Supersense: why we believe in the unbelievable

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
HarperOne,
Pub. Date:
c2009.
Language:
English
Description

“In an account chock full of real-world examples reinforced by experimental research, Hood’s marvelous book is an important contribution to the psychological literature that is revealing the actuality of our very irrational human nature.” —Science

In the vein of Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink, Mary Roach’s Spook, and Dan Ariely’sPredictably Irrational, The Science of Superstition uses hard science to explain pervasive irrational beliefs and behaviors: from the superstitious rituals of sports stars, to the depreciated value of houses where murders were committed, to the adoration of Elvis.

More Details
ISBN:
9780061452642
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 85b456b5-31ce-e118-5697-31e72d3b0edb
full_title supersense why we believe in the unbelievable
author hood bruce m
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-09-26 06:09:06AM

Solr Details

_version_ 1579596549364645888
accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Hood, Bruce M. (Bruce MacFarlane)
author-letter Hood, Bruce M.
author_additional Bruce M. Hood.
author_display Hood, Bruce M
availability_toggle_arlington Entire Collection
callnumber-a BF773
callnumber-first B - Philosophy, Psychology, Religion
callnumber-subject BF - Psychology
callnumber_sort_arlington 153.4 HOOD
collection_arlington Adult Nonfiction
date_added 2011-01-26T05:00:00Z
days_since_added 2435
detailed_location_arlington Columbia Pike Adult Nonfiction
display_description A neuroscientist identifies a high prevalence of belief in supernatural phenomena and superstition while explaining why people are innately subject to such beliefs, in an account that explores why superstitions promote societal bonding.
edition 1st ed.
format_arlington Book
format_boost 10
format_category_arlington Books
grouping_category book
id 85b456b5-31ce-e118-5697-31e72d3b0edb
isbn 9780061452642
item_details ils:.b12986689|.i13873684|Columbia Pike Adult Nonfiction|153.4 HOOD|||1|false|false|||||Due Sep 23, 2017|Sep 12, 2016|oan||
itype_arlington Hardback
language English
language_boost 10
language_boost_es 1
lexile_score -1
lib_boost_arlington 10
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington 153.4 HOOD
local_callnumber_exact_arlington 153.4 HOOD
local_callnumber_left_arlington 153.4 HOOD
local_days_since_added_arlington 2435
num_holdings 1
oclc (OCoLC)225088198
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Columbia Pike
physical xvii, 302 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
popularity 4
primary_isbn 9780061452642
publishDate 2009
publishDateSort 2009
publisher HarperOne,
rating 2.5
rating_facet oneStar, twoStar
record_details ils:.b12986689|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|HarperOne,|c2009.|xvii, 302 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scope_has_related_records a, arlington, c, d, g, h, o, p, s, u, v, w
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b12986689|.i13873684|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||
subject_facet Belief and doubt, Psychology and religion, Psychology, Religious, Supernatural
table_of_contents What secret do John McEnroe and David Beckham share? -- Could you wear a killer's cardigan? -- Who created creationism? -- Blooming, buzzing babies -- Mind reading 101 -- Freak accidents -- Would you willingly receive a heart transplant from a murderer? -- Why do traveling salesmen sleep with teddy bears? -- The biology of belief -- Would you let your wife sleep with Robert Redford?
target_audience Adult
target_audience_full Adult
title Supersense : why we believe in the unbelievable
title_alt Super sense.
title_display Supersense : why we believe in the unbelievable
title_full Supersense : why we believe in the unbelievable / Bruce M. Hood
title_short Supersense :
title_sort supersense why we believe in the unbelievable
title_sub why we believe in the unbelievable