The things we cannot say

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Graydon House,
Pub. Date:
[2019]
Language:
English
Description
“Kelly Rimmer has outdone herself. I thought that Before I Let You Go was one of the best novels I had ever read…If you only have time to read one book this year The Things We Cannot Say should be that book. Keep tissues handy.”—Fresh Fiction“Fans of The Nightingale and Lilac Girls will adore The Things We Cannot Say.” —Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling authorIn 1942, Europe remains in the relentless grip of war. Just beyond the tents of the Russian refugee camp she calls home, a young woman speaks her wedding vows. It’s a decision that will alter her destiny…and it’s a lie that will remain buried until the next century.Since she was nine years old, Alina Dziak knew she would marry her best friend, Tomasz. Now fifteen and engaged, Alina is unconcerned by reports of Nazi soldiers at the Polish border, believing her neighbors that they pose no real threat, and dreams instead of the day Tomasz returns from college in Warsaw so they can be married. But little by little, injustice by brutal injustice, the Nazi occupation takes hold, and Alina’s tiny rural village, its families, are divided by fear and hate.Then, as the fabric of their lives is slowly picked apart, Tomasz disappears. Where Alina used to measure time between visits from her beloved, now she measures the spaces between hope and despair, waiting for word from Tomasz and avoiding the attentions of the soldiers who patrol her parents’ farm. But for now, even deafening silence is preferable to grief.Slipping between Nazi-occupied Poland and the frenetic pace of modern life, Kelly Rimmer creates an emotional and finely wrought narrative. The Things We Cannot Say is an unshakable reminder of the devastation when truth is silenced…and how it can take a lifetime to find our voice before we learn to trust it.
More Details
ISBN:
9781525823565
9781525831515
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 9a5023af-65c1-8908-f01f-e10ccba16365
Grouping Title things we cannot say
Grouping Author rimmer kelly
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-06-24 10:54:22AM
Last Indexed 2019-06-24 10:55:23AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Rimmer, Kelly,
author_display Rimmer, Kelly
collection_arlington New Fiction
detailed_location_arlington Central New Fiction, Cherrydale New Fiction
display_description
format_arlington Book
format_category_arlington Books
id 9a5023af-65c1-8908-f01f-e10ccba16365
isbn 9781525823565, 9781525831515
item_details ils:.b20624013|.i22375181|Central New Fiction|F RIMME|||1|false|false|||||On Holdshelf|Jun 18, 2019|cafn||, ils:.b20624013|.i22427016|Cherrydale New Fiction|F RIMME|||1|false|false|||||Due Jun 20, 2019|May 28, 2019|hafn||
itype_arlington Hardback, Paperback
last_indexed 2019-06-24T14:55:23.48Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington F RIMME
local_time_since_added_arlington Six Months, Year
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central, Cherrydale
primary_isbn 9781525823565
publishDate 2019
record_details ils:.b20624013|Book|Books||English|Graydon House,|[2019]|416 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b20624013 .i22375181 Checked Out On Holdshelf false false true false false true 9999
ils:.b20624013 .i22427016 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true 9999
subject_facet Family secrets -- Fiction, Grandmothers -- Fiction, World War, 1939-1945 -- Poland -- Fiction
title_display The things we cannot say
title_full The things we cannot say / by Kelly Rimmer
title_short The things we cannot say