Treachery: the shocking story of the British betrayals, blunders, and cover-ups that resulted in six decades of devastating Soviet espionage against America and Great Britain

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Random House,
Pub. Date:
2009.
Language:
English
Description
For readers of Legacy of Ashes comes an extraordinary and immensely readable account of six disastrous decades of Soviet espionage—from noted intelligence authority Chapman PincherThis landmark book is a massive, meticulous, and utterly riveting account of the duplicity and incompetence that characterized twentieth-century Soviet espionage and the British response to it.Using a huge cache of recently released documents and exclusive interviews, Chapman Pincher makes a compelling new case that—as he has long believed—the head of Britain’s own MI5, Roger Hollis, was a double agent acting to undermine and imperil the United Kingdom and America. Here too, Pincher provides an exciting new perspective on the most famous operatives of our time, from Kim Philby to Klaus Fuchs, and recounts suspect incidences of dark happenstance and coincidence, such as the infamous “Profumo Affair” sex scandal.Written with the power of a heart-pounding thriller, Treachery is a warning about protecting our societies and institutions from enemy infiltration, and is bound to become a much-cited source now that Russia is dangerously flexing its military—and espionage—muscles once again.
More Details
ISBN:
140006807
9781400068074
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID a1c654b4-8fd3-8769-7f83-6ec086dd5a96
Grouping Title treachery the shocking story of the british betrayals blunders and cover ups that resulted in six de
Grouping Author pincher chapman
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-10-03 04:49:02AM
Last Indexed 2019-08-17 04:52:04AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Pincher, Chapman.
author_display Pincher, Chapman
available_at_arlington Central
collection_arlington Adult Nonfiction
detailed_location_arlington Central Adult Nonfiction
display_description
format_arlington Book
format_category_arlington Books
id a1c654b4-8fd3-8769-7f83-6ec086dd5a96
isbn 140006807
9781400068074
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b13116411 .i1408689x Central Adult Nonfiction 327.12 PINCH 1 false false On Shelf Mar 06, 2017 can
itype_arlington Hardback
last_indexed 2019-08-17T08:52:04.109Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington 327.12 PINCH
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library
Aurora Hills
Central
Cherrydale
Columbia Pike
Connection Crystal City
Detention Center
Glencarlyn
Local History
Plaza
Shirlington
Westover
owning_location_arlington Central
primary_isbn 140006807
publishDate 2009
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b13116411 Book Books First edition. English Random House, 2009. xiv, 679 pages ; 24.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b13116411 .i1408689x On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 9999
subject_facet Espionage -- United States -- History -- 20th century
Espionage, British -- History -- 20th century
Espionage, Soviet -- Great Britain -- History
Espionage, Soviet -- United States -- History
title_display Treachery : the shocking story of the British betrayals, blunders, and cover-ups that resulted in six decades of devastating Soviet espionage against America and Great Britain
title_full Treachery : the shocking story of the British betrayals, blunders, and cover-ups that resulted in six decades of devastating Soviet espionage against America and Great Britain / Chapman Pincher
title_short Treachery :
title_sub the shocking story of the British betrayals, blunders, and cover-ups that resulted in six decades of devastating Soviet espionage against America and Great Britain