Gloria takes a stand: how Gloria Steinem listened, wrote, and changed the world

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Bloomsbury Childrens Books,
Pub. Date:
[2019]
Language:
English
Description

Perfect for fans of I Dissent comes an inspirational and empowering account of the life of women's rights icon Gloria Steinem.

As a young girl, Gloria Steinem thought for herself and spoke her mind. She read many books by her favorite authors and imagined herself as the heroine of the story.

Gloria wished. She read. And imagined.

But Gloria grew up during a time when women were not encouraged, or even allowed, to do a lot of the things men could do: go to college, get a job, open a bank account, and more. There were restrictions that made it impossible for women to be independent or equal to men. So, Gloria set out to change that . . .

Gloria listened. She watched. And wrote.Gloria believed. She marched. And dreamed.

From unconventional childhood, to Smith College, to Ms. magazine, to the women's liberation movement, to feminist icon--Gloria Takes a Stand brings to the page a spirited look at Gloria Steinem's influential life, energizing a new generation of feminists to stand up and demand equal rights for all people.

More Details
ISBN:
9781681196763
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID83dbbe02-00fc-26e4-eb9a-f6a2a5870849
Grouping Titlegloria takes a stand how gloria steinem listened wrote and changed the world
Grouping Authorrinker jessica m
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-09-01 04:52:43AM
Last Indexed2019-11-18 04:44:52AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Peoples-Riley, Daria,
authorRinker, Jessica M.,
author2-rolePeoples-Riley, Daria,illustrator.
author_displayRinker, Jessica M
available_at_arlingtonWestover
collection_arlingtonKids Biography
detailed_location_arlingtonWestover Kids Biography
display_descriptionFrom an unconventional childhood, to Smith College, to Ms. magazine, to the women's liberation movement, to feminist icon, this book brings to the page a spirited look at Gloria Steinem's influential life, engergizing a new generation of feminists to stand up and demand equal rights for all people.
format_arlingtonBook
format_category_arlingtonBooks
id83dbbe02-00fc-26e4-eb9a-f6a2a5870849
isbn9781681196763
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b20658795.i2240174xWestover Kids BiographyJB STEINEM G1falsefalseOn ShelfAug 31, 2019wjnb
itype_arlingtonHardback
last_indexed2019-11-18T09:44:52.156Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_arlingtonJB STEINEM G
local_time_since_added_arlingtonYear
owning_library_arlingtonArlington Public Library
Aurora Hills
Central
Cherrydale
Columbia Pike
Connection Crystal City
Detention Center
Glencarlyn
Local History
Plaza
Shirlington
Westover
owning_location_arlingtonWestover
primary_isbn9781681196763
publishDate2019
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b20658795BookBooksEnglishBloomsbury Childrens Books, [2019]42 unnumbered pages : color illustrations ; 28 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b20658795.i2240174xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
subject_facetFeminists -- United States -- Biography -- Juvenile literature
Steinem, Gloria -- Juvenile literature
title_displayGloria takes a stand : how Gloria Steinem listened, wrote, and changed the world
title_fullGloria takes a stand : how Gloria Steinem listened, wrote, and changed the world / Jessica M. Rinker ; illustrated by Daria Peoples-Riley
title_shortGloria takes a stand
title_subhow Gloria Steinem listened, wrote, and changed the world