The last day: wrath, ruin, and reason in the great Lisbon earthquake of 1755

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
A riveting history of how the cataclysmic Lisbon earthquake shook the religious and intellectual foundations of Enlightenment Europe.Along with the volcanic destruction of Pompeii and the 1906 San Francisco earthquake, the Lisbon quake of 1755 is one of the most destructive natural disasters ever recorded. After being jolted by a massive quake, Lisbon was then pounded by a succession of tidal waves and finally reduced to ash by a fire that raged for five straight days. In The Last Day, Nicholas Shrady provides not only a vivid account of this horrific disaster but also a stimulating survey of the many shock waves it sent throughout Western civilization. When news of the quake spread, it inspired both a lurid fascination in the popular imagination of Europe and an intellectual debate about the natural world and God's place in human affairs. Voltaire, Alexander Pope, Immanuel Kant, and Jean-Jacques Rousseau, among other eminent figures, took up the disaster as a sort of cause célèbre and a vehicle to express Enlightenment ideas. More practically, the Lisbon quake led to the first concerted effort at disaster control, modern urban planning, and the birth of seismology. The Last Day is popular history writing at its best and will appeal to readers of Simon Winchester's Krakatoa and A Crack in the Edge of the World.
More Details
ISBN:
9780670018512
9781400106400
9781400136407
9781400126408
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID73e1b9d5-c387-ade0-899a-6317ce8fe828
Grouping Titlelast day wrath ruin and reason in the great lisbon earthquake of 1755
Grouping Authorshrady nicholas
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-10-20 04:47:07AM
Last Indexed2019-10-20 04:50:47AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Lawlor, Patrick G.
authorShrady, Nicholas.
author2-roleLawlor, Patrick G.
Tantor Media.
author_displayShrady, Nicholas
available_at_arlingtonAurora Hills
collection_arlingtonAdult Nonfiction
Audiovisual
detailed_location_arlingtonAurora Hills Adult Nonfiction
Aurora Hills Audiovisual
display_description

A riveting history of how the cataclysmic Lisbon earthquake shook the religious and intellectual foundations of Enlightenment Europe.

Along with the volcanic destruction of Pompeii and the 1906 San Francisco earthquake, the Lisbon quake of 1755 is one of the most destructive natural disasters ever recorded. After being jolted by a massive quake, Lisbon was then pounded by a succession of tidal waves and finally reduced to ash by a fire that raged for five straight days.

In The Last Day, Nicholas Shrady provides not only a vivid account of this horrific disaster but also a stimulating survey of the many shock waves it sent throughout Western civilization. When news of the quake spread, it inspired both a lurid fascination in the popular imagination of Europe and an intellectual debate about the natural world and God’s place in human affairs. Voltaire, Alexander Pope, Immanuel Kant, and Jean-Jacques Rousseau, among other eminent figures, took up the disaster as a sort of cause célèbre and a vehicle to express Enlightenment ideas. More practically, the Lisbon quake led to the first concerted effort at disaster control, modern urban planning, and the birth of seismology. The Last Day is popular history writing at its best and will appeal to readers of Simon Winchester’s Krakatoa and A Crack in the Edge of the World.

format_arlingtonAudiobook on CD
Book
eAudiobook
format_category_arlingtonAudio Books
Books
eBook
id73e1b9d5-c387-ade0-899a-6317ce8fe828
isbn9780670018512
9781400106400
9781400126408
9781400136407
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:0ad12106-242e-48b4-a178-545841a65673-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
ils:.b12999660.i13387340Aurora Hills Adult Nonfiction946.9 SHRAD1falsefalseOn ShelfOct 10, 2019aan
ils:.b18843256.i20458939Aurora Hills AudiovisualCD 946.9 SHRAD1falsefalseOn ShelfSep 19, 2019aanab
itype_arlingtonAudiobook on CD
Hardback
last_indexed2019-10-20T08:50:47.321Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington946.9 SHRAD
CD 946.9 SHRAD
Online OverDrive
owning_library_arlingtonArlington Public Library
Aurora Hills
Central
Cherrydale
Columbia Pike
Connection Crystal City
Detention Center
Glencarlyn
Local History
Plaza
Shirlington
Westover
owning_location_arlingtonAurora Hills
primary_isbn9780670018512
publishDate2008
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:0ad12106-242e-48b4-a178-545841a65673eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishTantor Media, Inc.
ils:.b12999660BookBooksEnglishViking, 2008.228 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations ; 24 cm.
ils:.b18843256Audiobook on CDAudio BooksEnglishTantor Audio, [2008]6 audio discs (7 hr.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:0ad12106-242e-48b4-a178-545841a65673-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b12999660.i13387340On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b18843256.i20458939On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
subject_facetLisbon Earthquake, Portugal, 1755
title_displayThe last day : wrath, ruin, and reason in the great Lisbon earthquake of 1755
title_fullThe Last Day Wrath, Ruin, and Reason in the Great Lisbon Earthquake of 1755
The last day : wrath, ruin, and reason in the great Lisbon Earthquake of 1755 / Nicholas Shrady
The last day : wrath, ruin, and reason in the great Lisbon earthquake of 1755 / Nicholas Shrady
title_shortThe last day
title_subwrath, ruin, and reason in the great Lisbon earthquake of 1755
topic_facetHistory
Nonfiction