Death and the Maiden: Liebermann Papers / Mortalis Series, Book 6

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Series:
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Pub. Date:
2012
Language:
English
Description
Frank Tallis, acclaimed author of the Edgar Award–nominated Vienna Secrets, returns with a new and masterfully woven tale full of deceit, love, and rich mystery. Set in fin de siècle Vienna, it’s perfect for fans of Boris Akunin, Alan Furst, and David Liss.   Ida Rosenkranz is top diva at the Vienna Opera, but she’s gone silent for good after an apparent laudanum overdose. Learning of her professional rivalries and her scandalous affairs with older men, Detective Inspector Oskar Rheinhardt and Dr. Max Liebermann suspect foul play instead. Their investigation leads them into dark and dangerous conflicts with Gustav Mahler, the opera’s imperious director, who is himself the target of a poison pen campaign, and Karl Lueger, Vienna’s powerful and anti-Semitic mayor. As the peril escalates, Rheinhardt grows further into his role as family man, while Liebermann finds himself at odds with his inamorata, Amelia, who’s loosening both her corset and her tongue in the new feminist movement.   PRAISE FOR FRANK TALLIS’S VIENNA THRILLERS   “[A] captivating historical series.”—The New York Times Book Review   “[A] riveting read . . . with well researched and wonderfully imagined period detail.”—The Guardian (U.K.), on Vienna Twilight   “Chock-full of tantalizing elements.”—The Austin Chronicle, on Vienna Secrets   “Engrossing . . . immensely satisfying.”—The Boston Globe, on Fatal Lies
More Details
ISBN:
9780679644866
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID b91f4a2c-4c62-7a43-473b-d6b3770dde94
Grouping Title death and the maiden
Grouping Author tallis frank
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-10-20 04:57:33AM
Last Indexed 2018-10-20 05:00:49AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Frank Tallis
author_display Frank Tallis
display_description

Frank Tallis, acclaimed author of the Edgar Award--nominated Vienna Secrets, returns with a new and masterfully woven tale full of deceit, love, and rich mystery. Set in fin de siècle Vienna, it's perfect for fans of Boris Akunin, Alan Furst, and David Liss.

Ida Rosenkranz is top diva at the Vienna Opera, but she's gone silent for good after an apparent laudanum overdose. Learning of her professional rivalries and her scandalous affairs with older men, Detective Inspector Oskar Rheinhardt and Dr. Max Liebermann suspect foul play instead. Their investigation leads them into dark and dangerous conflicts with Gustav Mahler, the opera's imperious director, who is himself the target of a poison pen campaign, and Karl Lueger, Vienna's powerful and anti-Semitic mayor. As the peril escalates, Rheinhardt grows further into his role as family man, while Liebermann finds himself at odds with his inamorata, Amelia, who's loosening both her corset and her tongue in the new feminist movement.

PRAISE FOR FRANK TALLIS'S VIENNA THRILLERS

"[A] captivating historical series."--The New York Times Book Review

"[A] riveting read . . . with well researched and wonderfully imagined period detail."--The Guardian (U.K.), on Vienna Twilight

"Chock-full of tantalizing elements."--The Austin Chronicle, on Vienna Secrets

"Engrossing . . . immensely satisfying."--The Boston Globe, on Fatal Lies

format_arlington eBook
format_category_arlington eBook
id b91f4a2c-4c62-7a43-473b-d6b3770dde94
isbn 9780679644866
item_details overdrive:c75b6e2e-8035-4ed7-b826-72fa3f0e4010|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_arlington
last_indexed 2018-10-20T09:00:49.335Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington Online OverDrive
primary_isbn 9780679644866
publishDate 2012
record_details overdrive:c75b6e2e-8035-4ed7-b826-72fa3f0e4010|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2012|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:c75b6e2e-8035-4ed7-b826-72fa3f0e4010 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
series Liebermann papers
series_with_volume Liebermann papers|6
title_display Death and the Maiden
title_full Death and the Maiden Liebermann Papers / Mortalis Series, Book 6
title_short Death and the Maiden
title_sub Liebermann Papers / Mortalis Series, Book 6
topic_facet Fiction, Historical Fiction, Mystery