Death and the Maiden: Liebermann Papers / Mortalis Series, Book 6

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Frank Tallis, acclaimed author of the Edgar Award–nominated Vienna Secrets, returns with a new and masterfully woven tale full of deceit, love, and rich mystery. Set in fin de siècle Vienna, it’s perfect for fans of Boris Akunin, Alan Furst, and David Liss.   Ida Rosenkranz is top diva at the Vienna Opera, but she’s gone silent for good after an apparent laudanum overdose. Learning of her professional rivalries and her scandalous affairs with older men, Detective Inspector Oskar Rheinhardt and Dr. Max Liebermann suspect foul play instead. Their investigation leads them into dark and dangerous conflicts with Gustav Mahler, the opera’s imperious director, who is himself the target of a poison pen campaign, and Karl Lueger, Vienna’s powerful and anti-Semitic mayor. As the peril escalates, Rheinhardt grows further into his role as family man, while Liebermann finds himself at odds with his inamorata, Amelia, who’s loosening both her corset and her tongue in the new feminist movement.   PRAISE FOR FRANK TALLIS’S VIENNA THRILLERS   “[A] captivating historical series.”—The New York Times Book Review   “[A] riveting read . . . with well researched and wonderfully imagined period detail.”—The Guardian (U.K.), on Vienna Twilight   “Chock-full of tantalizing elements.”—The Austin Chronicle, on Vienna Secrets   “Engrossing . . . immensely satisfying.”—The Boston Globe, on Fatal Lies
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780792791393
9780679644866
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID b91f4a2c-4c62-7a43-473b-d6b3770dde94
Full title death and the maiden
Author tallis frank
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-06-23 04:59:22AM
Last Indexed 2018-06-23 05:06:16AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Fass, Robert.
author Tallis, Frank.
author2-role Fass, Robert.|Narrator, hoopla digital.
author_display Tallis, Frank
detailed_location_arlington hoopla
display_description

Frank Tallis, acclaimed author of the Edgar Award--nominated Vienna Secrets, returns with a new and masterfully woven tale full of deceit, love, and rich mystery. Set in fin de siècle Vienna, it's perfect for fans of Boris Akunin, Alan Furst, and David Liss.

Ida Rosenkranz is top diva at the Vienna Opera, but she's gone silent for good after an apparent laudanum overdose. Learning of her professional rivalries and her scandalous affairs with older men, Detective Inspector Oskar Rheinhardt and Dr. Max Liebermann suspect foul play instead. Their investigation leads them into dark and dangerous conflicts with Gustav Mahler, the opera's imperious director, who is himself the target of a poison pen campaign, and Karl Lueger, Vienna's powerful and anti-Semitic mayor. As the peril escalates, Rheinhardt grows further into his role as family man, while Liebermann finds himself at odds with his inamorata, Amelia, who's loosening both her corset and her tongue in the new feminist movement.

PRAISE FOR FRANK TALLIS'S VIENNA THRILLERS

"[A] captivating historical series."--The New York Times Book Review

"[A] riveting read . . . with well researched and wonderfully imagined period detail."--The Guardian (U.K.), on Vienna Twilight

"Chock-full of tantalizing elements."--The Austin Chronicle, on Vienna Secrets

"Engrossing . . . immensely satisfying."--The Boston Globe, on Fatal Lies

format_arlington eAudio, eBook
format_category_arlington Audio Books, eBook
id b91f4a2c-4c62-7a43-473b-d6b3770dde94
isbn 9780679644866, 9780792791393
item_details external_econtent:ils:.b15052254||hoopla|Online|eAudio|Audio Books|1|false|true|hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11399020||Available Online||qafea||, overdrive:c75b6e2e-8035-4ed7-b826-72fa3f0e4010|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_arlington , eCollection
last_indexed 2018-06-23T09:06:16.477Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington Online, Online OverDrive
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library Online, Aurora Hills Online, Central Online, Cherrydale Online, Columbia Pike Online, Connection Crystal City Online, Detention Center Online, Glencarlyn Online, Local History Online, Plaza Online, Shirlington Online, Westover Online
primary_isbn 9780792791393
publishDate 2012, 2015
record_details external_econtent:ils:.b15052254|eAudio|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|AudioGO :|2015.|1 online resource (1 audio file (11hr., 30 min.)) : digital., overdrive:c75b6e2e-8035-4ed7-b826-72fa3f0e4010|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2012|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:c75b6e2e-8035-4ed7-b826-72fa3f0e4010 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
external_econtent:ils:.b15052254 Available Online Available Online false true false false false true
series Liebermann papers
series_with_volume Liebermann papers|6
subject_facet Austria -- History -- Franz Joseph I, 1848-1916 -- Fiction, Liebermann, Max (Fictitious character) -- Fiction, Police -- Austria -- Vienna -- Fiction, Psychoanalysts -- Austria -- Vienna -- Fiction, Rheinhardt, Oskar (Fictitious character) -- Fiction
title_display Death and the Maiden
title_full Death and the Maiden Liebermann Papers / Mortalis Series, Book 6, Death and the maiden [electronic resource] / Frank Tallis
title_short Death and the Maiden
title_sub Liebermann Papers / Mortalis Series, Book 6
topic_facet Fiction, Historical Fiction, Mystery