The salt house: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
*Real Simple “Best Books of June” *Refinery29 “Best Beach Reads of 2017” In the tradition of Jodi Picoult and Lisa Genova, this gorgeously written, heartbreaking, yet hopeful debut set during a Maine summer traces the lives of a young family in the aftermath of tragedy.In the coastal town of Alden, Maine, Hope and Jack Kelly have settled down to a life of wedded bliss. They have a beautiful family, a growing lobster business, and the Salt House—the dilapidated oceanfront cottage they’re renovating into their dream home. But tragedy strikes when their young daughter doesn’t wake up from her afternoon nap, taking her last breath without making a sound. A year later, each member of the Kelly family navigates the world on their own private island of grief. Hope spends hours staring at her daughter’s ashes, unable to let go. Jack works to the point of exhaustion in an attempt to avoid his crumbling marriage. Their daughters, Jess and Kat, struggle to come to terms with the loss of their younger sister while watching their parents fall apart. When Jack’s old rival, Ryland Finn, threatens his fishing territory, he ignites emotions that propel the Kelly family toward circumstances that will either tear them apart—or be the path to their family’s future. Told in alternating voices, The Salt House is a layered, emotional portrait of marriage, family, friendship, and the complex intersections of love, grief, and hope.
More Details
ISBN:
9781501156557
9781520073279
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID c43bc0fa-d349-0ab5-a4bb-e8eb4ed25aa5
full_title salt house
author duffy lisa
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-09-15 04:56:48AM

Solr Details

_version_ 1579048676030939136
accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Bouvard, Laurence,
author Duffy, Lisa, 1970-
author-letter Duffy, Lisa,
author2 Bouvard, Laurence,, hoopla digital.
author2-role Bouvard, Laurence,narrator., hoopla digital.
author_additional Lisa Duffy.
author_display Duffy, Lisa
availability_toggle_arlington Available Now, Available Online, Entire Collection
available_at_arlington Cherrydale
callnumber_sort_arlington F DUFFY
collection_arlington New Fiction
date_added 2017-06-08T04:00:00Z
days_since_added 104
detailed_location_arlington Cherrydale New Fiction, hoopla
display_description "A gorgeously written debut novel set during a Maine summer, about a family navigating the confusing contradictions of grief, love, and hope after an unforgettable accident."--
econtent_protection_type_arlington external
econtent_source_arlington hoopla
edition First Touchstone paperback edition., Unabridged.
format_arlington Book, eAudio
format_boost 18
format_category_arlington Audio Books, Books
grouping_category book
id c43bc0fa-d349-0ab5-a4bb-e8eb4ed25aa5
isbn 9781501156557, 9781520073279
item_details external_econtent:ils:.b19856556||hoopla|Online|eAudio|Audio Books|1|false|true|hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11894735||Available Online||qafea||, ils:.b19636969|.i21297514|Cherrydale New Fiction|F DUFFY|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Sep 14, 2017|hafn||
itype_arlington Paperback, eCollection
language English
language_boost 10
language_boost_es 1
lexile_score -1
lib_boost_arlington 50
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington F DUFFY, Online
local_callnumber_exact_arlington F DUFFY, Online
local_callnumber_left_arlington F DUFFY, Online
local_days_since_added_arlington 104
local_time_since_added_arlington Six Months, Year
num_holdings 1
oclc (OCoLC)958224337
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Arlington Public Library Online, Aurora Hills, Aurora Hills Online, Central, Central Online, Cherrydale, Cherrydale Online, Columbia Pike, Columbia Pike Online, Connection Crystal City, Connection Crystal City Online, Detention Center, Detention Center Online, Glencarlyn, Glencarlyn Online, Local History, Local History Online, Plaza, Plaza Online, Shirlington, Shirlington Online, Westover, Westover Online
owning_location_arlington Cherrydale
physical 1 online resource (1 audio file (8hr., 35 min.)) : digital., 288 pages ; 22 cm.
popularity 5
primary_isbn 9781501156557
publishDate 2017
publishDateSort 2017
publisher Dreamscape Media, LLC ,, Touchstone,
rating 2.5
rating_facet oneStar, twoStar
record_details external_econtent:ils:.b19856556|eAudio|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Dreamscape Media, LLC ,|2017.|1 online resource (1 audio file (8hr., 35 min.)) : digital., ils:.b19636969|Book|Books|First Touchstone paperback edition.|English|Touchstone,|c2017.|288 pages ; 22 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scope_has_related_records a, arlington, c, d, g, h, o, p, s, u, v, w
scoping_details_arlington external_econtent:ils:.b19856556||Available Online|Available Online|false|true|false|false|false|true||||, ils:.b19636969|.i21297514|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||
subject_facet Downloadable audio, Families -- Maine -- Fiction, Life change events -- Fiction, Streaming audio. -- ocal
target_audience Adult
target_audience_full Adult
time_since_added Six Months, Year
title The salt house : a novel
title_display The salt house : a novel
title_full The salt house : a novel / Lisa Duffy, The salt house [electronic resource] / Lisa Duffy
title_short The salt house :
title_sort salt house a novel
title_sub a novel