Supersense: why we believe in the unbelievable

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
HarperOne,
Pub. Date:
[2009]
Language:
English
Description

“In an account chock full of real-world examples reinforced by experimental research, Hood’s marvelous book is an important contribution to the psychological literature that is revealing the actuality of our very irrational human nature.” — Science

In the vein of Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink, Mary Roach’s Spook, and Dan Ariely’s Predictably Irrational, The Science of Superstition uses hard science to explain pervasive irrational beliefs and behaviors: from the superstitious rituals of sports stars, to the depreciated value of houses where murders were committed, to the adoration of Elvis.

More Details
ISBN:
9780061452642
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID85b456b5-31ce-e118-5697-31e72d3b0edb
Grouping Titlesupersense why we believe in the unbelievable
Grouping Authorhood bruce m
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-09-13 04:48:44AM
Last Indexed2019-11-13 04:44:57AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorHood, Bruce M. (Bruce MacFarlane)
author_displayHood, Bruce M
available_at_arlingtonCentral
collection_arlingtonAdult Nonfiction
detailed_location_arlingtonCentral Adult Nonfiction
display_descriptionA neuroscientist identifies a high prevalence of belief in supernatural phenomena and superstition while explaining why people are innately subject to such beliefs, in an account that explores why superstitions promote societal bonding.
format_arlingtonBook
format_category_arlingtonBooks
id85b456b5-31ce-e118-5697-31e72d3b0edb
isbn9780061452642
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b12986689.i13873684Central Adult Nonfiction153.4 HOOD1falsefalseOn ShelfSep 11, 2019can
itype_arlingtonHardback
last_indexed2019-11-13T09:44:57.654Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington153.4 HOOD
owning_library_arlingtonArlington Public Library
Aurora Hills
Central
Cherrydale
Columbia Pike
Connection Crystal City
Detention Center
Glencarlyn
Local History
Plaza
Shirlington
Westover
owning_location_arlingtonCentral
primary_isbn9780061452642
publishDate2009
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b12986689BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishHarperOne, [2009]xvii, 302 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b12986689.i13873684On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
subject_facetBelief and doubt
Psychology and religion
Psychology, Religious
Supernatural
title_displaySupersense : why we believe in the unbelievable
title_fullSupersense : why we believe in the unbelievable / Bruce M. Hood
title_shortSupersense
title_subwhy we believe in the unbelievable