Abigail and John: portrait of a marriage

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
William Morrow,
Pub. Date:
2009.
Language:
English
Description

“Fascinating...Gelles has provided a balanced portrait, and her mastery of the period’s issues and history is evident on every page. Her treatment of the family... [is] written with understanding and sensitivity... But it is her strength as a feminist historian that makes her treatment of Abigail the most gripping... masterful and captivating.”— Washington Times

“A landmark... Well-organized and expertly composed, the book is an impressive addition to the nation’s written history.”— Oklahoma City Oklahoman

Readers who enjoyed Doris Kearns Goodwin’s No Ordinary Time, Cokie Roberts’sFounding Mothers, and David McCullough’s John Adams will love “this eminently readable… charming and sensitive, yet candid and unflinching joint biography” (Daniel Walker Howe, Pulitzer Prize-winning author ofWhat Hath God Wrought: The Transformation of America, 1815-1848) of America’s original “power couple”: Abigail and John Adams.

More Details
ISBN:
9780061353871
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 68bca450-52de-18c9-aa35-0a202b905c24
full_title abigail and john portrait of a marriage
author gelles edith belle
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-08-14 05:04:22AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Gelles, Edith Belle.
author_display Gelles, Edith Belle
available_at_arlington Central, Columbia Pike
collection_arlington Biographies
detailed_location_arlington Central Biographies, Columbia Pike Biographies
display_description
format_arlington Book
format_category_arlington Books
id 68bca450-52de-18c9-aa35-0a202b905c24
isbn 9780061353871
item_details ils:.b12990838|.i13873957|Central Biographies|B ADAMS FAMILY|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Sep 07, 2016|canb||, ils:.b12990838|.i13873969|Columbia Pike Biographies|B ADAMS FAMILY|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Mar 17, 2016|oanb||
itype_arlington Hardback
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington B ADAMS FAMILY
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central, Columbia Pike
primary_isbn 9780061353871
publishDate 2009
record_details ils:.b12990838|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|William Morrow,|2009.|xi, 339 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b12990838|.i13873957|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b12990838|.i13873969|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||
subject_facet Adams family, Adams, Abigail, -- 1744-1818, Adams, John, -- 1735-1826, Married people -- Massachusetts -- Biography, Presidents -- United States -- Biography, Presidents' spouses -- United States -- Biography
title_display Abigail and John : portrait of a marriage
title_full Abigail and John : portrait of a marriage / Edith B. Gelles
title_short Abigail and John :
title_sub portrait of a marriage