My sister's bones: a novel of suspense

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers,
Pub. Date:
2017.
Language:
English
Description

"Rivals The Girl on the Train as a compulsive read (and beats it for style). -- Observer (UK)

In the vein of Fiona Barton's The Widow and Renée Knight's Disclaimer, a psychological thriller about a war reporter who returns to her childhood home after her mother's death but becomes convinced that all is not well in the house next door—but is what she’s seeing real or a symptom of the trauma she suffered in Syria?

The One Person You Should Trust Is Lying to You…Kate has spent fifteen years bringing global injustice home: as a decorated war reporter, she’s always in a place of conflict, writing about ordinary people in unimaginable situations. When her mother dies, Kate returns home from Syria for the funeral. But an incident with a young Syrian boy haunts her dreams, and when Kate sees a boy in the garden of the house next door—a house inhabited by an Iraqi refugee who claims her husband is away and she has no children—Kate becomes convinced that something is very wrong.

As she struggles to separate her memories of Syria from the quiet town in which she grew up—and also to reconcile her memories of a traumatic childhood with her sister’s insistence that all was not as Kate remembers—she begins to wonder what is actually true…and what is just in her mind.In this gripping, timely debut, Nuala Ellwood brings us an unforgettable damaged character, a haunting , humanizing look at the Syrian conflict, and a deeply harrowing psychological thriller that readers won’t be able to put down.

 

More Details
ISBN:
9780062661968
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID a85a296c-779c-8f3c-fb63-6af04de97a6f
full_title my sister s bones
author ellwood nuala
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-12-12 04:56:51AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Ellwood, Nuala,
author_display Ellwood, Nuala
collection_arlington New Fiction
detailed_location_arlington Glencarlyn New Fiction, Westover New Fiction
display_description Kate has spent fifteen years bringing global injustice home: as a decorated war reporter, she{u2019}s always in a place of conflict, writing about ordinary people in unimaginable situations. When her mother dies, Kate returns home from Syria for the funeral. But an incident with a young Syrian boy haunts her dreams, and when Kate sees a boy in the garden of the house next door{u2014}a house inhabited by an Iraqi refugee who claims her husband is away and she has no children{u2014}Kate becomes convinced that something is very wrong. As she struggles to separate her memories of Syria from the quiet town in which she grew up{u2014}and also to reconcile her memories of a traumatic childhood with her sister{u2019}s insistence that all was not as Kate remembers{u2014}she begins to wonder what is actually true{u2026}and what is just in her mind. -- from Amazon.
format_arlington Book
format_category_arlington Books
id a85a296c-779c-8f3c-fb63-6af04de97a6f
isbn 9780062661968
item_details ils:.b1975159x|.i21347736|Westover New Fiction|F ELLWO|||1|false|false|||||Due Dec 30, 2017|Nov 01, 2017|wafn||, ils:.b1975159x|.i21378137|Glencarlyn New Fiction|F ELLWO|||1|false|false|||||In Transit|Dec 01, 2017|gafn||
itype_arlington Paperback
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington F ELLWO
local_time_since_added_arlington Six Months, Year
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Glencarlyn, Westover
primary_isbn 9780062661968
publishDate 2017
record_details ils:.b1975159x|Book|Books|First U.S. edition.|English|William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers,|2017.|xi, 383 pages ; 21 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b1975159x|.i21347736|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b1975159x|.i21378137|In Transit|In Transit|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||
subject_facet Family secrets -- Fiction, Post-traumatic stress disorder -- Fiction, Women journalists -- Fiction
title_display My sister's bones : a novel of suspense
title_full My sister's bones : a novel of suspense / Nuala Ellwood
title_short My sister's bones :
title_sub a novel of suspense