Everything else in the universe

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
G.P. Putnam's Sons Books,
Pub. Date:
2018.
Language:
English
Description
In the midst of the Vietnam War, a young girl struggles to embrace change in this tender family story for fans of Cynthia Lord and Wendy MaasLucy is a practical, orderly person--just like her dad. He taught her to appreciate reason and good sense, instilling in her the same values he learned at medical school. But when he's sent to Vietnam to serve as an Army doctor, Lucy and her mother are forced to move to San Jose, California, to be near their relatives--the Rossis--people known for their superstitions and all around quirky ways.      Lucy can't wait for life to go back to normal, so she's over the moon when she learns her father is coming home early. It doesn't even matter that he's coming back "different." That she can't ask too many questions or use the word "amputation." It just matters that he'll be home. But Lucy quickly realizes there's something very wrong when her mother sends her to spend the summer with the Rossis to give her father some space. Lucy's beside herself, but what's a twelve-year-old to do?      It's a curious boy named Milo, a mysterious packet of photographs and an eye-opening mission that makes Lucy see there's more to life than schedules and plans, and helps to heal her broken family. The latest from critically-acclaimed author Tracy Holczer is a pitch-perfect middle grade tale of family and friendship that's sure to delight fans of One for the Murphys and Rules.
More Details
ISBN:
9780399163944
Accelerated Reader:
MG
Level 5.5, 9 Points
Lexile measure:
860L
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID4ea43e23-3956-9193-4094-b1e6822bba05
Grouping Titleeverything else in the universe
Grouping Authorholczer tracy
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-07-02 04:48:56AM
Last Indexed2019-10-22 04:47:05AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelMG
accelerated_reader_point_value9
accelerated_reader_reading_level5.5
authorHolczer, Tracy,
author_displayHolczer, Tracy
available_at_arlingtonCentral
Cherrydale
collection_arlingtonKids Fiction
detailed_location_arlingtonCentral Kids Fiction
Cherrydale Kids Fiction
display_descriptionIn 1971, twelve-year-old Lucy Rossi's dad returns from Vietnam after losing part of his arm, and her whole family must learn to adjust to a new dynamic, but Lucy's friend Milo unknowingly helps her navigate through this difficult time of fear and uncertainty to realize she is much tougher than she thought.
format_arlingtonBook
format_category_arlingtonBooks
id4ea43e23-3956-9193-4094-b1e6822bba05
isbn9780399163944
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b20373892.i21913407Central Kids FictionJF HOLCZ1falsefalseOn ShelfFeb 24, 2019cjf
ils:.b20373892.i21913419Cherrydale Kids FictionJF HOLCZ1falsefalseOn ShelfOct 06, 2018hjf
itype_arlingtonHardback
last_indexed2019-10-22T08:47:05.325Z
lexile_score860
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_arlingtonJF HOLCZ
owning_library_arlingtonArlington Public Library
Aurora Hills
Central
Cherrydale
Columbia Pike
Connection Crystal City
Detention Center
Glencarlyn
Local History
Plaza
Shirlington
Westover
owning_location_arlingtonCentral
Cherrydale
primary_isbn9780399163944
publishDate2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b20373892BookBooksEnglishG.P. Putnam's Sons Books, 2018.258 pages ; 22.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b20373892.i21913407On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b20373892.i21913419On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
subject_facetAmputees -- Juvenile fiction
Families -- Juvenile fiction
Friendship -- Juvenile fiction
Italian Americans -- Juvenile fiction
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- United States -- Juvenile fiction
title_displayEverything else in the universe
title_fullEverything else in the universe / Tracy Holczer
title_shortEverything else in the universe