Get the New Arlington Public Library App for Apple/Android 

The Salt House

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Touchstone Books
Pub. Date:
20170613.
Language:
Unknown
Description
In the tradition of Jodi Picoult and Lisa Genova, this gorgeously written, heartbreaking, yet hopeful debut set during a Maine summer traces the lives of a young family in the aftermath of tragedy.In the coastal town of Alden, Maine, Hope and Jack Kelly have settled down to a life of wedded bliss. They have a beautiful family, a growing lobster business, and the Salt House—the dilapidated oceanfront cottage they’re renovating into their dream home. But tragedy strikes when their young daughter doesn’t wake up from her afternoon nap, taking her last breath without making a sound. A year later, each member of the Kelly family navigates the world on their own private island of grief. Hope spends hours staring at her daughter’s ashes, unable to let go. Jack works to the point of exhaustion in an attempt to avoid his crumbling marriage. Their daughters, Jess and Kat, struggle to come to terms with the loss of their younger sister while watching their parents fall apart. When Jack’s old rival, Ryland Finn, threatens his fishing territory, he ignites emotions that propel the Kelly family toward circumstances that will either tear them apart—or be the path to their family’s future. Told in alternating voices, The Salt House is a layered, emotional portrait of marriage, family, friendship, and the complex intersections of love, grief, and hope.
More Details
ISBN:
9781501156557
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID c43bc0fa-d349-0ab5-a4bb-e8eb4ed25aa5
full_title salt house
author duffy lisa
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-05-17 04:57:08AM

Solr Details

_version_ 1568544077452935168
accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Duffy, Lisa.
author-letter Duffy, Lisa.
author_display Duffy, Lisa
availability_toggle_arlington Entire Collection
callnumber_sort_arlington ON ORDER
collection_arlington On Order
date_added 2017-05-28T10:16:40.817Z
days_since_added -1
detailed_location_arlington Arlington Public Library On Order
display_description
format_arlington Book
format_boost 10
format_category_arlington Books
grouping_category book
id c43bc0fa-d349-0ab5-a4bb-e8eb4ed25aa5
isbn 9781501156557
item_details ils:.b19636969|.o11254890|Arlington Public Library On Order|ON ORDER|||1|true|false|||||On Order||cafn||
itype_arlington
language Unknown
language_boost 1
language_boost_es 1
lexile_code
lexile_score -1
lib_boost_arlington 10
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington ON ORDER
local_callnumber_exact_arlington ON ORDER
local_callnumber_left_arlington ON ORDER
local_days_since_added_arlington -1
local_time_since_added_arlington 2 Months, Day, Month, On Order, Quarter, Six Months, Week, Year
num_holdings 1
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library On Order, Aurora Hills On Order, Central On Order, Cherrydale On Order, Columbia Pike On Order, Connection Crystal City On Order, Detention Center On Order, Glencarlyn On Order, Local History On Order, Plaza On Order, Shirlington On Order, Westover On Order
owning_location_arlington Central On Order
popularity 3
primary_isbn 9781501156557
publishDate 2017
publishDateSort 2017
publisher Touchstone Books
rating 2.5
rating_facet oneStar, twoStar
record_details ils:.b19636969|Book|Books||Unknown|Touchstone Books|20170613.|
recordtype grouped_work
scope_has_related_records a, arlington, c, d, g, h, o, p, s, u, v, w
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b19636969|.o11254890|On Order|On Order|false|false|true|false|false|true|||
target_audience Adult
target_audience_full Adult
time_since_added 2 Months, Day, Month, On Order, Quarter, Six Months, Week, Year
title The Salt House
title_display The Salt House
title_full The Salt House
title_short The Salt House
title_sort salt house
topic Coming Soon, On Order
topic_facet Coming Soon, On Order