Worlds at war: the 2,500-year struggle between east and west

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of Jared Diamond and Jacques Barzun, prize-winning historian Anthony Pagden presents a sweeping history of the long struggle between East and West, from the Greeks to the present day.The relationship between East and West has always been one of turmoil. In this historical tour de force, a renowned historian leads us from the world of classical antiquity, through the Dark Ages, to the Crusades, Europe's resurgence, and the dominance of the Ottoman Empire, which almost shattered Europe entirely. Pagden travels from Napoleon in Egypt to Europe's carving up of the finally moribund Ottomans-creating the modern Middle East along the way-and on to the present struggles in Iraq.Throughout we learn a tremendous amount about what "East" and "West" were and are, and how it has always been competing worldviews and psychologies, more than religion or power grabs, that have fed the mistrust and violence between East and West. In Pagden's dark but provocative view, this struggle cannot help but go on.
More Details
ISBN:
9781400060672
9781400126293
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDbb89a009-e22d-a878-acd0-e5b1919df4bd
Grouping Titleworlds at war the 2 500 year struggle between east and west
Grouping Authorpagden anthony
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-11-17 04:47:28AM
Last Indexed2019-11-17 04:48:20AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorAnthony Pagden
author_displayPagden, Anthony
available_at_arlingtonCentral
collection_arlingtonAdult Nonfiction
detailed_location_arlingtonCentral Adult Nonfiction
display_description

In the tradition of Jared Diamond and Jacques Barzun, prize-winning historian Anthony Pagden presents a sweeping history of the long struggle between East and West, from the Greeks to the present day.

The relationship between East and West has always been one of turmoil. In this historical tour de force, a renowned historian leads us from the world of classical antiquity, through the Dark Ages, to the Crusades, Europe's resurgence, and the dominance of the Ottoman Empire, which almost shattered Europe entirely. Pagden travels from Napoleon in Egypt to Europe's carving up of the finally moribund Ottomans---creating the modern Middle East along the way---and on to the present struggles in Iraq.

Throughout we learn a tremendous amount about what "East" and "West" were and are, and how it has always been competing worldviews and psychologies, more than religion or power grabs, that have fed the mistrust and violence between East and West. In Pagden's dark but provocative view, this struggle cannot help but go on.

format_arlingtonBook
eAudiobook
format_category_arlingtonAudio Books
Books
eBook
idbb89a009-e22d-a878-acd0-e5b1919df4bd
isbn9781400060672
9781400126293
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b12753580.i13344559Central Adult Nonfiction909 PAGDE1falsefalseOn ShelfFeb 22, 2018can
overdrive:4a9a6fb8-361e-4992-9277-bd5fbe0959a9-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
itype_arlingtonHardback
last_indexed2019-11-17T09:48:20.125Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington909 PAGDE
Online OverDrive
owning_library_arlingtonArlington Public Library
Aurora Hills
Central
Cherrydale
Columbia Pike
Connection Crystal City
Detention Center
Glencarlyn
Local History
Plaza
Shirlington
Westover
owning_location_arlingtonCentral
primary_isbn9781400060672
publishDate2008
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b12753580BookBooksEnglishRandom House, 2008.xxv, 625 pages ; 24.
overdrive:4a9a6fb8-361e-4992-9277-bd5fbe0959a9eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishTantor Media, Inc.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b12753580.i13344559On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
overdrive:4a9a6fb8-361e-4992-9277-bd5fbe0959a9-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetEurope -- Relations -- Islamic countries
Islamic countries -- Relations -- Europe
title_displayWorlds at war : the 2,500-year struggle between east and west
title_fullWorlds at War The 2,500-Year Struggle Between East and West
Worlds at war : the 2,500-year struggle between east and west / Anthony Pagden
title_shortWorlds at war
title_subthe 2,500-year struggle between east and west
topic_facetHistory
Nonfiction