The girl who fell from the sky: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

Rachel, the daughter of a Danish mother and a black G.I., becomes the sole survivor of a family tragedy after a fateful morning on their Chicago rooftop. Forced to move to a new city, with her strict African American grandmother as her guardian, Rachel is thrust for the first time into a mostly black community, where her light brown skin, blue eyes, and beauty bring a constant stream of attention her way. It’s there, as she grows up and tries to swallow her grief, that she comes to understand how the mystery and tragedy of her mother might be connected to her own uncertain identity. This searing and heartwrenching portrait of a young biracial girl dealing with society’s ideas of race and class is the winner of the Bellwether Prize for best fiction manuscript addressing issues of social justice.

More Details
ISBN:
9781565126800
9781598879377
9781565129627
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID c0fbd0b2-6e8d-d02f-3be4-7b734b374ecc
full_title girl who fell from the sky
author durrow heidi w
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-12-15 04:52:42AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Bauer, Emily., McInerney, Kathleen (Actress), Murray, Karen.
author Heidi W. Durrow
author2-role Bauer, Emily., McInerney, Kathleen(Actress), Murray, Karen., hoopla digital.
author_display Durrow, Heidi W
available_at_arlington Aurora Hills, Central, Columbia Pike, Westover
collection_arlington Adult Fiction
detailed_location_arlington Aurora Hills Adult Fiction, Central Adult Fiction, Columbia Pike Adult Fiction, Westover Adult Fiction, hoopla
display_description

This debut novel tells the story of Rachel, the daughter of a Danish mother and a black G.I. who becomes the sole survivor of a family tragedy.

With her strict African American grandmother as her new guardian, Rachel moves to a mostly black community, where her light brown skin, blue eyes, and beauty bring mixed attention her way. Growing up in the 1980s, she learns to swallow her overwhelming grief and confronts her identity as a biracial young woman in a world that wants to see her as either black or white.

In the tradition of Jamaica Kincaid's Annie John and Toni Morrison's The Bluest Eye, here is a portrait of a young girl— and society's ideas of race, class, and beauty. It is the winner of the Bellwether Prize for best fiction manuscript addressing issues of social justice.

format_arlington Book, eAudio, eBook
format_category_arlington Audio Books, Books, eBook
id c0fbd0b2-6e8d-d02f-3be4-7b734b374ecc
isbn 9781565126800, 9781565129627, 9781598879377
item_details external_econtent:ils:.b15085272||hoopla|Online|eAudio|Audio Books|1|false|true|hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11419427||Available Online||qafea||, ils:.b13421864|.i14504352|Aurora Hills Adult Fiction|F DURRO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Oct 23, 2017|aaf||, ils:.b13421864|.i14504364|Columbia Pike Adult Fiction|F DURRO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Oct 07, 2017|oaf||, ils:.b13421864|.i14504376|Westover Adult Fiction|F DURRO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Dec 01, 2017|waf||, ils:.b13421864|.i14504406|Westover Adult Fiction|F DURRO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Dec 05, 2017|waf||, ils:.b13421864|.i14504418|Central Adult Fiction|F DURRO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Oct 22, 2017|caf||, overdrive:21fb98a2-7a66-4106-b9d8-7aa517328a27|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Checked Out||||
itype_arlington , Hardback, eCollection
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington F DURRO, Online, Online OverDrive
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Arlington Public Library Online, Aurora Hills, Aurora Hills Online, Central, Central Online, Cherrydale, Cherrydale Online, Columbia Pike, Columbia Pike Online, Connection Crystal City, Connection Crystal City Online, Detention Center, Detention Center Online, Glencarlyn, Glencarlyn Online, Local History, Local History Online, Plaza, Plaza Online, Shirlington, Shirlington Online, Westover, Westover Online
owning_location_arlington Aurora Hills, Central, Columbia Pike, Westover
primary_isbn 9781565126800
publishDate 2009, 2010
record_details external_econtent:ils:.b15085272|eAudio|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books :|2009.|1 online resource (1 audio file (420 min.)) : digital., ils:.b13421864|Book|Books||English|Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill,|2010.|264 p. ; 22 cm., overdrive:21fb98a2-7a66-4106-b9d8-7aa517328a27|eBook|eBook||English|Algonquin Books|2010|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington external_econtent:ils:.b15085272||Available Online|Available Online|false|true|false|false|false|true||||, ils:.b13421864|.i14504352|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b13421864|.i14504364|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b13421864|.i14504376|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b13421864|.i14504406|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b13421864|.i14504418|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||, overdrive:21fb98a2-7a66-4106-b9d8-7aa517328a27|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Downloadable audio, Identity (Psychology) -- Fiction, Intergenerational relations -- Fiction, Racially mixed children -- Fiction, Streaming audio
title_display The girl who fell from the sky : a novel
title_full The Girl Who Fell from the Sky, The girl who fell from the sky : a novel / Heidi W. Durrow, The girl who fell from the sky : a novel / by Heidi W. Durrow
title_short The girl who fell from the sky :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Fiction, Literature