The girl who fell from the sky: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
A timely and moving bicultural coming-of-age tale, based on a true story and told by an author who has struggled with the same issues as her protagonist.The daughter of a Danish immigrant and a black G.I., Rachel survives a family tragedy only to face new challenges. Sent to live with her strict African-American grandmother in a racially divided Northwest city, she must suppress her grief and reinvent herself in a mostly black community. A beauty with light brown skin and blue eyes, she attracts much attention in her new home. The world wants to see her as either black or white, but that’s not how she sees herself.Meanwhile, a mystery unfolds, revealing the terrible truth about Rachel’s last morning on a Chicago rooftop. Interwoven with her voice are those of Jamie, a neighborhood boy who witnessed the events, and Laronne, a friend of Rachel’s mother. Inspired by a true story of a mother’s twisted love, The Girl Who Fell from the Sky reveals an unfathomable past and explores issues of identity at a time when many people are asking “Must race confine us and define us?”Narrated by an ensemble, with Emily Bauer (Rachel), Kathleen McInerney (Nella), and Karen Murray (Jamie, LaRone, Brick, Roger).
More Details
ISBN:
9781565126800
9781565129627
9781598879377
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID c0fbd0b2-6e8d-d02f-3be4-7b734b374ecc
Grouping Title girl who fell from the sky
Grouping Author durrow heidi w
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-08-21 04:50:30AM
Last Indexed 2018-08-21 04:58:09AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Bauer, Emily., McInerney, Kathleen (Actress), Murray, Karen.
author Durrow, Heidi W., 1969-
author2-role Bauer, Emily., McInerney, Kathleen(Actress), Murray, Karen., hoopla digital.
author_display Durrow, Heidi W
available_at_arlington Central
collection_arlington Adult Fiction
detailed_location_arlington Central Adult Fiction, Shirlington Adult Fiction, hoopla
display_description

This debut novel tells the story of Rachel, the daughter of a Danish mother and a black G.I. who becomes the sole survivor of a family tragedy.

With her strict African American grandmother as her new guardian, Rachel moves to a mostly black community, where her light brown skin, blue eyes, and beauty bring mixed attention her way. Growing up in the 1980s, she learns to swallow her overwhelming grief and confronts her identity as a biracial young woman in a world that wants to see her as either black or white.

In the tradition of Jamaica Kincaid's Annie John and Toni Morrison's The Bluest Eye, here is a portrait of a young girl— and society's ideas of race, class, and beauty. It is the winner of the Bellwether Prize for best fiction manuscript addressing issues of social justice.

format_arlington Book, eAudio, eBook
format_category_arlington Audio Books, Books, eBook
id c0fbd0b2-6e8d-d02f-3be4-7b734b374ecc
isbn 9781565126800, 9781565129627, 9781598879377
item_details external_econtent:ils:.b15085272||hoopla|Online|eAudio|Audio Books|1|false|true|hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11419427||Available Online||qafea||, ils:.b13421864|.i14504352|Central Adult Fiction|F DURRO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Jun 14, 2018|caf||, ils:.b13421864|.i14504364|Central Adult Fiction|F DURRO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Oct 07, 2017|caf||, ils:.b13421864|.i14504406|Shirlington Adult Fiction|F DURRO|||1|false|false|||||Due Sep 2, 2018|Jul 23, 2018|saf||, ils:.b13421864|.i14504418|Central Adult Fiction|F DURRO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Mar 14, 2018|caf||, overdrive:21fb98a2-7a66-4106-b9d8-7aa517328a27|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_arlington , Hardback, eCollection
last_indexed 2018-08-21T08:58:09.418Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington F DURRO, Online, Online OverDrive
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Arlington Public Library Online, Aurora Hills, Aurora Hills Online, Central, Central Online, Cherrydale, Cherrydale Online, Columbia Pike, Columbia Pike Online, Connection Crystal City, Connection Crystal City Online, Detention Center, Detention Center Online, Glencarlyn, Glencarlyn Online, Local History, Local History Online, Plaza, Plaza Online, Shirlington, Shirlington Online, Westover, Westover Online
owning_location_arlington Central, Shirlington
primary_isbn 9781565126800
publishDate 2009, 2010
record_details external_econtent:ils:.b15085272|eAudio|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books :|2009.|1 online resource (1 audio file (420 min.)) : digital., ils:.b13421864|Book|Books||English|Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill,|2010.|264 pages ; 22., overdrive:21fb98a2-7a66-4106-b9d8-7aa517328a27|eBook|eBook||English|Algonquin Books|2010|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
external_econtent:ils:.b15085272 Available Online Available Online false true false false false true
overdrive:21fb98a2-7a66-4106-b9d8-7aa517328a27 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:.b13421864 .i14504418 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 999
ils:.b13421864 .i14504352 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 999
ils:.b13421864 .i14504364 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 999
ils:.b13421864 .i14504406 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true 999
subject_facet Downloadable audio, Identity (Psychology) -- Fiction, Intergenerational relations -- Fiction, Racially mixed children -- Fiction, Streaming audio
title_display The girl who fell from the sky
title_full The Girl Who Fell from the Sky, The girl who fell from the sky / a novel by Heidi W. Durrow, The girl who fell from the sky : a novel / Heidi W. Durrow
title_short The girl who fell from the sky
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Fiction, Literature