The last day: wrath, ruin, and reason in the great Lisbon Earthquake of 1755

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
The Last Day is a riveting history of how the cataclysmic Lisbon earthquake shook the religious and intellectual foundations of Enlightenment Europe. This is popular history writing at its best and will appeal to readers of Simon Winchester's Krakatoa and A Crack in the Edge of the World.
More Details
ISBN:
9780670018512
9781400106400
9781400126408
9781400136407
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 73e1b9d5-c387-ade0-899a-6317ce8fe828
full_title last day wrath ruin and reason in the great lisbon earthquake of 1755
author shrady nicholas
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-10-22 04:43:15AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Lawlor, Patrick G.
author Nicholas Shrady
author2-role Lawlor, Patrick G., Lawlor, Patrick G.|Narrator, Tantor Media., hoopla digital.
author_display Shrady, Nicholas
available_at_arlington Central
collection_arlington Adult Nonfiction, Audiovisual
detailed_location_arlington Central Adult Nonfiction, Central Audiovisual, hoopla
display_description

A riveting history of how the cataclysmic Lisbon earthquake shook the religious and intellectual foundations of Enlightenment Europe.

Along with the volcanic destruction of Pompeii and the 1906 San Francisco earthquake, the Lisbon quake of 1755 is one of the most destructive natural disasters ever recorded. After being jolted by a massive quake, Lisbon was then pounded by a succession of tidal waves and finally reduced to ash by a fire that raged for five straight days.

In The Last Day, Nicholas Shrady provides not only a vivid account of this horrific disaster but also a stimulating survey of the many shock waves it sent throughout Western civilization. When news of the quake spread, it inspired both a lurid fascination in the popular imagination of Europe and an intellectual debate about the natural world and God’s place in human affairs. Voltaire, Alexander Pope, Immanuel Kant, and Jean-Jacques Rousseau, among other eminent figures, took up the disaster as a sort of cause célèbre and a vehicle to express Enlightenment ideas. More practically, the Lisbon quake led to the first concerted effort at disaster control, modern urban planning, and the birth of seismology. The Last Day is popular history writing at its best and will appeal to readers of Simon Winchester’s Krakatoa and A Crack in the Edge of the World.

format_arlington Audiobook on CD, Book, eAudio, eAudiobook
format_category_arlington Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 73e1b9d5-c387-ade0-899a-6317ce8fe828
isbn 9780670018512, 9781400106400, 9781400126408, 9781400136407
item_details external_econtent:ils:.b14934231||hoopla|Online|eAudio|Audio Books|1|false|true|hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/10755846||Available Online||qanea||, ils:.b12999660|.i13387340|Central Adult Nonfiction|946.9 SHRAD|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Jul 03, 2017|can||, ils:.b18843256|.i20458939|Central Audiovisual|CD 946.9 SHRAD|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Oct 03, 2017|canab||, overdrive:0ad12106-242e-48b4-a178-545841a65673|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||
itype_arlington , Audiobook on CD, Hardback, eCollection
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington 946.9 SHRAD, CD 946.9 SHRAD, Online, Online OverDrive
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Arlington Public Library Online, Aurora Hills, Aurora Hills Online, Central, Central Online, Cherrydale, Cherrydale Online, Columbia Pike, Columbia Pike Online, Connection Crystal City, Connection Crystal City Online, Detention Center, Detention Center Online, Glencarlyn, Glencarlyn Online, Local History, Local History Online, Plaza, Plaza Online, Shirlington, Shirlington Online, Westover, Westover Online
owning_location_arlington Central
primary_isbn 9780670018512
publishDate 2008
record_details external_econtent:ils:.b14934231|eAudio|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English||2008|1 online resource (1 audio file (420 min.)) : digital., ils:.b12999660|Book|Books||English|Viking,|2008.|228 p., [16] p. of plates : ill. ; 24 cm., ils:.b18843256|Audiobook on CD|Audio Books||English|Tantor Audio,|p2008.|6 sound discs (7 hr.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in., overdrive:0ad12106-242e-48b4-a178-545841a65673|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Tantor Media||
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington external_econtent:ils:.b14934231||Available Online|Available Online|false|true|false|false|false|true||||, ils:.b12999660|.i13387340|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b18843256|.i20458939|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||, overdrive:0ad12106-242e-48b4-a178-545841a65673|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Lisbon Earthquake, Portugal, 1755
title_display The last day : wrath, ruin, and reason in the great Lisbon earthquake of 1755
title_full The Last Day Wrath, Ruin, and Reason in the Great Lisbon Earthquake of 1755, The last day : wrath, ruin, and reason in the great Lisbon earthquake of 1755 / Nicholas Shrady, The last day [electronic resource] : wrath, ruin, and reason in the great Lisbon Earthquake of 1755 / Nicholas Shrady, The last day [sound recording] : wrath, ruin, and reason in the great Lisbon Earthquake of 1755 / Nicholas Shrady
title_short The last day :
title_sub wrath, ruin, and reason in the great Lisbon Earthquake of 1755
topic_facet History, Nonfiction