Claim of privilege: the unmasking of a landmark Supreme Court case

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers,
Pub. Date:
2008.
Language:
English
Description

In the tradition of A Civil Action and Gideon's Trumpet, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Barry Siegel unfolds the shocking true story behind the Supreme Court case that forever changed the balance of power in America.

On October 6, 1948, a trio of civilian engineers joined a U.S. Air Force crew on a B-29 Superfortress, whose mission was to test secret navigational equipment. Shortly after takeoff the plane crashed, killing all three engineers and six others. In June 1949, the widows of the engineers filed suit against the government. What had happened to their men? they asked. Why had these civilians been aboard an Air Force plane in the first place?

But the Air Force, at the dawn of the Cold War, refused to hand over the accident reports and witness statements, claiming the documents contained classified information that would threaten national security. The case made its way up to the Supreme Court, which in 1953 sided with the Air Force in United States v. Reynolds. This landmark decision formally recognized the "state secrets" privilege, a legal precedent that has since been used to conceal conduct, withhold documents, block troublesome litigation, and, most recently, detain terror suspects without due-process protections.

Even with the case closed, the families of those who died in the crash never stopped wondering what had happened in that B-29. They finally had their answer a half century later: In 2000 they learned that the government was now making available the top-secret information the families had sought long ago, in vain. The documents, it turned out, contained no national security secrets but rather a shocking chronicle of negligence.

Equal parts history, legal drama, and exposé, Claim of Privilege tells the story of this shameful incident, its impact on our nation, and a courageous fight to right a wrong from the past. Placing the story within the context of the time, Siegel draws clear connections between the apocalyptic fears of the early Cold War years and post-9/11 America—and shows the dangerous consequences of this historic cover-up: the violation of civil liberties and the abuse of constitutional protections. By evoking the past, Claim of Privilege illuminates the present. Here is a mesmerizing narrative that indicts what our government is willing to do in the name of national security.

More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780060777029
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 8f991e73-1d04-35a3-30b8-402b4674b056
full_title claim of privilege the unmasking of a landmark supreme court case
author siegel barry
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-08-14 05:04:27AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Rachlis, Kit.
author Siegel, Barry.
author2-role Rachlis, Kit.
author_display Siegel, Barry
available_at_arlington Central
collection_arlington Adult Nonfiction
detailed_location_arlington Central Adult Nonfiction
display_description
format_arlington Book
format_category_arlington Books
id 8f991e73-1d04-35a3-30b8-402b4674b056
isbn 9780060777029
item_details ils:.b13032525|.i13493516|Central Adult Nonfiction|342.7306 SIEGE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Sep 08, 2015|can||
itype_arlington Hardback
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington 342.7306 SIEGE
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central
primary_isbn 9780060777029
publishDate 2008
record_details ils:.b13032525|Book|Books||English|HarperCollins Publishers,|2008.|xi, 284 p. ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b13032525|.i13493516|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||
subject_facet Executive privilege (Government information) -- United States, Government liability -- United States, Liability for aircraft accidents -- United States, National security -- Law and legislation -- United States, Official secrets -- United States
title_display Claim of privilege : the unmasking of a landmark Supreme Court case
title_full Claim of privilege : the unmasking of a landmark Supreme Court case / Barry Siegel, Kit Rachlis
title_short Claim of privilege :
title_sub the unmasking of a landmark Supreme Court case