Abigail and John: portrait of a marriage

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
William Morrow,
Pub. Date:
2009.
Language:
English
Description

“Fascinating...Gelles has provided a balanced portrait, and her mastery of the period’s issues and history is evident on every page. Her treatment of the family... [is] written with understanding and sensitivity... But it is her strength as a feminist historian that makes her treatment of Abigail the most gripping... masterful and captivating.”— Washington Times

“A landmark... Well-organized and expertly composed, the book is an impressive addition to the nation’s written history.”— Oklahoma City Oklahoman

Readers who enjoyed Doris Kearns Goodwin’s No Ordinary Time, Cokie Roberts’sFounding Mothers, and David McCullough’s John Adams will love “this eminently readable… charming and sensitive, yet candid and unflinching joint biography” (Daniel Walker Howe, Pulitzer Prize-winning author ofWhat Hath God Wrought: The Transformation of America, 1815-1848) of America’s original “power couple”: Abigail and John Adams.

More Details
ISBN:
9780061353871
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 68bca450-52de-18c9-aa35-0a202b905c24
full_title abigail and john portrait of a marriage
author gelles edith belle
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-08-14 05:04:22AM

Solr Details

_version_ 1576153919729434624
accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Gelles, Edith Belle.
author-letter Gelles, Edith Belle.
author_additional Edith B. Gelles.
author_display Gelles, Edith Belle
availability_toggle_arlington Available Now, Entire Collection
available_at_arlington Central, Columbia Pike
callnumber_sort_arlington B ADAMS FAMILY
collection_arlington Biographies
date_added 2011-01-26T05:00:00Z
days_since_added 2397
detailed_location_arlington Central Biographies, Columbia Pike Biographies
display_description
edition 1st ed.
format_arlington Book
format_boost 10
format_category_arlington Books
grouping_category book
id 68bca450-52de-18c9-aa35-0a202b905c24
isbn 9780061353871
item_details ils:.b12990838|.i13873957|Central Biographies|B ADAMS FAMILY|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Sep 07, 2016|canb||, ils:.b12990838|.i13873969|Columbia Pike Biographies|B ADAMS FAMILY|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Mar 17, 2016|oanb||
itype_arlington Hardback
language English
language_boost 10
language_boost_es 1
lexile_score -1
lib_boost_arlington 50
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington B ADAMS FAMILY
local_callnumber_exact_arlington B ADAMS FAMILY
local_callnumber_left_arlington B ADAMS FAMILY
local_days_since_added_arlington 2397
num_holdings 2
oclc (OCoLC)232977704
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central, Columbia Pike
physical xi, 339 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
popularity 6
primary_isbn 9780061353871
publishDate 2009
publishDateSort 2009
publisher William Morrow,
rating 2.5
rating_facet oneStar, twoStar
record_details ils:.b12990838|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|William Morrow,|2009.|xi, 339 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scope_has_related_records a, arlington, c, d, g, h, o, p, s, u, v, w
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b12990838|.i13873957|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b12990838|.i13873969|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||
subject_facet Adams family, Adams, Abigail, -- 1744-1818, Adams, John, -- 1735-1826, Married people -- Massachusetts -- Biography, Presidents -- United States -- Biography, Presidents' spouses -- United States -- Biography
table_of_contents The steel and the magnet -- A tye more binding -- Separation and the new covenant -- A new code of laws -- War and the way of duty -- Republican father -- Diplomacy at home and abroad -- In the midst of the world in solitude -- At the court of St. James's -- Looking homeward -- The most insignificant office -- Splendid misery -- The Adamses retire -- Time and silence.
target_audience Adult
target_audience_full Adult
title Abigail and John : portrait of a marriage
title_display Abigail and John : portrait of a marriage
title_full Abigail and John : portrait of a marriage / Edith B. Gelles
title_short Abigail and John :
title_sort abigail and john portrait of a marriage
title_sub portrait of a marriage