Supersense: why we believe in the unbelievable

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
HarperOne,
Pub. Date:
[2009]
Language:
English
Description

“In an account chock full of real-world examples reinforced by experimental research, Hood’s marvelous book is an important contribution to the psychological literature that is revealing the actuality of our very irrational human nature.” — Science

In the vein of Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink, Mary Roach’s Spook, and Dan Ariely’s Predictably Irrational, The Science of Superstition uses hard science to explain pervasive irrational beliefs and behaviors: from the superstitious rituals of sports stars, to the depreciated value of houses where murders were committed, to the adoration of Elvis.

More Details
ISBN:
9780061452642
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 85b456b5-31ce-e118-5697-31e72d3b0edb
Grouping Title supersense why we believe in the unbelievable
Grouping Author hood bruce m
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-08-06 04:40:45AM
Last Indexed 2018-08-15 04:58:18AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Hood, Bruce M. (Bruce MacFarlane)
author_display Hood, Bruce M
available_at_arlington Aurora Hills
collection_arlington Adult Nonfiction
detailed_location_arlington Aurora Hills Adult Nonfiction
display_description A neuroscientist identifies a high prevalence of belief in supernatural phenomena and superstition while explaining why people are innately subject to such beliefs, in an account that explores why superstitions promote societal bonding.
format_arlington Book
format_category_arlington Books
id 85b456b5-31ce-e118-5697-31e72d3b0edb
isbn 9780061452642
item_details ils:.b12986689|.i13873684|Aurora Hills Adult Nonfiction|153.4 HOOD|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Jul 19, 2018|aan||
itype_arlington Hardback
last_indexed 2018-08-15T08:58:18.622Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington 153.4 HOOD
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Aurora Hills
primary_isbn 9780061452642
publishDate 2009
record_details ils:.b12986689|Book|Books|First edition.|English|HarperOne,|[2009]|xvii, 302 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b12986689 .i13873684 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 999
subject_facet Belief and doubt, Psychology and religion, Psychology, Religious, Supernatural
title_display Supersense : why we believe in the unbelievable
title_full Supersense : why we believe in the unbelievable / Bruce M. Hood
title_short Supersense :
title_sub why we believe in the unbelievable