Haunting Bombay

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Soho Press, Inc.,
Pub. Date:
2009.
Language:
English
Description
"[An] intriguing debut novel...Agarwal seeks to give voice to the dispossessed through the supernatural."—USA Today "[Shilpa] Agarwal's work will definitely appeal to fans of Monica Ali and Jhumpa Lahiri by virtue of its characters and setting, but it retains a fresh, original feel that will draw in new readers with its own literary merit. Recommended for all but the smallest fiction collections."—Library Journal “In her stunning debut novel Shilpa Agarwal takes on the ghosts that bedevil young Pinky Mittal's extended family and dispatches them with rambunctious wit and affection. The result is like finely wrought mirror work, a glittering tapestry of vibrant contradictions, characters, and mysteries. Haunting Bombay flirts deliciously with the true spirit of India.”—Aimee Liu, author of Flash House After her mother’s death crossing the border from Pakistan to India during Partition, baby Pinky was taken in by her grandmother, Maji, the matriarch of the powerful Mittal family. Now thirteen years old, Pinky lives with her grandmother and her uncle’s family in a bungalow on the Malabar Heights in Bombay. While she has never really been accepted by her uncle’s family, she has always had Maji’s love. One day, as monsoons engulf the city, Pinky opens a mysteriously bolted door, unleashing the ghosts of an infant who drowned shortly before Pinky’s arrival and of the nursemaid who cared for the child. Three generations of the Mittal family must struggle to come to terms with their secrets amidst hidden shame, forbidden love, and a call for absolute sacrifice. Shilpa Agarwal was born in Bombay and currently lives in Los Angeles. She is a graduate of Duke University and UCLA and has taught at both UCLA and UC Santa Barbara. As an unpublished novel, Haunting Bombay won a 2003 First Words Literary Prize for South Asian Writers. It is her first novel.
More Details
ISBN:
156947558
9781569475584
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 74abea62-b369-9a16-abba-5f73afed17ed
full_title haunting bombay
author agarwal shilpa
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-08-14 05:04:16AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Agarwal, Shilpa, 1971-
author_display Agarwal, Shilpa
available_at_arlington Central
collection_arlington Adult Fiction
detailed_location_arlington Central Adult Fiction
display_description
format_arlington Book
format_category_arlington Books
id 74abea62-b369-9a16-abba-5f73afed17ed
isbn 156947558, 9781569475584
item_details ils:.b12941748|.i13933553|Central Adult Fiction|F AGARW|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Sep 14, 2016|caf||
itype_arlington Hardback
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington F AGARW
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central
primary_isbn 156947558
publishDate 2009
record_details ils:.b12941748|Book|Books||English|Soho Press, Inc.,|2009.|362 p. ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b12941748|.i13933553|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||
title_display Haunting Bombay
title_full Haunting Bombay / Shilpa Agarwal
title_short Haunting Bombay