Manic: a memoir

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
William Morrow,
Pub. Date:
c2008.
Language:
English
Description

"I didn't tell anyone that I was going to Santa Fe to kill myself."

On the outside, Terri Cheney was a highly successful, attractive Beverly Hills entertainment lawyer. But behind her seemingly flawless façade lay a dangerous secret—for the better part of her life Cheney had been battling debilitating bipolar disorder and concealing a pharmacy's worth of prescriptions meant to stabilize her moods and make her "normal."

In bursts of prose that mirror the devastating highs and extreme lows of her illness, Cheney describes her roller-coaster life with shocking honesty—from glamorous parties to a night in jail; from flying fourteen kites off the edge of a cliff in a thunderstorm to crying beneath her office desk; from electroshock therapy to a suicide attempt fueled by tequila and prescription painkillers.

With Manic, Cheney gives voice to the unarticulated madness she endured. The clinical terms used to describe her illness were so inadequate that she chose to focus instead on her own experience, in her words, "on what bipolar disorder felt like inside my own body." Here the events unfold episodically, from mood to mood, the way she lived and remembers life. In this way the reader is able to viscerally experience the incredible speeding highs of mania and the crushing blows of depression, just as Cheney did. Manic does not simply explain bipolar disorder—it takes us in its grasp and does not let go.

In the tradition of Darkness Visible and An Unquiet Mind, Manic is Girl, Interrupted with the girl all grown up. This harrowing yet hopeful book is more than just a searing insider's account of what it's really like to live with bipolar disorder. It is a testament to the sharp beauty of a life lived in extremes.

More Details
ISBN:
9780061430237
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 9466e901-e687-50ef-e11d-a89dd24c9748
full_title manic a memoir
author cheney terri
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-08-14 05:04:20AM

Solr Details

_version_ 1575968399964504064
accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Cheney, Terri, 1959-
author-letter Cheney, Terri,
author_additional Terri Cheney.
author_display Cheney, Terri
availability_toggle_arlington Available Now, Entire Collection
available_at_arlington Central, Westover
callnumber_sort_arlington 616.895 CHENE
collection_arlington Adult Nonfiction
date_added 2011-01-26T05:00:00Z
days_since_added 2395
detailed_location_arlington Central Adult Nonfiction, Westover Adult Nonfiction
display_description
format_arlington Book
format_boost 10
format_category_arlington Books
grouping_category book
id 9466e901-e687-50ef-e11d-a89dd24c9748
isbn 9780061430237
item_details ils:.b12972733|.i13283819|Westover Adult Nonfiction|616.895 CHENE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Apr 22, 2016|wan||, ils:.b12972733|.i13283820|Central Adult Nonfiction|616.895 CHENE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Jun 28, 2015|can||
itype_arlington Hardback
language English
language_boost 10
language_boost_es 1
lexile_score -1
lib_boost_arlington 50
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington 616.895 CHENE
local_callnumber_exact_arlington 616.895 CHENE
local_callnumber_left_arlington 616.895 CHENE
local_days_since_added_arlington 2395
num_holdings 2
oclc (OCoLC)182630664
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central, Westover
physical 244 p. ; 23 cm.
popularity 5
primary_isbn 9780061430237
publishDate 2008
publishDateSort 2008
publisher William Morrow,
rating 2.5
rating_facet oneStar, twoStar
record_details ils:.b12972733|Book|Books||English|William Morrow,|c2008.|244 p. ; 23 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scope_has_related_records a, arlington, c, d, g, h, o, p, s, u, v, w
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b12972733|.i13283819|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b12972733|.i13283820|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||
subject_facet Manic-depressive illness -- Popular works, Manic-depressive persons -- United States -- Biography
target_audience Adult
target_audience_full Adult
title Manic : a memoir
title_display Manic : a memoir
title_full Manic : a memoir / Terri Cheney
title_short Manic :
title_sort manic a memoir
title_sub a memoir