Power trip: from oil wells to solar cells-- our ride to the renewable future

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Harper,
Pub. Date:
2009.
Language:
English
Description

In the tradition of Eric Schlosser's Fast Food Nation and Thomas L. Friedmam's Hot, Flat, and Crowded, prominent journalist Amanda Little maps out the history and future of America's energy addiction in a wonk-free, big-picture, solutions-oriented adventure story.

After covering the environment and energy beat for more than a decade, Amanda Little decided that the only way to really understand America's energy crisis was to travel into the heart of it. She embarks on a daring cross-country power trip, and describes in vivid, fast-paced prose the most extreme and exciting frontiers of our energy landscape.

At her side we visit an offshore oil rig, the cornfields of Kansas, the Pentagon's fuel-logistics division, the Talladega Superspeedway, New York City's electrical grid, and laboratories creating the innovations of a clean-energy future. As Little explains, energy is everything: It grows our crops, fights our wars, makes our plastics and medicines, warms our homes, moves our products and vehicles, and animates our cities.

How did we develop this insatiable appetite for fossil fuels? Little travels through history to track the evolution of America's energy addiction: the 1897 installation of the world's first power plant (a Thomas Edison?J. P. Morgan venture); the 1901 Spindletop gusher that threw open the era of cheap American fuel; FDR's encounter with a Saudi king that set the stage for our dependence on Middle Eastern oil; General Motors' early decision to sell big guzzlers rather than small, efficient cars.

Little illustrates how abundant oil and coal built the American superpower—even as they posed political and environmental dangers to the nation and the world. More important, we learn how the same American ingenuity that got us into this mess can get us out of it. With next-generation candor and optimism, Little explores the most promising clean-energy solutions on the horizon, arguing that everything we know about our past teaches us that we can solve the problems of our future.

Hard-hitting yet forward-thinking, Power Trip is a lively and impassioned travel guide for all readers trying to navigate our shifting landscape and a clear-eyed manifesto for the younger generations who are inheriting the earth.

More Details
ISBN:
9780061353253
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 78269309-126a-9027-6122-fa00549db6c8
full_title power trip from oil wells to solar cells our ride to the renewable future
author little amanda
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-06-24 11:03:43AM

Solr Details

_version_ 1571375620313579520
accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Little, Amanda.
author-letter Little, Amanda.
author_additional by Amanda Little.
author_display Little, Amanda
availability_toggle_arlington Available Now, Entire Collection
available_at_arlington Central
callnumber-a HD9502.U52
callnumber-first H - Social Science
callnumber-subject HD - Industries, Land Use, Labor
callnumber_sort_arlington 333.79 LITTL
collection_arlington Adult Nonfiction
date_added 2011-01-26T05:00:00Z
days_since_added 2344
detailed_location_arlington Central Adult Nonfiction
display_description "Using historical anecdotes and contemporary reporting, Power Trip explains the roots of America's energy addiction, its current state, and outlines real solutions that are arising from a new generation of activists, economists, entrepreneurs, and the business community"--Provided by publisher.
format_arlington Book
format_boost 10
format_category_arlington Books
grouping_category book
id 78269309-126a-9027-6122-fa00549db6c8
isbn 9780061353253
item_details ils:.b13130390|.i14360767|Central Adult Nonfiction|333.79 LITTL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Aug 10, 2016|can||
itype_arlington Hardback
language English
language_boost 10
language_boost_es 1
lexile_code
lexile_score -1
lib_boost_arlington 50
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington 333.79 LITTL
local_callnumber_exact_arlington 333.79 LITTL
local_callnumber_left_arlington 333.79 LITTL
local_days_since_added_arlington 2344
num_holdings 1
oclc (OCoLC)436310975
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central
physical xvii, 446 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
popularity 3
primary_isbn 9780061353253
publishDate 2009
publishDateSort 2009
publisher Harper,
rating 2.5
rating_facet oneStar, twoStar
record_details ils:.b13130390|Book|Books||English|Harper,|2009.|xvii, 446 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scope_has_related_records a, arlington, c, d, g, h, o, p, s, u, v, w
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b13130390|.i14360767|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999||
subject_facet Energy policy -- United States -- History, Power resources -- United States -- History
target_audience Adult
target_audience_full Adult
title Power trip : from oil wells to solar cells-- our ride to the renewable future
title_display Power trip : from oil wells to solar cells-- our ride to the renewable future
title_full Power trip : from oil wells to solar cells-- our ride to the renewable future / by Amanda Little
title_short Power trip :
title_sort power trip from oil wells to solar cells-- our ride to the renewable future
title_sub from oil wells to solar cells-- our ride to the renewable future