The summer country: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,
Pub. Date:
[2019]
Language:
English
Description

"Tense, atmospheric, and gorgeously written, The Summer Country is a novel to savor!" – Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Huntress and The Alice Network

A brilliant, multigenerational saga in the tradition of The Thorn Birds and North and South, New York Times bestselling historical novelist Lauren Willig delivers her biggest, boldest, and most ambitious novel yet—a sweeping Victorian epic of lost love, lies, jealousy, and rebellion set in colonial Barbados.

Barbados, 1854: Emily Dawson has always been the poor cousin in a prosperous English merchant clan-- merely a vicar’s daughter, and a reform-minded vicar’s daughter, at that. Everyone knows that the family’s lucrative shipping business will go to her cousin, Adam, one day.  But when her grandfather dies, Emily receives an unexpected inheritance: Peverills, a sugar plantation in Barbados—a plantation her grandfather never told anyone he owned. 

When Emily accompanies her cousin and his new wife to Barbados, she finds Peverills a burnt-out shell, reduced to ruins in 1816, when a rising of enslaved people sent the island up in flames. Rumors swirl around the derelict plantation; people whisper of ghosts.

Why would her practical-minded grandfather leave her a property in ruins?  Why are the neighboring plantation owners, the Davenants, so eager to acquire Peverills? The answer lies in the past— a tangled history of lies, greed, clandestine love, heartbreaking betrayal, and a bold bid for freedom.

THE SUMMER COUNTRY will beguile readers with its rendering of families, heartbreak, and the endurance of hope against all odds. 

 

More Details
ISBN:
9780062839039
9780062839022
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 64053391-47e5-1338-85f0-d7f221a33122
Grouping Title summer country
Grouping Author willig lauren
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-06-27 04:48:41AM
Last Indexed 2019-06-27 04:52:04AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Willig, Lauren,
author_display Willig, Lauren
collection_arlington New Fiction
detailed_location_arlington Central New Fiction, Glencarlyn New Fiction, Westover New Fiction
display_description "Barbados, 1854: Emily Dawson has always been the poor cousin in a prosperous English merchant clan -- merely a vicar's daughter, and a reform-minded vicar's daughter, at that. Everyone knows that the family's lucrative shipping business will go to her cousin, Adam, one day. But when her grandfather dies, Emily receives an unexpected inheritance: Peverills, a sugar plantation in Barbados, a plantation her grandfather never told anyone he owned. When Emily accompanies her cousin and his new wife to Barbados, she finds Peverills a burnt-out shell, reduced to ruins in 1816, when a rising of enslaved people sent the island up in flames. Rumors swirl around the derelict plantation; people whisper of ghosts. Why would her practical-minded grandfather leave her a property in ruins? Why are the neighboring plantation owners, the Davenants, so eager to acquire Peverills? The answer lies in the past, a tangled history of lies, greed, clandestine love, heartbreaking betrayal, and a bold bid for freedom."--Provided by publisher.
format_arlington Book
format_category_arlington Books
id 64053391-47e5-1338-85f0-d7f221a33122
isbn 9780062839022, 9780062839039
item_details ils:.b20658060|.i22550987|Westover New Fiction|F WILLI|||1|false|false|||||On Holdshelf||wafn||, ils:.b20658060|.i22550999|Central New Fiction|F WILLI|||1|false|false|||||On Holdshelf||cafn||, ils:.b20658060|.i22551001|Central New Fiction|F WILLI|||1|false|false|||||Due Jul 15, 2019||cafn||, ils:.b20658060|.i22551013|Westover New Fiction|F WILLI|||1|false|false|||||On Holdshelf||wafn||, ils:.b20658060|.i22551025|Glencarlyn New Fiction|F WILLI|||1|false|false|||||Due Jul 15, 2019||gafn||
itype_arlington Hardback
last_indexed 2019-06-27T08:52:04.337Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington F WILLI
local_time_since_added_arlington 2 Months, Month, Quarter, Six Months, Year
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central, Glencarlyn, Westover
primary_isbn 9780062839039
publishDate 2019
record_details ils:.b20658060|Book|Books|First edition.|English|William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,|[2019]|464 pages ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b20658060 .i22550987 Checked Out On Holdshelf false false true false false true 9999
ils:.b20658060 .i22550999 Checked Out On Holdshelf false false true false false true 9999
ils:.b20658060 .i22551013 Checked Out On Holdshelf false false true false false true 9999
ils:.b20658060 .i22551025 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true 9999
ils:.b20658060 .i22551001 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true 9999
subject_facet Barbados -- History -- 19th century -- Fiction, Family secrets -- Fiction, Haunted places -- Fiction, Inheritance and succession -- Fiction, Sugar plantations -- Fiction
title_display The summer country : a novel
title_full The summer country : a novel / Lauren Willig
title_short The summer country :
title_sub a novel