The things we cannot say: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
From the author of Truths I Never Told You and Before I Let You Go, Kelly Rimmer’s powerful WWII novel follows a woman’s urgent search for answers to a family mystery that uncovers truths about herself that she never expected.&;Kelly Rimmer has outdone herself. I thought that Before I Let You Go was one of the best novels I had ever read&;If you only have time to read one book this year The Things We Cannot Say should be that book. Keep tissues handy.&;&;Fresh Fiction&;Fans of The Nightingale and Lilac Girls will adore The Things We Cannot Say.&; &;Pam Jenoff, New York Times> bestselling authorIn 1942, Europe remains in the relentless grip of war. Just beyond the tents of the Russian refugee camp she calls home, a young woman speaks her wedding vows. It&;s a decision that will alter her destiny&;and it&;s a lie that will remain buried until the next century.Since she was nine years old, Alina Dziak knew she would marry her best friend, Tomasz. Now fifteen and engaged, Alina is unconcerned by reports of Nazi soldiers at the Polish border, believing her neighbors that they pose no real threat, and dreams instead of the day Tomasz returns from college in Warsaw so they can be married. But little by little, injustice by brutal injustice, the Nazi occupation takes hold, and Alina&;s tiny rural village, its families, are divided by fear and hate.Then, as the fabric of their lives is slowly picked apart, Tomasz disappears. Where Alina used to measure time between visits from her beloved, now she measures the spaces between hope and despair, waiting for word from Tomasz and avoiding the attentions of the soldiers who patrol her parents&; farm. But for now, even deafening silence is preferable to grief.Slipping between Nazi-occupied Poland and the frenetic pace of modern life, Kelly Rimmer creates an emotional and finely wrought narrative. The Things We Cannot Say is an unshakable reminder of the devastation when truth is silenced&;and how it can take a lifetime to find our voice before we learn to trust it.
More Details
ISBN:
9781525823565
9781488096785
9781525831515
9781432864989
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID9a5023af-65c1-8908-f01f-e10ccba16365
Grouping Titlethings we cannot say
Grouping Authorrimmer kelly
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-01-24 12:50:28PM
Last Indexed2020-01-24 12:51:14PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorKelly Rimmer
author_displayKelly Rimmer
collection_arlingtonNew Fiction
New Large Type
detailed_location_arlingtonCentral New Fiction
Columbia Pike New Fiction
Shirlington New Large Type
display_descriptionFrom the author of Truths I Never Told You and Before I Let You Go, Kelly Rimmer's powerful WWII novel follows a woman's urgent search for answers to a family mystery that uncovers truths about herself that she never expected.
"Kelly Rimmer has outdone herself. I thought that Before I Let You Go was one of the best novels I had ever read...If you only have time to read one book this year The Things We Cannot Say should be that book. Keep tissues handy."—Fresh Fiction
"Fans of The Nightingale and Lilac Girls will adore The Things We Cannot Say." —Pam Jenoff, New York Times> bestselling author
In 1942, Europe remains in the relentless grip of war. Just beyond the tents of the Russian refugee camp she calls home, a young woman speaks her wedding vows. It's a decision that will alter her destiny...and it's a lie that will remain buried until the next century.
Since she was nine years old, Alina Dziak knew she would marry her best friend, Tomasz. Now fifteen and engaged, Alina is unconcerned by reports of Nazi soldiers at the Polish border, believing her neighbors that they pose no real threat, and dreams instead of the day Tomasz returns from college in Warsaw so they can be married. But little by little, injustice by brutal injustice, the Nazi occupation takes hold, and Alina's tiny rural village, its families, are divided by fear and hate.
Then, as the fabric of their lives is slowly picked apart, Tomasz disappears. Where Alina used to measure time between visits from her beloved, now she measures the spaces between hope and despair, waiting for word from Tomasz and avoiding the attentions of the soldiers who patrol her parents' farm. But for now, even deafening silence is preferable to grief.
Slipping between Nazi-occupied Poland and the frenetic pace of modern life, Kelly Rimmer creates an emotional and finely wrought narrative. The Things We Cannot Say is an unshakable reminder of the devastation when truth is silenced...and how it can take a lifetime to find our voice before we learn to trust it.
format_arlingtonBook
Large Type
eBook
format_category_arlingtonBooks
eBook
id9a5023af-65c1-8908-f01f-e10ccba16365
isbn9781432864989
9781488096785
9781525823565
9781525831515
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b20624013.i22427016Central New FictionF RIMME1falsefalseOn HoldshelfJan 19, 2020cafn
ils:.b20624013.i22375181Columbia Pike New FictionF RIMME1falsefalseOn HoldshelfJan 15, 2020oafn
ils:.b20681276.i22561924Shirlington New Large TypeLT F RIMME1falsefalseOn HoldshelfJan 11, 2020safln
overdrive:58b873cd-2f95-4b18-a8e2-98504a874ca1-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
itype_arlingtonHardback
Paperback
last_indexed2020-01-24T17:51:14.077Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_arlingtonF RIMME
LT F RIMME
Online OverDrive
local_time_since_added_arlingtonYear
owning_library_arlingtonArlington Public Library
Aurora Hills
Central
Cherrydale
Columbia Pike
Connection Crystal City
Detention Center
Glencarlyn
Local History
Plaza
Shirlington
Westover
owning_location_arlingtonCentral
Columbia Pike
Shirlington
primary_isbn9781525823565
publishDate2019
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b20624013BookBooksEnglishGraydon House, [2019]416 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm.
ils:.b20681276Large TypeBooksLarge print edition.EnglishThorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2019.661 pages (large print) : illustrations ; 23 cm.
overdrive:58b873cd-2f95-4b18-a8e2-98504a874ca1eBookeBookEnglishGraydon House Books2019
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b20624013.i22427016Checked OutOn Holdshelffalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b20624013.i22375181Checked OutOn Holdshelffalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b20681276.i22561924Checked OutOn Holdshelffalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
overdrive:58b873cd-2f95-4b18-a8e2-98504a874ca1-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetFamily secrets -- Fiction
Grandmothers -- Fiction
Large type books
World War, 1939-1945 -- Poland -- Fiction
title_displayThe things we cannot say
title_fullThe Things We Cannot Say A Novel
The things we cannot say / by Kelly Rimmer
title_shortThe things we cannot say
title_subA Novel
topic_facetFiction
Historical Fiction
Literature