The captain's daughter: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Doubleday,
Pub. Date:
c2017.
Language:
English
Description
PEOPLE magazine says: "Don't miss this heartfelt story about paths not taken."For fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emma Straub comes an emotionally gripping novel about a woman who returns to her hometown in coastal Maine and finds herself pondering the age-old question of what could have beenGrowing up in Little Harbor, Maine, the daughter of a widowed lobsterman, Eliza Barnes could haul a trap and row a skiff with the best of them. But she always knew she'd leave that life behind. Now that she's married, with two kids and a cushy front-row seat to suburban country club gossip in an affluent Massachusetts town, she feels adrift.When her father injures himself in a boating accident, Eliza pushes the pause button on her own life to come to his aid. But when she arrives in Maine, she discovers her father's situation is more dire than he let on. Eliza's homecoming is further complicated by the reemergence of her first love--and memories of their shared secret. Then Eliza meets Mary Brown, a seventeen-year-old local who is at her own crossroad, and Eliza can't help but wonder what her life would have been like if she'd stayed.Filled with humor, insight, summer cocktails, and gorgeous sunsets, THE CAPTAIN'S DAUGHTER is a compassionate novel about the life-changing choices we make and the consequences we face in their aftermath.
More Details
ISBN:
9781101971574
9780385541251
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID b549d86d-f9bb-8eb6-a4bc-65247f8175db
full_title captain s daughter
author moore meg mitchell
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-09-26 04:57:06AM

Solr Details

_version_ 1579533714058117120
accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Moore, Meg Mitchell,
author-letter Moore, Meg Mitchell,
author_additional Meg Mitchell Moore.
author_display Moore, Meg Mitchell
availability_toggle_arlington Entire Collection
callnumber_sort_arlington F MOORE
collection_arlington New Fiction
date_added 2017-07-11T04:00:00Z
days_since_added 76
detailed_location_arlington Central New Fiction, Westover New Fiction
display_description "For fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emma Straub comes an emotionally gripping novel about a woman who returns to her hometown in coastal Maine and finds herself pondering the age-old question of what could have been Growing up in Little Harbor, Maine, the daughter of a widowed lobsterman, Eliza Barnes could haul a trap and row a skiff with the best of them. But she always knew she'd leave that life behind. Now that she's married, with two kids and a cushy front-row seat to suburban country club gossip in an affluent Massachusetts town, she feels adrift. When her father injures himself in a boating accident, Eliza pushes the pause button on her own life to come to his aid. But when she arrives in Maine, she discovers her father's situation is more dire than he let on. Eliza's homecoming is further complicated by the reemergence of her first love--and memories of their shared secret. Then Eliza meets Mary Brown, a seventeen-year-old local who is at her own crossroad, and Eliza can't help but wonder what her life would have been like if she'd stayed. Filled with humor, insight, summer cocktails, and gorgeous sunsets, THE CAPTAIN'S DAUGHTER is a compassionate novel about the life-changing choices we make and the consequences we face in their aftermath"--
edition First edition.
format_arlington Book
format_boost 10
format_category_arlington Books
grouping_category book
id b549d86d-f9bb-8eb6-a4bc-65247f8175db
isbn 9780385541251, 9781101971574
item_details ils:.b19718147|.i21348777|Westover New Fiction|F MOORE|||1|false|false|||||Due Oct 9, 2017|Sep 17, 2017|wafn||, ils:.b19718147|.i21348789|Central New Fiction|F MOORE|||1|false|false|||||Due Oct 2, 2017|Sep 11, 2017|cafn||, ils:.b19718147|.i21405268|Westover New Fiction|F MOORE|||1|false|false|||||In Transit|Sep 25, 2017|wafn||, ils:.b19718147|.i21455557|Westover New Fiction|F MOORE|||1|false|false|||||Due Oct 12, 2017||wafn||
itype_arlington Hardback
language English
language_boost 10
language_boost_es 1
lexile_score -1
lib_boost_arlington 10
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington F MOORE
local_callnumber_exact_arlington F MOORE
local_callnumber_left_arlington F MOORE
local_days_since_added_arlington 76
local_time_since_added_arlington Quarter, Six Months, Year
num_holdings 4
oclc (OCoLC)961249640
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central, Westover
physical 308 pages ; 25 cm.
popularity 15
primary_isbn 9781101971574
publishDate 2017
publishDateSort 2017
publisher Doubleday,
rating 2.5
rating_facet oneStar, twoStar
record_details ils:.b19718147|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Doubleday,|c2017.|308 pages ; 25 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scope_has_related_records a, arlington, c, d, g, h, o, p, s, u, v, w
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b19718147|.i21348777|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19718147|.i21348789|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19718147|.i21405268|In Transit|In Transit|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b19718147|.i21455557|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||
subject_facet Fathers and daughters -- Fiction, Maine -- Fiction
target_audience Adult
target_audience_full Adult
time_since_added Quarter, Six Months, Year
title The captain's daughter : a novel
title_display The captain's daughter : a novel
title_full The captain's daughter : a novel / Meg Mitchell Moore
title_short The captain's daughter :
title_sort captain's daughter a novel
title_sub a novel