The dead shall not rest

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
The brilliant anatomist Dr. Thomas Silkstone returns in Tessa Harris's vivid and compelling mystery series set in 1780s London. . .It is not just the living who are prey to London's criminals and cutpurses. Corpses, too, are fair game--dug up from fresh graves and sold to unscrupulous men of science. Dr. Thomas Silkstone abhors such methods, but his leading rival, Dr. John Hunter, has learned of the imminent death of eight-foot-tall Charles Byrne, known as the "Irish Giant," and will go to any lengths to obtain the body for his research.Thomas intends to see that Byrne is allowed to rest in peace. Yet his efforts are complicated by concern for his betrothed, Lady Lydia Farrell, who breaks off their engagement without explanation. When Dr. Hunter is implicated in the horrific murder of a young castrato, Thomas must determine how far the increasingly erratic surgeon will go in the name of knowledge. For as Thomas knows too well, the blackest hearts sometimes go undetected--and even an unblemished façade can hide terrifying secrets. . .Praise for The Anatomist's Apprentice"Densely plotted. . . We await--indeed, demand--the sequel." --The New York Times Book Review"An absorbing debut. . . Harris has more than a few tricks up her sleeve and even veteran armchair puzzle solvers are likely to be surprised." --Publishers Weekly"Smart misdirection and time-period appropriate medical details make for a promising start to a new series. A strong choice for readers of Ariana Franklin and Caleb Carr." --Library Journal"CSI meets the Age of Reason with a well-drawn, intriguing cast of characters, headed by the brilliant Dr. Thomas Silkstone. Full of twists and turns, Tessa Harris's debut mystery can confound the most adept reader. Vivid details pulled me right into the world of early forensic sleuthing. A page turner!" --Karen Harper"Intricate forensic details and a host of intriguing characters drive the story. The author will have you flipping the pages at each unexpected turn in the plot. . .an absorbing read with a shocking twist at the end." --Historical Novel Reviews"Tessa Harris has delivered a deftly plotted debut. Just when you think the puzzle is solved, she reveals yet another surprising twist which leaves you marveling at her ingenuity." --Carol Carr, author ofIndia Black and The Widow of WindsorA READING GROUP GUIDEDiscussion Questions1. What are the parallels between the powerful physicians in the novel and the multinational drug companies of today?2. How does Thomas develop as a character in this, the second book in the series?3. Does the course of the War of Independence affect any attitudes toward Thomas in this book?4. Anatomists in the eighteenth century found corpses so hard to come by that they were forced to turn to grave robbers for a regular supply. Nowadays, more people donate their bodies to science. Would you?5. Should organ donation be made compulsory?6. Freak shows have long been considered an affront to human dignity, but in an age with little social welfare, what was the alternative for the severely disabled?7. Charles Byrne and Count Boruwlaski both have major disabilities but are treated in very different ways. Why is this so, and how would they be treated today?8. How far do revelations about Lydia's past go to explain her submissive character?9. Was John Hunter a medical visionary or an evil obsessive?10. Charles Byrne's skeleton remains on display in the Hunterian Museum in London to this day. Should he be given a proper burial?
More Details
ISBN:
9780758266996
9780758286222
9781481592512
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDa0448301-f736-bad1-fc07-7f6bee74d447
Grouping Titledead shall not rest
Grouping Authorharris tessa
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-12-07 04:43:12AM
Last Indexed2019-12-07 04:44:14AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorHarris, Tessa.
author_displayTessa Harris
available_at_arlingtonCherrydale
Columbia Pike
collection_arlingtonDetectives
detailed_location_arlingtonCherrydale Detectives
Columbia Pike Detectives
display_descriptionIt is not just the living who are prey to 1780s London's criminals and cutpurses. Corpses, too, are fair game - dug up from fresh graves and sold to men of science for dissection. Dr. Thomas Silkstone's unscrupulous rival, Dr. John Hunter, has learned of the imminent death of eight-foot-tall Charles Byrne, known as the "Irish Giant," and is obsessed with obtaining the body for his research. When Dr. Hunter is implicated in the horrific murder of a young castrato, Thomas must determine how far the increasingly erratic surgeon will go in the name of knowledge. For as Thomas knows, the blackest hearts sometimes go undetected until it's too late.
format_arlingtonBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_arlingtonAudio Books
Books
eBook
ida0448301-f736-bad1-fc07-7f6bee74d447
isbn9780758266996
9780758286222
9781481592512
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b14019802.i17944065Cherrydale DetectivesD HARRI1falsefalseOn ShelfOct 06, 2018hafd
ils:.b14019802.i18560969Columbia Pike DetectivesD HARRI1falsefalseOn ShelfOct 01, 2019oafd
overdrive:f0205d08-55d1-4257-91c8-2f74e9f80c63-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:cd917693-9842-484d-9f04-09f3919c0415-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
itype_arlingtonHardback
Paperback
last_indexed2019-12-07T09:44:14.67Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_arlingtonD HARRI
Online OverDrive
owning_library_arlingtonArlington Public Library
Aurora Hills
Central
Cherrydale
Columbia Pike
Connection Crystal City
Detention Center
Glencarlyn
Local History
Plaza
Shirlington
Westover
owning_location_arlingtonCherrydale
Columbia Pike
primary_isbn9780758266996
publishDate2012
2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b14019802BookBooksEnglishKensington Publishing, [2013]viii, 338 pages ; 21.
overdrive:f0205d08-55d1-4257-91c8-2f74e9f80c63eBookeBookEnglishKensington Books2013
overdrive:cd917693-9842-484d-9f04-09f3919c0415eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBlackstone Publishing2012
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b14019802.i17944065On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14019802.i18560969On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
overdrive:f0205d08-55d1-4257-91c8-2f74e9f80c63-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:cd917693-9842-484d-9f04-09f3919c0415-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
seriesDr. Thomas Silkstone mysteries
series_with_volumeDr. Thomas Silkstone mysteries|2
subject_facetLondon (England) -- History -- 18th century -- Fiction
London (England) -- Social life and customs -- 18th century -- Fiction
Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction
Physicians -- Fiction
Private investigators -- Fiction
Surgeons -- Fiction
title_displayThe dead shall not rest
title_fullThe Dead Shall Not Rest
The dead shall not rest / Tessa Harris
title_shortThe dead shall not rest
topic_facetFiction
Historical Fiction
Mystery