Famous men who never lived

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Tin House Books,
Pub. Date:
2018.
Language:
English
Description
For readers of Station Eleven and Exit West, Famous Men Who Never Lived explores the effects of displacement on our identities, the communities that come together through circumstance, and the power of art to save us.
More Details
ISBN:
9781947793248
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 70259308-2a97-666e-2ec4-4843d364e3dd
Grouping Title famous men who never lived
Grouping Author chess k
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-07-04 04:48:40AM
Last Indexed 2019-07-15 04:42:10AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Chess, K,
author_display Chess, K
collection_arlington New Science Fiction
detailed_location_arlington Westover New Science Fiction
display_description "Wherever Hel looks, New York City is both reassuringly familiar and terribly wrong. As one of the thousands who fled the outbreak of nuclear war in an alternate United States--and alternate timeline, somewhere across the multiverse--she finds herself living as a refugee in our own not-so-parallel New York. The slang and technology are foreign to her, the politics and art unrecognizable. While others, like her partner Vikram, attempt to assimilate, Hel refuses to reclaim her former career or create a new life. Instead, she obsessively rereads Vikram's copy of The Pyronauts--a science fiction masterwork in her world that now only exists as a single flimsy paperback--and becomes determined to create a museum dedicated to preserving the remaining artifacts and memories of her vanished culture. But the refugees are unwelcome and Hel's efforts are met with either indifference or hostility. And when the only copy of The Pyronauts goes missing, Hel must decide how far she is willing to go to recover it and finally face her own anger, guilt, and grief over what she has truly lost."--
format_arlington Book
format_category_arlington Books
id 70259308-2a97-666e-2ec4-4843d364e3dd
isbn 9781947793248
item_details ils:.b20621644|.i22349261|Westover New Science Fiction|SF CHESS|||1|false|false|||||Due Jul 24, 2019|Jun 26, 2019|wafsn||
itype_arlington Hardback
last_indexed 2019-07-15T08:42:10.505Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington SF CHESS
local_time_since_added_arlington Six Months, Year
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Westover
primary_isbn 9781947793248
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:.b20621644|Book|Books|First U.S. edition.|English|Tin House Books,|2018.|318 pages ; 23 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b20621644 .i22349261 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true 9999
subject_facet Identity (Psychology) -- Fiction, New York (N.Y.) -- Fiction, Nuclear warfare -- Fiction
title_display Famous men who never lived
title_full Famous men who never lived / K Chess
title_short Famous men who never lived