Get the New Arlington Public Library App for Apple/Android 

The dead shall not rest: Dr. Thomas Silkstone Mystery Series, Book 2

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
The brilliant anatomist Dr. Thomas Silkstone returns in Tessa Harris's vivid and compelling mystery series set in 1780s London. . .It is not just the living who are prey to London's criminals and cutpurses. Corpses, too, are fair game--dug up from fresh graves and sold to unscrupulous men of science. Dr. Thomas Silkstone abhors such methods, but his leading rival, Dr. John Hunter, has learned of the imminent death of eight-foot-tall Charles Byrne, known as the "Irish Giant," and will go to any lengths to obtain the body for his research.Thomas intends to see that Byrne is allowed to rest in peace. Yet his efforts are complicated by concern for his betrothed, Lady Lydia Farrell, who breaks off their engagement without explanation. When Dr. Hunter is implicated in the horrific murder of a young castrato, Thomas must determine how far the increasingly erratic surgeon will go in the name of knowledge. For as Thomas knows too well, the blackest hearts sometimes go undetected--and even an unblemished façade can hide terrifying secrets. . .Praise for The Anatomist's Apprentice"Densely plotted. . . We await--indeed, demand--the sequel." --The New York Times Book Review"An absorbing debut. . . Harris has more than a few tricks up her sleeve and even veteran armchair puzzle solvers are likely to be surprised." --Publishers Weekly"Smart misdirection and time-period appropriate medical details make for a promising start to a new series. A strong choice for readers of Ariana Franklin and Caleb Carr." --Library Journal"CSI meets the Age of Reason with a well-drawn, intriguing cast of characters, headed by the brilliant Dr. Thomas Silkstone. Full of twists and turns, Tessa Harris's debut mystery can confound the most adept reader. Vivid details pulled me right into the world of early forensic sleuthing. A page turner!" --Karen Harper"Intricate forensic details and a host of intriguing characters drive the story. The author will have you flipping the pages at each unexpected turn in the plot. . .an absorbing read with a shocking twist at the end." --Historical Novel Reviews"Tessa Harris has delivered a deftly plotted debut. Just when you think the puzzle is solved, she reveals yet another surprising twist which leaves you marveling at her ingenuity." --Carol Carr, author ofIndia Black and The Widow of WindsorA READING GROUP GUIDEDiscussion Questions1. What are the parallels between the powerful physicians in the novel and the multinational drug companies of today?2. How does Thomas develop as a character in this, the second book in the series?3. Does the course of the War of Independence affect any attitudes toward Thomas in this book?4. Anatomists in the eighteenth century found corpses so hard to come by that they were forced to turn to grave robbers for a regular supply. Nowadays, more people donate their bodies to science. Would you?5. Should organ donation be made compulsory?6. Freak shows have long been considered an affront to human dignity, but in an age with little social welfare, what was the alternative for the severely disabled?7. Charles Byrne and Count Boruwlaski both have major disabilities but are treated in very different ways. Why is this so, and how would they be treated today?8. How far do revelations about Lydia's past go to explain her submissive character?9. Was John Hunter a medical visionary or an evil obsessive?10. Charles Byrne's skeleton remains on display in the Hunterian Museum in London to this day. Should he be given a proper burial?
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780758266996
9781481592512
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID a0448301-f736-bad1-fc07-7f6bee74d447
full_title dead shall not rest
author harris tessa
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-05-27 17:09:48PM

