The girl who fell from the sky

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2010.
Language:
English
Description

Rachel, the daughter of a Danish mother and a black G.I., becomes the sole survivor of a family tragedy after a fateful morning on their Chicago rooftop. Forced to move to a new city, with her strict African American grandmother as her guardian, Rachel is thrust for the first time into a mostly black community, where her light brown skin, blue eyes, and beauty bring a constant stream of attention her way. It’s there, as she grows up and tries to swallow her grief, that she comes to understand how the mystery and tragedy of her mother might be connected to her own uncertain identity. This searing and heartwrenching portrait of a young biracial girl dealing with society’s ideas of race and class is the winner of the Bellwether Prize for best fiction manuscript addressing issues of social justice.

More Details
ISBN:
9781565126800
9781565129627
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID c0fbd0b2-6e8d-d02f-3be4-7b734b374ecc
Grouping Title girl who fell from the sky
Grouping Author durrow heidi w
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-10-21 04:48:40AM
Last Indexed 2018-10-21 04:52:15AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Durrow, Heidi W., 1969-
author_display Durrow, Heidi W
available_at_arlington Central, Shirlington
collection_arlington Adult Fiction
detailed_location_arlington Central Adult Fiction, Shirlington Adult Fiction
display_description

This debut novel tells the story of Rachel, the daughter of a Danish mother and a black G.I. who becomes the sole survivor of a family tragedy.

With her strict African American grandmother as her new guardian, Rachel moves to a mostly black community, where her light brown skin, blue eyes, and beauty bring mixed attention her way. Growing up in the 1980s, she learns to swallow her overwhelming grief and confronts her identity as a biracial young woman in a world that wants to see her as either black or white.

In the tradition of Jamaica Kincaid's Annie John and Toni Morrison's The Bluest Eye, here is a portrait of a young girl— and society's ideas of race, class, and beauty. It is the winner of the Bellwether Prize for best fiction manuscript addressing issues of social justice.

format_arlington Book, eBook
format_category_arlington Books, eBook
id c0fbd0b2-6e8d-d02f-3be4-7b734b374ecc
isbn 9781565126800, 9781565129627
item_details ils:.b13421864|.i14504352|Central Adult Fiction|F DURRO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Jun 14, 2018|caf||, ils:.b13421864|.i14504364|Central Adult Fiction|F DURRO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Oct 07, 2017|caf||, ils:.b13421864|.i14504406|Shirlington Adult Fiction|F DURRO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Aug 24, 2018|saf||, ils:.b13421864|.i14504418|Central Adult Fiction|F DURRO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Mar 14, 2018|caf||, overdrive:21fb98a2-7a66-4106-b9d8-7aa517328a27|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_arlington , Hardback
last_indexed 2018-10-21T08:52:15.063Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington F DURRO, Online OverDrive
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central, Shirlington
primary_isbn 9781565126800
publishDate 2010
record_details ils:.b13421864|Book|Books||English|Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill,|2010.|264 pages ; 22., overdrive:21fb98a2-7a66-4106-b9d8-7aa517328a27|eBook|eBook||English|Algonquin Books|2010|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:21fb98a2-7a66-4106-b9d8-7aa517328a27 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:.b13421864 .i14504364 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 9999
ils:.b13421864 .i14504418 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 9999
ils:.b13421864 .i14504406 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 9999
ils:.b13421864 .i14504352 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 9999
subject_facet Identity (Psychology) -- Fiction, Intergenerational relations -- Fiction, Racially mixed children -- Fiction
title_display The girl who fell from the sky
title_full The Girl Who Fell from the Sky, The girl who fell from the sky / a novel by Heidi W. Durrow
title_short The girl who fell from the sky
title_sub
topic_facet Fiction, Literature