Treachery: the shocking story of the British betrayals, blunders, and cover-ups that resulted in six decades of devastating Soviet espionage against America and Great Britain

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Random House,
Pub. Date:
2009.
Language:
English
Description
For readers of Legacy of Ashes comes an extraordinary and immensely readable account of six disastrous decades of Soviet espionage—from noted intelligence authority Chapman PincherThis landmark book is a massive, meticulous, and utterly riveting account of the duplicity and incompetence that characterized twentieth-century Soviet espionage and the British response to it.Using a huge cache of recently released documents and exclusive interviews, Chapman Pincher makes a compelling new case that—as he has long believed—the head of Britain’s own MI5, Roger Hollis, was a double agent acting to undermine and imperil the United Kingdom and America. Here too, Pincher provides an exciting new perspective on the most famous operatives of our time, from Kim Philby to Klaus Fuchs, and recounts suspect incidences of dark happenstance and coincidence, such as the infamous “Profumo Affair” sex scandal.Written with the power of a heart-pounding thriller, Treachery is a warning about protecting our societies and institutions from enemy infiltration, and is bound to become a much-cited source now that Russia is dangerously flexing its military—and espionage—muscles once again.
More Details
ISBN:
140006807
9781400068074
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID a1c654b4-8fd3-8769-7f83-6ec086dd5a96
full_title treachery the shocking story of the british betrayals blunders and cover ups that resulted in six de
author pincher chapman
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-08-14 05:04:38AM

Solr Details

_version_ 1579325586551078912
accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Pincher, Chapman.
author-letter Pincher, Chapman.
author_additional Chapman Pincher.
author_display Pincher, Chapman
availability_toggle_arlington Available Now, Entire Collection
available_at_arlington Central
callnumber-a UB271.G7
callnumber-first U - Military Science
callnumber-subject UB - Military Administration
callnumber_sort_arlington 327.12 PINCH
collection_arlington Adult Nonfiction
date_added 2011-01-26T05:00:00Z
days_since_added 2432
detailed_location_arlington Central Adult Nonfiction
display_description
edition 1st ed.
format_arlington Book
format_boost 10
format_category_arlington Books
grouping_category book
id a1c654b4-8fd3-8769-7f83-6ec086dd5a96
isbn 140006807, 9781400068074
item_details ils:.b13116411|.i1408689x|Central Adult Nonfiction|327.12 PINCH|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Mar 06, 2017|can||
itype_arlington Hardback
language English
language_boost 10
language_boost_es 1
lexile_score -1
lib_boost_arlington 50
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington 327.12 PINCH
local_callnumber_exact_arlington 327.12 PINCH
local_callnumber_left_arlington 327.12 PINCH
local_days_since_added_arlington 2432
num_holdings 1
oclc (OCoLC)241304559
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central
physical xiv, 679 p. ; 24 cm.
popularity 3
primary_isbn 140006807
publishDate 2009
publishDateSort 2009
publisher Random House,
rating 2.5
rating_facet oneStar, twoStar
record_details ils:.b13116411|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|Random House,|2009.|xiv, 679 p. ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scope_has_related_records a, arlington, c, d, g, h, o, p, s, u, v, w
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b13116411|.i1408689x|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||
subject_facet Espionage -- United States -- History -- 20th century, Espionage, British -- History -- 20th century, Espionage, Soviet -- Great Britain -- History, Espionage, Soviet -- United States -- History
table_of_contents Introduction admission -- A momentous message -- Duplicity exposed -- A spy called Elli -- Inauspicious start -- Cosmopolitan comrades -- Strange interlude -- Someone for tennis -- Inside MI5 -- The Krivitsky "coincidence" -- Toxic troika -- Traitors to order -- In charge of "Soviet espionage" -- Secrets by the bagful -- Enter Sonia -- Another insidious immigrant -- Signing on -- Calling Moscow -- An enlightening book -- In the city -- Flagrant "divergence" -- Two-headed colossus -- Red light from green -- A high level culprit -- Calamitous clearance -- An enlightening letter -- First atomic spy -- Enormoz -- The strange behaviour of Roger Hollis -- In a new world -- A mystery resolved -- Blind eye to Elli -- The denigration of Igor Gouzenko -- Long shot shot down -- Protective perfidy -- Back in full flood -- Another GRU defector -- The firs fiasco -- Australian assignment -- Betraying the superbomb -- A brilliant break -- Confessions of a kind -- Misleading the Attorney General -- Misleading the Prime Minister -- Alienating the Americans -- Unhampered escape -- Volume of deception -- Hollis at bay -- Italian fiasco -- Another volume of deception -- Betrayal beyond belief -- Rigorous scrutiny for some -- Escape at the double -- A more credible scenario -- A list of nine -- Reluctant riddance -- Suspicious aftermaths -- Pamphlet of deception -- A ruthless defamation -- Master of minimalism -- Warning from Hoover -- Master of disaster -- Another spy in MI6 -- The Penkovsky problem -- Another enlightening case -- Another naval spy -- The strange escape of an arch-traitor -- "The year that the roof fell in" -- Portentous liaison -- The fall of "Supermac" -- Irish interlude -- A sordid deal -- Playing the royal card -- Still more cover-ups -- Suspect finish -- Kid-glove show-down -- Overdue cull -- A crucial call -- Two turncoats -- Brush with the police -- Missing link? -- Sonia resurgent -- The Sanden saga: Part one -- The Sanden saga: Part two -- Censure deferred -- The scroll of anomalies -- Appendix -- References -- Index -- About the author -- About the type.
target_audience Adult
target_audience_full Adult
title Treachery : the shocking story of the British betrayals, blunders, and cover-ups that resulted in six decades of devastating Soviet espionage against America and Great Britain
title_display Treachery : the shocking story of the British betrayals, blunders, and cover-ups that resulted in six decades of devastating Soviet espionage against America and Great Britain
title_full Treachery : the shocking story of the British betrayals, blunders, and cover-ups that resulted in six decades of devastating Soviet espionage against America and Great Britain / Chapman Pincher
title_short Treachery :
title_sort treachery the shocking story of the british betrayals, blunders, and cover-ups that resulted in six decades of devastating soviet espionage against america and great britain
title_sub the shocking story of the British betrayals, blunders, and cover-ups that resulted in six decades of devastating Soviet espionage against America and Great Britain