Solr Details

_version_ 1568585214370775040
accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Vance, Simon.
author Harris, Tessa.
author-letter Harris, Tessa.
author2 Harris, Tessa., Vance, Simon., hoopla digital.
author2-role Vance, Simon.|Narrator, hoopla digital.
author_additional Tessa Harris.
author_display Harris, Tessa
availability_toggle_arlington Available Now, Available Online, Entire Collection
available_at_arlington Central, Cherrydale
callnumber_sort_arlington D HARRI
collection_arlington Detectives
date_added 2012-12-21T05:00:00Z
days_since_added 1618
detailed_location_arlington Central Detectives, Cherrydale Detectives, hoopla
display_description It is not just the living who are prey to 1780s London's criminals and cutpurses. Corpses, too, are fair game - dug up from fresh graves and sold to men of science for dissection. Dr. Thomas Silkstone's unscrupulous rival, Dr. John Hunter, has learned of the imminent death of eight-foot-tall Charles Byrne, known as the "Irish Giant," and is obsessed with obtaining the body for his research. When Dr. Hunter is implicated in the horrific murder of a young castrato, Thomas must determine how far the increasingly erratic surgeon will go in the name of knowledge. For as Thomas knows, the blackest hearts sometimes go undetected until it's too late.
econtent_device Android, BlackBerry, Kindle Fire, Mac, Windows, iPad, iPhone, iPod touch
econtent_protection_type_arlington Limited Access, external
econtent_source_arlington OverDrive, hoopla
edition Unabridged.
format_arlington Book, eAudio, eAudiobook
format_boost 26
format_category_arlington Audio Books, Books, eBook
genre Fiction
genre_facet Fiction
grouping_category book
id a0448301-f736-bad1-fc07-7f6bee74d447
isbn 9780758266996, 9781481592512
item_details external_econtent:ils:.b14956330||hoopla|Online|eAudio|Audio Books|1|false|true|hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/10878721||Available Online||qafea||, ils:.b14019802|.i17944065|Cherrydale Detectives|D HARRI|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|May 10, 2017|hafd||, ils:.b14019802|.i18560969|Central Detectives|D HARRI|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|May 23, 2016|cafd||, overdrive:cd917693-9842-484d-9f04-09f3919c0415|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_arlington , Hardback, Paperback, eCollection
language English
language_boost 10
language_boost_es 1
lexile_code
lexile_score -1
lib_boost_arlington 50
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington D HARRI, Online, Online OverDrive
local_callnumber_exact_arlington D HARRI, Online, Online OverDrive
local_callnumber_left_arlington D HARRI, Online, Online OverDrive
local_days_since_added_arlington 1618
num_holdings 3
oclc (OCoLC)812070860
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Arlington Public Library Online, Aurora Hills, Aurora Hills Online, Central, Central Online, Cherrydale, Cherrydale Online, Columbia Pike, Columbia Pike Online, Connection Crystal City, Connection Crystal City Online, Detention Center, Detention Center Online, Glencarlyn, Glencarlyn Online, Local History, Local History Online, Plaza, Plaza Online, Shirlington, Shirlington Online, Westover, Westover Online
owning_location_arlington Central, Cherrydale
physical 1 online resource (1 audio file (10hr., 24 min.)) : digital., viii, 338 p. ; 21 cm.
popularity 8
primary_isbn 9780758266996
publishDate 2012, 2013
publishDateSort 2012
publisher Blackstone Audio, Inc., Kensington Publishing,
rating 2.5
rating_facet oneStar, twoStar
record_details external_econtent:ils:.b14956330|eAudio|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English||2012|1 online resource (1 audio file (10hr., 24 min.)) : digital., ils:.b14019802|Book|Books||English|Kensington Publishing,|c2013.|viii, 338 p. ; 21 cm., overdrive:cd917693-9842-484d-9f04-09f3919c0415|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Blackstone Audio, Inc.|2012|
recordtype grouped_work
scope_has_related_records a, arlington, c, d, g, h, o, p, s, u, v, w
scoping_details_arlington external_econtent:ils:.b14956330||Available Online|Available Online|false|true|false|false|false|true|||, ils:.b14019802|.i17944065|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999||, ils:.b14019802|.i18560969|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999||, overdrive:cd917693-9842-484d-9f04-09f3919c0415|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false|||
series Dr. Thomas Silkstone Mystery
series2 Dr. Thomas Silkstone mystery.
series_with_volume Dr. Thomas Silkstone Mystery, Dr. Thomas Silkstone mystery
subject_facet London (England) -- History -- 18th century -- Fiction, London (England) -- Social life and customs -- 18th century -- Fiction, Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction, Physicians -- England -- London -- Fiction, Physicians -- Fiction, Private investigators -- Fiction, Surgeons -- Fiction
target_audience Adult
target_audience_full Adult
title The dead shall not rest Dr. Thomas Silkstone Mystery Series, Book 2
title_display The dead shall not rest
title_full The Dead Shall Not Rest Dr. Thomas Silkstone Mystery Series, Book 2, The dead shall not rest / Tessa Harris, The dead shall not rest [electronic resource] / Tessa Harris
title_short The dead shall not rest
title_sort dead shall not rest
title_sub Dr. Thomas Silkstone Mystery Series, Book 2
topic Fiction, Mystery
topic_facet Fiction, Mystery