Famous men who never lived

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Tin House Books,
Pub. Date:
2018.
Language:
English
Description
For readers of Station Eleven and Exit West, Famous Men Who Never Lived explores the effects of displacement on our identities, the communities that come together through circumstance, and the power of art to save us.
More Details
ISBN:
9781947793248
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID70259308-2a97-666e-2ec4-4843d364e3dd
Grouping Titlefamous men who never lived
Grouping Authorchess k
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-10-13 04:47:28AM
Last Indexed2019-10-14 04:47:57AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorChess, K,
author_displayChess, K
available_at_arlingtonGlencarlyn
collection_arlingtonNew Science Fiction
detailed_location_arlingtonGlencarlyn New Science Fiction
display_description"Wherever Hel looks, New York City is both reassuringly familiar and terribly wrong. As one of the thousands who fled the outbreak of nuclear war in an alternate United States--and alternate timeline, somewhere across the multiverse--she finds herself living as a refugee in our own not-so-parallel New York. The slang and technology are foreign to her, the politics and art unrecognizable. While others, like her partner Vikram, attempt to assimilate, Hel refuses to reclaim her former career or create a new life. Instead, she obsessively rereads Vikram's copy of The Pyronauts--a science fiction masterwork in her world that now only exists as a single flimsy paperback--and becomes determined to create a museum dedicated to preserving the remaining artifacts and memories of her vanished culture. But the refugees are unwelcome and Hel's efforts are met with either indifference or hostility. And when the only copy of The Pyronauts goes missing, Hel must decide how far she is willing to go to recover it and finally face her own anger, guilt, and grief over what she has truly lost."--
format_arlingtonBook
format_category_arlingtonBooks
id70259308-2a97-666e-2ec4-4843d364e3dd
isbn9781947793248
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b20621644.i22349261Glencarlyn New Science FictionSF CHESS1falsefalseOn ShelfOct 11, 2019gafsn
itype_arlingtonHardback
last_indexed2019-10-14T08:47:57.999Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_arlingtonSF CHESS
local_time_since_added_arlingtonYear
owning_library_arlingtonArlington Public Library
Aurora Hills
Central
Cherrydale
Columbia Pike
Connection Crystal City
Detention Center
Glencarlyn
Local History
Plaza
Shirlington
Westover
owning_location_arlingtonGlencarlyn
primary_isbn9781947793248
publishDate2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b20621644BookBooksFirst U.S. edition.EnglishTin House Books, 2018.318 pages ; 23 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b20621644.i22349261On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
subject_facetIdentity (Psychology) -- Fiction
New York (N.Y.) -- Fiction
Nuclear warfare -- Fiction
title_displayFamous men who never lived
title_fullFamous men who never lived / K Chess
title_shortFamous men who never lived