The captain's daughter: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Doubleday,
Pub. Date:
c2017.
Language:
English
Description
"Don't miss this heartfelt story about paths not taken."--People magazineFor fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emma Straub comes an emotionally gripping novel about a woman who returns to her hometown in coastal Maine and finds herself pondering the age-old question of what could have beenGrowing up in Little Harbor, Maine, the daughter of a widowed lobsterman, Eliza Barnes could haul a trap and row a skiff with the best of them. But she always knew she'd leave that life behind. Now that she's married, with two kids and a cushy front-row seat to suburban country club gossip in an affluent Massachusetts town, she feels adrift.When her father injures himself in a boating accident, Eliza pushes the pause button on her own life to come to his aid. But when she arrives in Maine, she discovers her father's situation is more dire than he let on. Eliza's homecoming is further complicated by the reemergence of her first love--and memories of their shared secret. Then Eliza meets Mary Brown, a seventeen-year-old local who is at her own crossroad, and Eliza can't help but wonder what her life would have been like if she'd stayed.Filled with humor, insight, summer cocktails, and gorgeous sunsets, The Captain's Daughter is a compassionate novel about the life-changing choices we make and the consequences we face in their aftermath.
More Details
ISBN:
9781101971574
9780385541251
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID b549d86d-f9bb-8eb6-a4bc-65247f8175db
Full title captain s daughter
Author moore meg mitchell
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-06-23 04:59:42AM
Last Indexed 2018-06-23 05:06:35AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Moore, Meg Mitchell,
author_display Moore, Meg Mitchell
available_at_arlington Shirlington
collection_arlington Adult Fiction, New Fiction
detailed_location_arlington Aurora Hills New Fiction, Cherrydale New Fiction, Plaza New Fiction, Shirlington Adult Fiction
display_description "For fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emma Straub comes an emotionally gripping novel about a woman who returns to her hometown in coastal Maine and finds herself pondering the age-old question of what could have been Growing up in Little Harbor, Maine, the daughter of a widowed lobsterman, Eliza Barnes could haul a trap and row a skiff with the best of them. But she always knew she'd leave that life behind. Now that she's married, with two kids and a cushy front-row seat to suburban country club gossip in an affluent Massachusetts town, she feels adrift. When her father injures himself in a boating accident, Eliza pushes the pause button on her own life to come to his aid. But when she arrives in Maine, she discovers her father's situation is more dire than he let on. Eliza's homecoming is further complicated by the reemergence of her first love--and memories of their shared secret. Then Eliza meets Mary Brown, a seventeen-year-old local who is at her own crossroad, and Eliza can't help but wonder what her life would have been like if she'd stayed. Filled with humor, insight, summer cocktails, and gorgeous sunsets, THE CAPTAIN'S DAUGHTER is a compassionate novel about the life-changing choices we make and the consequences we face in their aftermath"--
format_arlington Book
format_category_arlington Books
id b549d86d-f9bb-8eb6-a4bc-65247f8175db
isbn 9780385541251, 9781101971574
item_details ils:.b19718147|.i21348777|Aurora Hills New Fiction|F MOORE|||1|false|false|||||Due Jul 11, 2018|May 05, 2018|aafn||, ils:.b19718147|.i21348789|Shirlington Adult Fiction|F MOORE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Dec 14, 2017|saf||, ils:.b19718147|.i21405268|Plaza New Fiction|F MOORE|||1|false|false|||||Due Jul 13, 2018|May 01, 2018|pafn||, ils:.b19718147|.i21455557|Cherrydale New Fiction|F MOORE|||1|false|false|||||Due Jul 3, 2018|May 18, 2018|hafn||
itype_arlington Hardback
last_indexed 2018-06-23T09:06:35.558Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington F MOORE
local_time_since_added_arlington Year
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Aurora Hills, Cherrydale, Plaza, Shirlington
primary_isbn 9781101971574
publishDate 2017
record_details ils:.b19718147|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Doubleday,|c2017.|308 pages ; 25 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b19718147 .i21348789 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 999
ils:.b19718147 .i21455557 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true 999
ils:.b19718147 .i21405268 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true 999
ils:.b19718147 .i21348777 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true 999
subject_facet Fathers and daughters -- Fiction, Maine -- Fiction
title_display The captain's daughter : a novel
title_full The captain's daughter : a novel / Meg Mitchell Moore
title_short The captain's daughter :
title_sub a novel