Treachery: the shocking story of the British betrayals, blunders, and cover-ups that resulted in six decades of devastating Soviet espionage against America and Great Britain

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Random House,
Pub. Date:
2009.
Language:
English
Description
For readers of Legacy of Ashes comes an extraordinary and immensely readable account of six disastrous decades of Soviet espionage—from noted intelligence authority Chapman PincherThis landmark book is a massive, meticulous, and utterly riveting account of the duplicity and incompetence that characterized twentieth-century Soviet espionage and the British response to it.Using a huge cache of recently released documents and exclusive interviews, Chapman Pincher makes a compelling new case that—as he has long believed—the head of Britain’s own MI5, Roger Hollis, was a double agent acting to undermine and imperil the United Kingdom and America. Here too, Pincher provides an exciting new perspective on the most famous operatives of our time, from Kim Philby to Klaus Fuchs, and recounts suspect incidences of dark happenstance and coincidence, such as the infamous “Profumo Affair” sex scandal.Written with the power of a heart-pounding thriller, Treachery is a warning about protecting our societies and institutions from enemy infiltration, and is bound to become a much-cited source now that Russia is dangerously flexing its military—and espionage—muscles once again.
More Details
ISBN:
9781400068074
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDa1c654b4-8fd3-8769-7f83-6ec086dd5a96
Grouping Titletreachery the shocking story of the british betrayals blunders and cover ups that resulted in six de
Grouping Authorpincher chapman
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-12-02 06:06:21AM
Last Indexed2019-12-08 04:48:18AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorPincher, Chapman.
author_displayPincher, Chapman
collection_arlingtonAdult Nonfiction
detailed_location_arlingtonCentral Adult Nonfiction
display_description
format_arlingtonBook
format_category_arlingtonBooks
ida1c654b4-8fd3-8769-7f83-6ec086dd5a96
isbn9781400068074
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b13116411.i1408689xCentral Adult Nonfiction327.12 PINCH1falsefalseDue Dec 26, 2019Mar 06, 2017can
itype_arlingtonHardback
last_indexed2019-12-08T09:48:18.61Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington327.12 PINCH
owning_library_arlingtonArlington Public Library
Aurora Hills
Central
Cherrydale
Columbia Pike
Connection Crystal City
Detention Center
Glencarlyn
Local History
Plaza
Shirlington
Westover
owning_location_arlingtonCentral
primary_isbn9781400068074
publishDate2009
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b13116411BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishRandom House, 2009.xiv, 679 pages ; 24.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b13116411.i1408689xChecked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
subject_facetEspionage -- United States -- History -- 20th century
Espionage, British -- History -- 20th century
Espionage, Soviet -- Great Britain -- History
Espionage, Soviet -- United States -- History
title_displayTreachery : the shocking story of the British betrayals, blunders, and cover-ups that resulted in six decades of devastating Soviet espionage against America and Great Britain
title_fullTreachery : the shocking story of the British betrayals, blunders, and cover-ups that resulted in six decades of devastating Soviet espionage against America and Great Britain / Chapman Pincher
title_shortTreachery
title_subthe shocking story of the British betrayals, blunders, and cover-ups that resulted in six decades of devastating Soviet espionage against America and Great Britain