole Krauss, Nathan Englander, Richard Powers, Amy Bloom, and Lore Segal, this book will amaze at every turn: narrated by two poets (one who doesn't know he is and one who doesn't know he isn't), it is a wise and warm look at the constant surprises and ineluctable ravages of time. It's a book about religion, love, and typesetting -- how one passion can be used to goad and thwart the other -- and most of all, about how faith in the power of words can survive even the death of a language.

A novel of faith lost and hope found in translation, Songs for the Butcher's Daughter is at once an immigrant's epic saga, a love story for the ages, a Yiddish-inflected laughing-through-tears tour of world history for Jews and Gentiles alike, and a testament to Manseau's ambitious genius.

More Details
ISBN:
9781416538707
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 41771e35-8c22-4742-9e53-96c248c23b3c
full_title songs for the butcher s daughter
author manseau peter
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-08-14 05:04:35AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Manseau, Peter.
author_display Manseau, Peter
available_at_arlington Central
collection_arlington Adult Fiction
detailed_location_arlington Central Adult Fiction
display_description
format_arlington Book
format_category_arlington Books
id 41771e35-8c22-4742-9e53-96c248c23b3c
isbn 9781416538707
item_details ils:.b13088580|.i13649875|Central Adult Fiction|F MANSE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Dec 11, 2015|caf||
itype_arlington Hardback
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington F MANSE
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central
primary_isbn 9781416538707
publishDate 2008
record_details ils:.b13088580|Book|Books||English|Free Press,|2008.|370 p. ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b13088580|.i13649875|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||
subject_facet Jews -- United States -- Fiction, Jews, Russian -- United States -- Fiction, Poets, Yiddish -- Fiction, Translators -- Fiction
title_display Songs for the butcher's daughter : a novel
title_full Songs for the butcher's daughter : a novel / Peter Manseau
title_short Songs for the butcher's daughter :
title_sub a novel