The salt house: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Touchstone,
Pub. Date:
©2017.
Language:
English
Description
*Real Simple “Best Books of June” *Refinery29 “Best Beach Reads of 2017” *Bustle.com “17 Best Debut Novels by Women in 2017” In the tradition of Jodi Picoult and Lisa Genova, this gorgeously written, heartbreaking, yet hopeful debut set during a Maine summer traces the lives of a young family in the aftermath of tragedy.In the coastal town of Alden, Maine, Hope and Jack Kelly have settled down to a life of wedded bliss. They have a beautiful family, a growing lobster business, and the Salt House—the dilapidated oceanfront cottage they’re renovating into their dream home. But tragedy strikes when their young daughter doesn’t wake up from her afternoon nap, taking her last breath without making a sound. A year later, each member of the Kelly family navigates the world on their own private island of grief. Hope spends hours staring at her daughter’s ashes, unable to let go. Jack works to the point of exhaustion in an attempt to avoid his crumbling marriage. Their daughters, Jess and Kat, struggle to come to terms with the loss of their younger sister while watching their parents fall apart. When Jack’s old rival, Ryland Finn, threatens his fishing territory, he ignites emotions that propel the Kelly family toward circumstances that will either tear them apart—or be the path to their family’s future. Told in alternating voices, The Salt House is a layered, emotional portrait of marriage, family, friendship, and the complex intersections of love, grief, and hope.
More Details
ISBN:
9781501156557
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID c43bc0fa-d349-0ab5-a4bb-e8eb4ed25aa5
Grouping Title salt house
Grouping Author duffy lisa
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-08-06 04:40:45AM
Last Indexed 2018-09-18 04:52:44AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Duffy, Lisa, 1970-
author_display Duffy, Lisa
available_at_arlington Westover
collection_arlington Adult Fiction
detailed_location_arlington Westover Adult Fiction
display_description "A gorgeously written debut novel set during a Maine summer, about a family navigating the confusing contradictions of grief, love, and hope after an unforgettable accident."--
format_arlington Book
format_category_arlington Books
id c43bc0fa-d349-0ab5-a4bb-e8eb4ed25aa5
isbn 9781501156557
item_details ils:.b19636969|.i21297514|Westover Adult Fiction|F DUFFY|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Jul 09, 2018|waf||
itype_arlington Paperback
last_indexed 2018-09-18T08:52:44.638Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington F DUFFY
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Westover
primary_isbn 9781501156557
publishDate 2017
record_details ils:.b19636969|Book|Books|First Touchstone paperback edition.|English|Touchstone,|©2017.|288 pages ; 22.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b19636969 .i21297514 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 9999
subject_facet Families -- Maine -- Fiction
title_display The salt house : a novel
title_full The salt house : a novel / Lisa Duffy
title_short The salt house :
title_sub a novel