Manic: a memoir

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
William Morrow,
Pub. Date:
c2008.
Language:
English
Description

"I didn't tell anyone that I was going to Santa Fe to kill myself."

On the outside, Terri Cheney was a highly successful, attractive Beverly Hills entertainment lawyer. But behind her seemingly flawless façade lay a dangerous secret—for the better part of her life Cheney had been battling debilitating bipolar disorder and concealing a pharmacy's worth of prescriptions meant to stabilize her moods and make her "normal."

In bursts of prose that mirror the devastating highs and extreme lows of her illness, Cheney describes her roller-coaster life with shocking honesty—from glamorous parties to a night in jail; from flying fourteen kites off the edge of a cliff in a thunderstorm to crying beneath her office desk; from electroshock therapy to a suicide attempt fueled by tequila and prescription painkillers.

With Manic, Cheney gives voice to the unarticulated madness she endured. The clinical terms used to describe her illness were so inadequate that she chose to focus instead on her own experience, in her words, "on what bipolar disorder felt like inside my own body." Here the events unfold episodically, from mood to mood, the way she lived and remembers life. In this way the reader is able to viscerally experience the incredible speeding highs of mania and the crushing blows of depression, just as Cheney did. Manic does not simply explain bipolar disorder—it takes us in its grasp and does not let go.

In the tradition of Darkness Visible and An Unquiet Mind, Manic is Girl, Interrupted with the girl all grown up. This harrowing yet hopeful book is more than just a searing insider's account of what it's really like to live with bipolar disorder. It is a testament to the sharp beauty of a life lived in extremes.

More Details
ISBN:
9780061430237
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 9466e901-e687-50ef-e11d-a89dd24c9748
full_title manic a memoir
author cheney terri
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-12-02 05:09:21AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Cheney, Terri, 1959-
author_display Cheney, Terri
available_at_arlington Central, Westover
collection_arlington Adult Nonfiction
detailed_location_arlington Central Adult Nonfiction, Westover Adult Nonfiction
display_description
format_arlington Book
format_category_arlington Books
id 9466e901-e687-50ef-e11d-a89dd24c9748
isbn 9780061430237
item_details ils:.b12972733|.i13283819|Central Adult Nonfiction|616.895 CHENE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Apr 22, 2016|can||, ils:.b12972733|.i13283820|Westover Adult Nonfiction|616.895 CHENE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Nov 22, 2017|wan||
itype_arlington Hardback
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington 616.895 CHENE
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central, Westover
primary_isbn 9780061430237
publishDate 2008
record_details ils:.b12972733|Book|Books||English|William Morrow,|c2008.|244 p. ; 23 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b12972733|.i13283819|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b12972733|.i13283820|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||
subject_facet Manic-depressive illness -- Popular works, Manic-depressive persons -- United States -- Biography
title_display Manic : a memoir
title_full Manic : a memoir / Terri Cheney
title_short Manic :
title_sub a memoir