The salt house: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Touchstone,
Pub. Date:
c2017.
Language:
English
Description
*Real Simple “Best Books of June” *Refinery29 “Best Beach Reads of 2017” In the tradition of Jodi Picoult and Lisa Genova, this gorgeously written, heartbreaking, yet hopeful debut set during a Maine summer traces the lives of a young family in the aftermath of tragedy.In the coastal town of Alden, Maine, Hope and Jack Kelly have settled down to a life of wedded bliss. They have a beautiful family, a growing lobster business, and the Salt House—the dilapidated oceanfront cottage they’re renovating into their dream home. But tragedy strikes when their young daughter doesn’t wake up from her afternoon nap, taking her last breath without making a sound. A year later, each member of the Kelly family navigates the world on their own private island of grief. Hope spends hours staring at her daughter’s ashes, unable to let go. Jack works to the point of exhaustion in an attempt to avoid his crumbling marriage. Their daughters, Jess and Kat, struggle to come to terms with the loss of their younger sister while watching their parents fall apart. When Jack’s old rival, Ryland Finn, threatens his fishing territory, he ignites emotions that propel the Kelly family toward circumstances that will either tear them apart—or be the path to their family’s future. Told in alternating voices, The Salt House is a layered, emotional portrait of marriage, family, friendship, and the complex intersections of love, grief, and hope.
More Details
ISBN:
9781501156557
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID c43bc0fa-d349-0ab5-a4bb-e8eb4ed25aa5
full_title salt house
author duffy lisa
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-07-08 16:37:34PM

Solr Details

_version_ 1573448797681352704
accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Duffy, Lisa, 1970-
author-letter Duffy, Lisa,
author_additional Lisa Duffy.
author_display Duffy, Lisa
availability_toggle_arlington Entire Collection
callnumber_sort_arlington F DUFFY
collection_arlington New Fiction
date_added 2017-06-08T04:00:00Z
days_since_added 42
detailed_location_arlington Columbia Pike New Fiction
display_description "A gorgeously written debut novel set during a Maine summer, about a family navigating the confusing contradictions of grief, love, and hope after an unforgettable accident."--
edition First Touchstone paperback edition.
format_arlington Book
format_boost 10
format_category_arlington Books
grouping_category book
id c43bc0fa-d349-0ab5-a4bb-e8eb4ed25aa5
isbn 9781501156557
item_details ils:.b19636969|.i21297514|Columbia Pike New Fiction|F DUFFY|||1|false|false|||||Due Jul 24, 2017|Jun 25, 2017|oafn||
itype_arlington Paperback
language English
language_boost 10
language_boost_es 1
lexile_code
lexile_score -1
lib_boost_arlington 10
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington F DUFFY
local_callnumber_exact_arlington F DUFFY
local_callnumber_left_arlington F DUFFY
local_days_since_added_arlington 42
local_time_since_added_arlington 2 Months, Quarter, Six Months, Year
num_holdings 1
oclc (OCoLC)958224337
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Columbia Pike
physical 288 pages ; 22 cm
popularity 3
primary_isbn 9781501156557
publishDate 2017
publishDateSort 2017
publisher Touchstone,
rating 2.5
rating_facet oneStar, twoStar
record_details ils:.b19636969|Book|Books|First Touchstone paperback edition.|English|Touchstone,|c2017.|288 pages ; 22 cm
recordtype grouped_work
scope_has_related_records a, arlington, c, d, g, h, o, p, s, u, v, w
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b19636969|.i21297514|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999|||
subject_facet Families -- Maine -- Fiction
target_audience Adult
target_audience_full Adult
time_since_added 2 Months, Quarter, Six Months, Year
title The salt house : a novel
title_display The salt house : a novel
title_full The salt house : a novel / Lisa Duffy
title_short The salt house :
title_sort salt house a novel
title_sub a novel