My sister's bones: a novel of suspense

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers,
Pub. Date:
2017.
Language:
English
Description

"Rivals The Girl on the Train as a compulsive read (and beats it for style). -- Observer (UK)

In the vein of Fiona Barton's The Widow and Renée Knight's Disclaimer, a psychological thriller about a war reporter who returns to her childhood home after her mother's death but becomes convinced that all is not well in the house next door—but is what she’s seeing real or a symptom of the trauma she suffered in Syria?

The One Person You Should Trust Is Lying to You…Kate has spent fifteen years bringing global injustice home: as a decorated war reporter, she’s always in a place of conflict, writing about ordinary people in unimaginable situations. When her mother dies, Kate returns home from Syria for the funeral. But an incident with a young Syrian boy haunts her dreams, and when Kate sees a boy in the garden of the house next door—a house inhabited by an Iraqi refugee who claims her husband is away and she has no children—Kate becomes convinced that something is very wrong.

As she struggles to separate her memories of Syria from the quiet town in which she grew up—and also to reconcile her memories of a traumatic childhood with her sister’s insistence that all was not as Kate remembers—she begins to wonder what is actually true…and what is just in her mind.In this gripping, timely debut, Nuala Ellwood brings us an unforgettable damaged character, a haunting , humanizing look at the Syrian conflict, and a deeply harrowing psychological thriller that readers won’t be able to put down.

 

More Details
ISBN:
9780062661968
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDa85a296c-779c-8f3c-fb63-6af04de97a6f
Grouping Titlemy sister s bones
Grouping Authorellwood nuala
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-10-17 04:43:49AM
Last Indexed2019-10-20 04:51:05AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorEllwood, Nuala,
author_displayEllwood, Nuala
available_at_arlingtonCherrydale
collection_arlingtonAdult Fiction
detailed_location_arlingtonCherrydale Adult Fiction
Shirlington Adult Fiction
display_descriptionKate has spent fifteen years bringing global injustice home: as a decorated war reporter, she’s always in a place of conflict, writing about ordinary people in unimaginable situations. When her mother dies, Kate returns home from Syria for the funeral. But an incident with a young Syrian boy haunts her dreams, and when Kate sees a boy in the garden of the house next door—a house inhabited by an Iraqi refugee who claims her husband is away and she has no children—Kate becomes convinced that something is very wrong. As she struggles to separate her memories of Syria from the quiet town in which she grew up—and also to reconcile her memories of a traumatic childhood with her sister’s insistence that all was not as Kate remembers—she begins to wonder what is actually true…and what is just in her mind. -- from Amazon.
format_arlingtonBook
format_category_arlingtonBooks
ida85a296c-779c-8f3c-fb63-6af04de97a6f
isbn9780062661968
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b1975159x.i21378137Cherrydale Adult FictionF ELLWO1falsefalseOn ShelfSep 09, 2019haf
ils:.b1975159x.i21347736Shirlington Adult FictionF ELLWO1falsefalseDue Nov 9, 2019May 26, 2019saf
itype_arlingtonPaperback
last_indexed2019-10-20T08:51:05.602Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_arlingtonF ELLWO
owning_library_arlingtonArlington Public Library
Aurora Hills
Central
Cherrydale
Columbia Pike
Connection Crystal City
Detention Center
Glencarlyn
Local History
Plaza
Shirlington
Westover
owning_location_arlingtonCherrydale
Shirlington
primary_isbn9780062661968
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b1975159xBookBooksFirst U.S. edition.EnglishWilliam Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2017.xi, 383 pages ; 21.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b1975159x.i21378137On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b1975159x.i21347736Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
subject_facetFamily secrets -- Fiction
Post-traumatic stress disorder -- Fiction
Women journalists -- Fiction
title_displayMy sister's bones : a novel of suspense
title_fullMy sister's bones : a novel of suspense / Nuala Ellwood
title_shortMy sister's bones
title_suba novel of suspense