The salt house: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Touchstone,
Pub. Date:
©2017.
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of Jodi Picoult and Lisa Genova, this gorgeously written, heartbreaking, yet hopeful debut set during a Maine summer traces the lives of a young family in the aftermath of tragedy.In the coastal town of Alden, Maine, Hope and Jack Kelly have settled down to a life of wedded bliss. They have a beautiful family, a growing lobster business, and the Salt House—the dilapidated oceanfront cottage they’re renovating into their dream home. But tragedy strikes when their young daughter doesn’t wake up from her afternoon nap, taking her last breath without making a sound. A year later, each member of the Kelly family navigates the world on their own private island of grief. Hope spends hours staring at her daughter’s ashes, unable to let go. Jack works to the point of exhaustion in an attempt to avoid his crumbling marriage. Their daughters, Jess and Kat, struggle to come to terms with the loss of their younger sister while watching their parents fall apart. When Jack’s old rival, Ryland Finn, threatens his fishing territory, he ignites emotions that propel the Kelly family toward circumstances that will either tear them apart—or be the path to their family’s future. Told in alternating voices, The Salt House is a layered, emotional portrait of marriage, family, friendship, and the complex intersections of love, grief, and hope.
More Details
ISBN:
9781501156557
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDc43bc0fa-d349-0ab5-a4bb-e8eb4ed25aa5
Grouping Titlesalt house
Grouping Authorduffy lisa
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-10-31 04:43:55AM
Last Indexed2019-11-22 04:44:26AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorDuffy, Lisa, 1970-
author_displayDuffy, Lisa
available_at_arlingtonCentral
collection_arlingtonAdult Fiction
detailed_location_arlingtonCentral Adult Fiction
display_description"A gorgeously written debut novel set during a Maine summer, about a family navigating the confusing contradictions of grief, love, and hope after an unforgettable accident."--
format_arlingtonBook
format_category_arlingtonBooks
idc43bc0fa-d349-0ab5-a4bb-e8eb4ed25aa5
isbn9781501156557
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b19636969.i21297514Central Adult FictionF DUFFY1falsefalseOn ShelfAug 04, 2019caf
itype_arlingtonPaperback
last_indexed2019-11-22T09:44:26.511Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_arlingtonF DUFFY
owning_library_arlingtonArlington Public Library
Aurora Hills
Central
Cherrydale
Columbia Pike
Connection Crystal City
Detention Center
Glencarlyn
Local History
Plaza
Shirlington
Westover
owning_location_arlingtonCentral
primary_isbn9781501156557
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b19636969BookBooksFirst Touchstone paperback edition.EnglishTouchstone, ©2017.288 pages ; 22.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b19636969.i21297514On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
subject_facetFamilies -- Maine -- Fiction
title_displayThe salt house : a novel
title_fullThe salt house : a novel / Lisa Duffy
title_shortThe salt house
title_suba novel