Supersense: why we believe in the unbelievable

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
HarperOne,
Pub. Date:
c2009.
Language:
English
Description

“In an account chock full of real-world examples reinforced by experimental research, Hood’s marvelous book is an important contribution to the psychological literature that is revealing the actuality of our very irrational human nature.” —Science

In the vein of Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink, Mary Roach’s Spook, and Dan Ariely’sPredictably Irrational, The Science of Superstition uses hard science to explain pervasive irrational beliefs and behaviors: from the superstitious rituals of sports stars, to the depreciated value of houses where murders were committed, to the adoration of Elvis.

More Details
ISBN:
9780061452642
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 85b456b5-31ce-e118-5697-31e72d3b0edb
full_title supersense why we believe in the unbelievable
author hood bruce m
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-09-29 04:59:18AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Hood, Bruce M. (Bruce MacFarlane)
author_display Hood, Bruce M
available_at_arlington Columbia Pike
collection_arlington Adult Nonfiction
detailed_location_arlington Columbia Pike Adult Nonfiction
display_description A neuroscientist identifies a high prevalence of belief in supernatural phenomena and superstition while explaining why people are innately subject to such beliefs, in an account that explores why superstitions promote societal bonding.
format_arlington Book
format_category_arlington Books
id 85b456b5-31ce-e118-5697-31e72d3b0edb
isbn 9780061452642
item_details ils:.b12986689|.i13873684|Columbia Pike Adult Nonfiction|153.4 HOOD|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Sep 28, 2017|oan||
itype_arlington Hardback
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington 153.4 HOOD
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Columbia Pike
primary_isbn 9780061452642
publishDate 2009
record_details ils:.b12986689|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|HarperOne,|c2009.|xvii, 302 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b12986689|.i13873684|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||
subject_facet Belief and doubt, Psychology and religion, Psychology, Religious, Supernatural
title_display Supersense : why we believe in the unbelievable
title_full Supersense : why we believe in the unbelievable / Bruce M. Hood
title_short Supersense :
title_sub why we believe in the unbelievable