Gloria takes a stand: how Gloria Steinem listened, wrote, and changed the world

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Bloomsbury Childrens Books,
Pub. Date:
[2019]
Language:
English
Description

Perfect for fans of I Dissent comes an inspirational and empowering account of the life of women's rights icon Gloria Steinem.

As a young girl, Gloria Steinem thought for herself and spoke her mind. She read many books by her favorite authors and imagined herself as the heroine of the story.

Gloria wished. She read. And imagined.

But Gloria grew up during a time when women were not encouraged, or even allowed, to do a lot of the things men could do: go to college, get a job, open a bank account, and more. There were restrictions that made it impossible for women to be independent or equal to men. So, Gloria set out to change that . . .

Gloria listened. She watched. And wrote.Gloria believed. She marched. And dreamed.

From unconventional childhood, to Smith College, to Ms. magazine, to the women's liberation movement, to feminist icon--Gloria Takes a Stand brings to the page a spirited look at Gloria Steinem's influential life, energizing a new generation of feminists to stand up and demand equal rights for all people.

More Details
ISBN:
9781681196763
168119676
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 83dbbe02-00fc-26e4-eb9a-f6a2a5870849
Grouping Title gloria takes a stand how gloria steinem listened wrote and changed the world
Grouping Author rinker jessica m
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-06-16 04:48:53AM
Last Indexed 2019-06-24 04:52:02AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Peoples-Riley, Daria,
author Rinker, Jessica M.,
author2-role Peoples-Riley, Daria,illustrator.
author_display Rinker, Jessica M
collection_arlington Kids Biography
detailed_location_arlington Central Kids Biography
display_description From an unconventional childhood, to Smith College, to Ms. magazine, to the women's liberation movement, to feminist icon, this book brings to the page a spirited look at Gloria Steinem's influential life, engergizing a new generation of feminists to stand up and demand equal rights for all people.
format_arlington Book
format_category_arlington Books
id 83dbbe02-00fc-26e4-eb9a-f6a2a5870849
isbn 168119676, 9781681196763
item_details ils:.b20658795|.i2240174x|Central Kids Biography|JB STEINEM G|||1|false|false|||||Due Jul 6, 2019|May 12, 2019|cjnb||
itype_arlington Hardback
last_indexed 2019-06-24T08:52:02.796Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington JB STEINEM G
local_time_since_added_arlington Quarter, Six Months, Year
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central
primary_isbn 9781681196763
publishDate 2019
record_details ils:.b20658795|Book|Books||English|Bloomsbury Childrens Books,|[2019]|42 unnumbered pages : color illustrations ; 28 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b20658795 .i2240174x Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true 9999
subject_facet Feminists -- United States -- Biography -- Juvenile literature, Steinem, Gloria -- Juvenile literature
title_display Gloria takes a stand : how Gloria Steinem listened, wrote, and changed the world
title_full Gloria takes a stand : how Gloria Steinem listened, wrote, and changed the world / Jessica M. Rinker ; illustrated by Daria Peoples-Riley
title_short Gloria takes a stand :
title_sub how Gloria Steinem listened, wrote, and changed the world