Death and the Maiden: Liebermann Papers / Mortalis Series, Book 6

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Frank Tallis, acclaimed author of the Edgar Award–nominated Vienna Secrets, returns with a new and masterfully woven tale full of deceit, love, and rich mystery. Set in fin de siècle Vienna, it’s perfect for fans of Boris Akunin, Alan Furst, and David Liss.Ida Rosenkranz is top diva at the Vienna Opera, but she’s gone silent for good after an apparent laudanum overdose. Learning of her professional rivalries and her scandalous affairs with older men, Detective Inspector Oskar Rheinhardt and Dr. Max Liebermann suspect foul play instead. Their investigation leads them into dark and dangerous conflicts with Gustav Mahler, the opera’s imperious director, who is himself the target of a poison pen campaign, and Karl Lueger, Vienna’s powerful and anti-Semitic mayor. As the peril escalates, Rheinhardt grows further into his role as family man, while Liebermann finds himself at odds with his inamorata, Amelia, who’s loosening both her corset and her tongue in the new feminist movement.PRAISE FOR FRANK TALLIS’S VIENNA THRILLERS“[A] captivating historical series.”—The New York Times Book Review“[A] riveting read . . . with well researched and wonderfully imagined period detail.”—The Guardian(U.K.), on Vienna Twilight“Chock-full of tantalizing elements.”—The Austin Chronicle, on Vienna Secrets“Engrossing . . . immensely satisfying.”—The Boston Globe, on Fatal Lies
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780792791393
9780679644866
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID b91f4a2c-4c62-7a43-473b-d6b3770dde94
full_title death and the maiden
author tallis frank
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-03-23 04:53:15AM

Solr Details

_version_ 1562650741989965824
accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Fass, Robert.
author Frank Tallis
author-letter Tallis, Frank.
author2 Fass, Robert., hoopla digital.
author2-role Fass, Robert.|Narrator, hoopla digital.
author_additional Frank Tallis.
author_display Tallis, Frank
availability_toggle_arlington Available Now, Available Online, Entire Collection
callnumber_sort_arlington Online OverDrive
date_added 2012-11-20T05:00:00Z
days_since_added 1584
detailed_location_arlington hoopla
display_description

Frank Tallis, acclaimed author of the Edgar Award--nominated Vienna Secrets, returns with a new and masterfully woven tale full of deceit, love, and rich mystery. Set in fin de siècle Vienna, it's perfect for fans of Boris Akunin, Alan Furst, and David Liss.

Ida Rosenkranz is top diva at the Vienna Opera, but she's gone silent for good after an apparent laudanum overdose. Learning of her professional rivalries and her scandalous affairs with older men, Detective Inspector Oskar Rheinhardt and Dr. Max Liebermann suspect foul play instead. Their investigation leads them into dark and dangerous conflicts with Gustav Mahler, the opera's imperious director, who is himself the target of a poison pen campaign, and Karl Lueger, Vienna's powerful and anti-Semitic mayor. As the peril escalates, Rheinhardt grows further into his role as family man, while Liebermann finds himself at odds with his inamorata, Amelia, who's loosening both her corset and her tongue in the new feminist movement.

PRAISE FOR FRANK TALLIS'S VIENNA THRILLERS

"[A] captivating historical series."--The New York Times Book Review

"[A] riveting read . . . with well researched and wonderfully imagined period detail."--The Guardian (U.K.), on Vienna Twilight

"Chock-full of tantalizing elements."--The Austin Chronicle, on Vienna Secrets

"Engrossing . . . immensely satisfying."--The Boston Globe, on Fatal Lies

econtent_device Android, BlackBerry, Kindle, Kindle Fire, Mac, Windows, iPad, iPhone, iPod touch
econtent_protection_type_arlington Limited Access, external
econtent_source_arlington OverDrive, hoopla
edition Unabridged.
format_arlington eAudiobook, eBook
format_boost 18
format_category_arlington Audio Books, eBook
genre Fiction
genre_facet Fiction
grouping_category book
id b91f4a2c-4c62-7a43-473b-d6b3770dde94
isbn 9780679644866, 9780792791393
item_details external_econtent:ils:.b15052254||hoopla|Online|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11399020||Available Online||qafea||, overdrive:c75b6e2e-8035-4ed7-b826-72fa3f0e4010|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_arlington , eCollection
language English
language_boost 10
language_boost_es 1
lexile_code
lexile_score -1
lib_boost_arlington 50
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington Online, Online OverDrive
local_callnumber_exact_arlington Online, Online OverDrive
local_callnumber_left_arlington Online, Online OverDrive
local_days_since_added_arlington 1542
num_holdings 1
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library Online, Aurora Hills Online, Central Online, Cherrydale Online, Columbia Pike Online, Connection Crystal City Online, Detention Center Online, Glencarlyn Online, Local History Online, Plaza Online, Shirlington Online, Westover Online
physical 1 online resource (1 audio file (11hr., 30 min.)) : digital.
popularity 0
primary_isbn 9780792791393
publishDate 2012, 2015
publishDateSort 2012
publisher AudioGO :, Made available through hoopla,, Random House Publishing Group
rating 2.5
rating_facet oneStar, twoStar
record_details external_econtent:ils:.b15052254|eAudiobook|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|AudioGO :|2015.|1 online resource (1 audio file (11hr., 30 min.)) : digital., overdrive:c75b6e2e-8035-4ed7-b826-72fa3f0e4010|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2012|
recordtype grouped_work
scope_has_related_records a, arlington, c, d, g, h, o, p, s, u, v, w
scoping_details_arlington external_econtent:ils:.b15052254||Available Online|Available Online|false|true|false|false|false|true|||, overdrive:c75b6e2e-8035-4ed7-b826-72fa3f0e4010|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false|||
series Liebermann Papers / Mortalis
series_with_volume Liebermann Papers / Mortalis
subject_facet Austria -- History -- Franz Joseph I, 1848-1916 -- Fiction, Liebermann, Max (Fictitious character) -- Fiction, Police -- Austria -- Vienna -- Fiction, Psychoanalysts -- Austria -- Vienna -- Fiction, Rheinhardt, Oskar (Fictitious character) -- Fiction
target_audience Adult
target_audience_full Adult
title Death and the Maiden Liebermann Papers / Mortalis Series, Book 6
title_display Death and the Maiden
title_full Death and the Maiden Liebermann Papers / Mortalis Series, Book 6, Death and the maiden [electronic resource] / Frank Tallis
title_short Death and the Maiden
title_sort Death and the Maiden Liebermann Papers Mortalis Series Book 06
title_sub Liebermann Papers / Mortalis Series, Book 6
topic Fiction, Historical Fiction, Mystery
topic_facet Fiction, Historical Fiction, Mystery