The high season: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Random House,
Pub. Date:
In a beach town overrun with vacationers and newly colonized by socialites, one woman goes to extreme lengths when the life she loves is upended. The ultimate summer read, this novel of money, class, and family is perfect for fans of Meg Wolitzer, Curtis Sittenfeld, and Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney’s The Nest. No matter what the world throws her way, at least Ruthie Beamish has the house. Lovingly renovated, located by the sea in a quiet Long Island village two ferry rides from the glitzier Hamptons, the house is her nest egg—the retirement account shared with her ex-husband, Mike, and the college fund for their teenage daughter, Jem. The catch? To afford the house, Ruthie must let it go during the best part of the year. It’s Memorial Day weekend and Ruthie has packed up their belongings for what Jem calls “the summer bummer”: the family’s annual exodus to make way for renters. This year, the Hamptons set has arrived. Adeline Clay is elegant, connected, and accompanied by a “gorgeous satellite” stepson. The widow of a blue-chip artist, living in a world defined by luxury and ease, Adeline demonstrates an uncanny ability to help herself to Ruthie’s life. Is Adeline just being her fabulous self, or is she out to take what she wants? When an eccentric billionaire, his wayward daughter, a coterie of social climbers, and Ruthie’s old flame are thrown into the mix, the entire town finds itself on the verge of tumultuous change. But as Ruthie loses her grasp on her job, her home, and her family, she discovers a new talent for pushing back. By the end of one unhinged, unforgettable summer, nothing will be the same—least of all Ruthie. In a novel packed with indelible characters, crackling wit, and upstairs/downstairs drama, Judy Blundell emerges as a voice for all seasons—a wry and original storyteller who knows how the most disruptive events in our lives can twist endings into new beginnings.Advance praise for The High Season “Blundell wields words like an oyster knife in this shimmering story of art, money, and celebrity. The High Season is wicked summer fun.”—Helen Simonson, New York Times bestselling author of The Summer Before the War “Touching, funny, and emotionally precise, recognizable yet full of surprises . . . Forget the Hamptons: Blundell’s North Fork is where the real drama—and fun—blow in.”—Cathleen Schine, New York Times bestselling author of The Three Weissmanns of Westport
More Details
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 8825c705-ddb2-9676-1145-71640330d43d
full_title high season
author blundell judy
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2018-03-19 04:51:30AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Blundell, Judy,
author_display Blundell, Judy
collection_arlington On Order
detailed_location_arlington Arlington Public Library On Order
format_arlington Book
format_category_arlington Books
id 8825c705-ddb2-9676-1145-71640330d43d
isbn 9780525508717
item_details ils:.b20310390|.o11477428|Arlington Public Library On Order|ON ORDER|||2|true|false|||||On Order||cafn||
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington ON ORDER
local_time_since_added_arlington 2 Months, Day, Month, On Order, Quarter, Six Months, Week, Year
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library On Order, Aurora Hills On Order, Central On Order, Cherrydale On Order, Columbia Pike On Order, Connection Crystal City On Order, Detention Center On Order, Glencarlyn On Order, Local History On Order, Plaza On Order, Shirlington On Order, Westover On Order
owning_location_arlington Central On Order
primary_isbn 9780525508717
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:.b20310390|Book|Books||English|Random House,|2018.|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b20310390|.o11477428|On Order|On Order|false|false|true|false|false|true||||
title_display The high season : a novel
title_full The high season : a novel / Judy Blundell
title_short The high season :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Coming Soon, On Order