You Know When the Men Are Gone

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
The debut of a major literary talent, Siobhan Fallon presents an unforgettable collection of interconnected short stories in the tradition of Tim O'Brien, Raymond Carver, and Jhumpa Lahiri.
More Details
ISBN:
9781101486146
9781452620381
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 8b2a9ce3-c26f-9a06-39c0-bf19d57dc290
Grouping Title you know when the men are gone
Grouping Author fallon siobhan
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-10-23 04:48:27AM
Last Indexed 2018-10-23 04:51:48AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Siobhan Fallon
author_display Siobhan Fallon
display_description "Gripping, straight-up, no-nonsense stories about American soldiers and their families. . . simple, tough, and true."—The New York Times
"Prose that's brave and honest."—People
"Terrific. . . and terrifically illuminating."The Washington Post

An award-winning story collection from the author of The Confusion of Languages.
Through fiction of dazzling skill and astonishing emotional force, Siobhan Fallon welcomes readers into the American army base at Fort Hood, Texas, where U.S. soldiers prepare to fight, and where their families are left to cope after the men are gone. They'll meet a wife who discovers unsettling secrets when she hacks into her husband's email, and a teenager who disappears as her mother fights cancer. There is the foreign born wife who has tongues wagging over her late hours, and the military intelligence officer who plans a covert mission against his own home.
Powerful, singular, and unforgettable, these stories will resonate deeply with readers and mark the debut of a talent of tremendous note.
format_arlington eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_arlington Audio Books, eBook
id 8b2a9ce3-c26f-9a06-39c0-bf19d57dc290
isbn 9781101486146, 9781452620381
item_details overdrive:2ed830e4-1948-4004-a532-186c42ab9cd4|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||, overdrive:a111e837-2e60-4848-9faf-9f15f225f2e7|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_arlington
last_indexed 2018-10-23T08:51:48.143Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction, Short Stories
local_callnumber_arlington Online OverDrive
primary_isbn 9781101486146
publishDate 2011
record_details overdrive:2ed830e4-1948-4004-a532-186c42ab9cd4|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Tantor Media||, overdrive:a111e837-2e60-4848-9faf-9f15f225f2e7|eBook|eBook||English|Penguin Publishing Group|2011|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:2ed830e4-1948-4004-a532-186c42ab9cd4 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:a111e837-2e60-4848-9faf-9f15f225f2e7 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
title_display You Know When the Men Are Gone
title_full You Know When the Men Are Gone
title_short You Know When the Men Are Gone
title_sub
topic_facet Fiction, Short Stories