Treachery: the shocking story of the British betrayals, blunders, and cover-ups that resulted in six decades of devastating Soviet espionage against America and Great Britain

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Random House,
Pub. Date:
2009.
Language:
English
Description
For readers of Legacy of Ashes comes an extraordinary and immensely readable account of six disastrous decades of Soviet espionage—from noted intelligence authority Chapman PincherThis landmark book is a massive, meticulous, and utterly riveting account of the duplicity and incompetence that characterized twentieth-century Soviet espionage and the British response to it.Using a huge cache of recently released documents and exclusive interviews, Chapman Pincher makes a compelling new case that—as he has long believed—the head of Britain’s own MI5, Roger Hollis, was a double agent acting to undermine and imperil the United Kingdom and America. Here too, Pincher provides an exciting new perspective on the most famous operatives of our time, from Kim Philby to Klaus Fuchs, and recounts suspect incidences of dark happenstance and coincidence, such as the infamous “Profumo Affair” sex scandal.Written with the power of a heart-pounding thriller, Treachery is a warning about protecting our societies and institutions from enemy infiltration, and is bound to become a much-cited source now that Russia is dangerously flexing its military—and espionage—muscles once again.
More Details
ISBN:
140006807
9781400068074
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID a1c654b4-8fd3-8769-7f83-6ec086dd5a96
full_title treachery the shocking story of the british betrayals blunders and cover ups that resulted in six de
author pincher chapman
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-08-14 05:04:38AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Pincher, Chapman.
author_display Pincher, Chapman
available_at_arlington Central
collection_arlington Adult Nonfiction
detailed_location_arlington Central Adult Nonfiction
display_description
format_arlington Book
format_category_arlington Books
id a1c654b4-8fd3-8769-7f83-6ec086dd5a96
isbn 140006807, 9781400068074
item_details ils:.b13116411|.i1408689x|Central Adult Nonfiction|327.12 PINCH|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Mar 06, 2017|can||
itype_arlington Hardback
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington 327.12 PINCH
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central
primary_isbn 140006807
publishDate 2009
record_details ils:.b13116411|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|Random House,|2009.|xiv, 679 p. ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b13116411|.i1408689x|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||
subject_facet Espionage -- United States -- History -- 20th century, Espionage, British -- History -- 20th century, Espionage, Soviet -- Great Britain -- History, Espionage, Soviet -- United States -- History
title_display Treachery : the shocking story of the British betrayals, blunders, and cover-ups that resulted in six decades of devastating Soviet espionage against America and Great Britain
title_full Treachery : the shocking story of the British betrayals, blunders, and cover-ups that resulted in six decades of devastating Soviet espionage against America and Great Britain / Chapman Pincher
title_short Treachery :
title_sub the shocking story of the British betrayals, blunders, and cover-ups that resulted in six decades of devastating Soviet espionage against America and Great Britain