Songs for the butcher's daughter: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Free Press,
Pub. Date:
2008.
Language:
English
Description
Summer, sweltering, 1996. A book warehouse in western Massachusetts. A man at the beginning of his adult life -- and the end of his career rope -- becomes involved with a woman, a language, and a great lie that will define his future. Most auspiciously of all, he runs across Itsik Malpesh, a ninetysomething Russian immigrant who claims to be the last Yiddish poet in America. When a set of accounting ledgers in which Malpesh has written his memoirs surfaces -- twenty-two volumes brimming with adventure, drama, deception, passion, and wit -- the young man is compelled to translate them, telling Malpesh's story as his own life unfolds, and bringing together two paths that coincide in shocking and unexpected ways.

Moving from revolutionary Russia to New York's Depression-era Lower East Side to millennium's-end Baltimore with drama, adventure, and boisterous, feisty charm to spare, the unpeeling of this friendship is a story of the entire twentieth century. For fans of Nicole Krauss, Nathan Englander, Richard Powers, Amy Bloom, and Lore Segal, this book will amaze at every turn: narrated by two poets (one who doesn't know he is and one who doesn't know he isn't), it is a wise and warm look at the constant surprises and ineluctable ravages of time. It's a book about religion, love, and typesetting -- how one passion can be used to goad and thwart the other -- and most of all, about how faith in the power of words can survive even the death of a language.

A novel of faith lost and hope found in translation, Songs for the Butcher's Daughter is at once an immigrant's epic saga, a love story for the ages, a Yiddish-inflected laughing-through-tears tour of world history for Jews and Gentiles alike, and a testament to Manseau's ambitious genius.

More Details
ISBN:
9781416538707
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 41771e35-8c22-4742-9e53-96c248c23b3c
full_title songs for the butcher s daughter
author manseau peter
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-07-08 16:41:10PM

Solr Details

_version_ 1573859745792524288
accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Manseau, Peter.
author-letter Manseau, Peter.
author_additional Peter Manseau.
author_display Manseau, Peter
availability_toggle_arlington Available Now, Entire Collection
available_at_arlington Central
callnumber-a PS3613.A574
callnumber-first P - Language and Literature
callnumber-subject PS - American Literature
callnumber_sort_arlington F MANSE
collection_arlington Adult Fiction
date_added 2011-01-26T05:00:00Z
days_since_added 2371
detailed_location_arlington Central Adult Fiction
display_description
format_arlington Book
format_boost 10
format_category_arlington Books
grouping_category book
id 41771e35-8c22-4742-9e53-96c248c23b3c
isbn 9781416538707
item_details ils:.b13088580|.i13649875|Central Adult Fiction|F MANSE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Dec 11, 2015|caf||
itype_arlington Hardback
language English
language_boost 10
language_boost_es 1
lexile_code
lexile_score -1
lib_boost_arlington 50
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington F MANSE
local_callnumber_exact_arlington F MANSE
local_callnumber_left_arlington F MANSE
local_days_since_added_arlington 2371
num_holdings 1
oclc (OCoLC)180755942
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central
physical 370 p. ; 24 cm.
popularity 4
primary_isbn 9781416538707
publishDate 2008
publishDateSort 2008
publisher Free Press,
rating 2.5
rating_facet oneStar, twoStar
record_details ils:.b13088580|Book|Books||English|Free Press,|2008.|370 p. ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scope_has_related_records a, arlington, c, d, g, h, o, p, s, u, v, w
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b13088580|.i13649875|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||
subject_facet Jews -- United States -- Fiction, Jews, Russian -- United States -- Fiction, Poets, Yiddish -- Fiction, Translators -- Fiction
target_audience Adult
target_audience_full Adult
title Songs for the butcher's daughter : a novel
title_display Songs for the butcher's daughter : a novel
title_full Songs for the butcher's daughter : a novel / Peter Manseau
title_short Songs for the butcher's daughter :
title_sort songs for the butcher's daughter a novel
title_sub a novel