Music as discourse: semiotic adventures in romantic music

Book Cover
Average Rating
Oxford University Press,
Pub. Date:
The question of whether music has meaning has been the subject of sustained debate ever since music became a subject of academic inquiry. Is music a language? Does it communicate specific ideas and emotions? What does music mean, and how does this meaning occur? Kofi Agawu's Music as Discourse promises to quickly become a standard and definitive work in musical semiotics. Working at the nexus of musicology, ethnomusicology, and music philosophy and aesthetics, Agawu presents a synthetic and innovative approach to musical meaning which argues deftly for the thinking of music as a discourse in itself--composed not only of sequences of gestures, phrases, or progressions, but rather also of the very philosophical and linguistic props that enable the analytical formulations made about music as an object of study. The book provides extensive demonstration of the pertinence of a semiological approach to understanding the fully-freighted language of romantic music, stresses the importance of a generative approach to tonal understanding, and provides further insight into the analogy between music and language. Music as Discourse will be eagerly read by all who are interested in the theory, analysis and semiotics of music of the romantic period.
More Details
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 79dd458b-ba65-7e93-dd06-e91417b41056
full_title music as discourse semiotic adventures in romantic music
author agawu v kofi
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-08-14 05:04:51AM

Solr Details

_version_ 1576511923054182400
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Agawu, V. Kofi (Victor Kofi)
author-letter Agawu, V. Kofi
author2 NetLibrary, Inc.
author2-role NetLibrary, Inc.
author_additional Kofi Agawu.
author_display Agawu, V. Kofi
availability_toggle_arlington Available Now, Available Online, Entire Collection
callnumber-a MT6
callnumber-first M - Music
callnumber-subject MT - Instruction and Study
days_since_added 2791
detailed_location_arlington EBSCOhost
econtent_protection_type_arlington external
econtent_source_arlington EBSCOhost
format_arlington eBook
format_boost 10
format_category_arlington eBook
grouping_category book
id 79dd458b-ba65-7e93-dd06-e91417b41056
isbn 9780199708314
item_details external_econtent:ils:.b13231868||EBSCOhost|Online|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|EBSCOhost||||Available Online||q||
itype_arlington eCollection
language English
language_boost 10
language_boost_es 1
lexile_score -1
lib_boost_arlington 50
literary_form Other
literary_form_full Other
local_callnumber_arlington Online
local_callnumber_exact_arlington Online
local_callnumber_left_arlington Online
local_days_since_added_arlington 2791
num_holdings 0
oclc (OCoLC)299367679
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library Online, Aurora Hills Online, Central Online, Cherrydale Online, Columbia Pike Online, Connection Crystal City Online, Detention Center Online, Glencarlyn Online, Local History Online, Plaza Online, Shirlington Online, Westover Online
physical vi, 336 p. : music ; 25 cm.
popularity 0
primary_isbn 9780199708314
publishDate 2009
publishDateSort 2009
publisher Oxford University Press,
rating 2.5
rating_facet oneStar, twoStar
record_details external_econtent:ils:.b13231868|eBook|eBook||English|Oxford University Press,|2009.|vi, 336 p. : music ; 25 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scope_has_related_records a, arlington, c, d, g, h, o, p, s, u, v, w
scoping_details_arlington external_econtent:ils:.b13231868||Available Online|Available Online|false|true|false|false|false|true||||
series Oxford studies in music theory
series2 Oxford studies in music theory.
series_with_volume Oxford studies in music theory
table_of_contents Music as language -- Criteria for analysis I -- Criteria for analysis II -- Bridges to free composition -- Paradigmatic analysis -- Liszt, Orpheus (1853-1854) -- Brahms, Intermezzo in E minor, op. 119, no. 2 (1893), and Symphony no. 1/ii (1872-1876) -- Mahler, Symphony no. 9/i (1908-1909) -- Beethoven, string quartet, op. 130/i (1825-1826), and Stravinsky, Symphonies of wind instruments (1920) -- Epilogue.
target_audience Other
target_audience_full Other
title Music as discourse semiotic adventures in romantic music
title_display Music as discourse semiotic adventures in romantic music
title_full Music as discourse [electronic resource] : semiotic adventures in romantic music / Kofi Agawu
title_short Music as discourse
title_sort music as discourse semiotic adventures in romantic music
title_sub semiotic adventures in romantic music