Everything else in the universe

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
G.P. Putnam's Sons Books,
Pub. Date:
2018.
Language:
English
Description
In the midst of the Vietnam War, a young girl struggles to embrace change in this tender family story for fans of Cynthia Lord and Wendy MaasLucy is a practical, orderly person--just like her dad. He taught her to appreciate reason and good sense, instilling in her the same values he learned at medical school. But when he's sent to Vietnam to serve as an Army doctor, Lucy and her mother are forced to move to San Jose, California, to be near their relatives--the Rossis--people known for their superstitions and all around quirky ways.      Lucy can't wait for life to go back to normal, so she's over the moon when she learns her father is coming home early. It doesn't even matter that he's coming back "different." That she can't ask too many questions or use the word "amputation." It just matters that he'll be home. But Lucy quickly realizes there's something very wrong when her mother sends her to spend the summer with the Rossis to give her father some space. Lucy's beside herself, but what's a twelve-year-old to do?      It's a curious boy named Milo, a mysterious packet of photographs and an eye-opening mission that makes Lucy see there's more to life than schedules and plans, and helps to heal her broken family. The latest from critically-acclaimed author Tracy Holczer is a pitch-perfect middle grade tale of family and friendship that's sure to delight fans of One for the Murphys and Rules.
More Details
ISBN:
9780399163944
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 4ea43e23-3956-9193-4094-b1e6822bba05
Grouping Title everything else in the universe
Grouping Author holczer tracy
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-10-07 04:38:40AM
Last Indexed 2018-10-19 04:51:35AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Holczer, Tracy,
author_display Holczer, Tracy
available_at_arlington Central, Cherrydale
collection_arlington Kids Fiction
detailed_location_arlington Central Kids Fiction, Cherrydale Kids Fiction
display_description In 1971, twelve-year-old Lucy Rossi's dad returns from Vietnam after losing part of his arm, and her whole family must learn to adjust to a new dynamic, but Lucy's friend Milo unknowingly helps her navigate through this difficult time of fear and uncertainty to realize she is much tougher than she thought.
format_arlington Book
format_category_arlington Books
id 4ea43e23-3956-9193-4094-b1e6822bba05
isbn 9780399163944
item_details ils:.b20373892|.i21913407|Central Kids Fiction|JF HOLCZ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Sep 23, 2018|cjf||, ils:.b20373892|.i21913419|Cherrydale Kids Fiction|JF HOLCZ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Oct 06, 2018|hjf||
itype_arlington Hardback
last_indexed 2018-10-19T08:51:35.822Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington JF HOLCZ
local_time_since_added_arlington Six Months, Year
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central, Cherrydale
primary_isbn 9780399163944
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:.b20373892|Book|Books||English|G.P. Putnam's Sons Books,|2018.|258 pages ; 22.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b20373892 .i21913407 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 9999
ils:.b20373892 .i21913419 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 9999
subject_facet Amputees -- Juvenile fiction, Families -- Juvenile fiction, Friendship -- Juvenile fiction, Italian Americans -- Juvenile fiction, Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- United States -- Juvenile fiction
title_display Everything else in the universe
title_full Everything else in the universe / Tracy Holczer
title_short Everything else in the universe