Joker One: a Marine platoon's story of courage, leadership, and brotherhood

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of Jarhead and Band of Brothers, this is the extraordinary story of one Marine platoon's brotherhood, honor, and sacrifice during the battle of Ramadi—arguably the most intense conflict of the Iraq War.
More Details
ISBN:
9781400190744
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID a378c5b7-9773-c087-d7b0-6f65bbfa532f
full_title joker one a marine platoons story of courage leadership and brotherhood
author campbell donovan
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-10-21 23:55:36PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Drummond, David.
author Donovan Campbell
author2-role Drummond, David., hoopla digital.
author_display Campbell, Donovan
detailed_location_arlington hoopla
display_description

In the tradition of Jarhead and Band of Brothers, this is the extraordinary story of one Marine platoon's brotherhood, honor, and sacrifice during the battle of Ramadi---arguably the most intense conflict of the Iraq War.

When Donovan Campbell's platoon deployed to Ramadi in the spring of 2004, they believed they'd be spending most of their time building schools, training police, and making friends with the citizens. But shortly after arriving, when Campbell awoke to the chilling cry of "Jihad, Jihad, Jihad!" echoing from minaret to minaret across the city, he knew they had an altogether different situation on their hands.

For nearly the entire day, Joker-One---the forty-man infantry platoon that Campbell was charged with leading---fought house-to-house to rescue other units, sometimes trading grenades with their enemies from just a few feet away. In the days and months that followed, hundreds of hard-core insurgents launched simultaneous attacks on the Marine forces in Ramadi, their ranks swelled by thousands of local volunteers drawn from the citizens of a city whose primary export was officers in Saddam Hussein's army. By the fall of 2004, nearly half the men in Campbell's platoon had been wounded in some of the fiercest urban fighting since Vietnam; less than a month after they withdrew, the forces in Ramadi were doubled, then tripled.

Although Joker One is set in Iraq, the book's themes---brotherhood, honor, and sacrifice---are universal. Campbell shows us how his Marines' patience, discipline, and love for one another created a whole that is much greater than the sum of its parts, and how the essential goodness of these men remains unchanged by all of the pain and the terror surrounding them. His sharp-eyed, evocative, and unflinching account of his deployment is just as impressive as the man himself---a man who chose to enter the military because of his patriotism, sense of privilege, and deep religious faith when most of his Princeton classmates were cashing in their ivy league educations for lucrative careers among the financial elite. The vivid and gripping battle scenes will satisfy fans of military memoirs, but it's Campbell's sense of duty, faith, and love for his men that makes Joker One a truly extraordinary account of a war that has touched us all.

format_arlington eAudio, eAudiobook
format_category_arlington Audio Books, eBook
id a378c5b7-9773-c087-d7b0-6f65bbfa532f
isbn 9781400190744
item_details external_econtent:ils:.b14976626||hoopla|Online|eAudio|Audio Books|1|false|true|hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/10757114||Available Online||qafea||, overdrive:915a63d3-ec74-4fb9-8312-5a9c56e4ff79|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_arlington , eCollection
lexile_score -1
literary_form Unknown
literary_form_full Unknown
local_callnumber_arlington Online, Online OverDrive
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library Online, Aurora Hills Online, Central Online, Cherrydale Online, Columbia Pike Online, Connection Crystal City Online, Detention Center Online, Glencarlyn Online, Local History Online, Plaza Online, Shirlington Online, Westover Online
primary_isbn 9781400190744
publishDate 2009
record_details external_econtent:ils:.b14976626|eAudio|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English||2009|1 online resource (1 audio file (11hr., 30 min.)) : digital., overdrive:915a63d3-ec74-4fb9-8312-5a9c56e4ff79|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Tantor Media||
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington external_econtent:ils:.b14976626||Available Online|Available Online|false|true|false|false|false|true||||, overdrive:915a63d3-ec74-4fb9-8312-5a9c56e4ff79|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Iraq War, 2003-2011 -- Campaigns -- Iraq -- Ramādī, Iraq War, 2003-2011 -- Personal narratives, American
title_display Joker One
title_full Joker One A Marine Platoon's Story of Courage, Leadership, and Brotherhood, Joker one [electronic resource] : a Marine platoon's story of courage, leadership, and brotherhood / Donovan Campbell
title_short Joker One
title_sub a Marine platoon's story of courage, leadership, and brotherhood
topic_facet History, Nonfiction