Get the New Arlington Public Library App for Apple/Android 

Generation kill: Devil Dogs, Iceman, Captain America, and the new face of American war

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of Black Hawk Down and Jarhead comes a searing portrait of young men fighting a modern-day war. A powerhouse work of nonfiction, Generation Kill expands on Evan Wright's acclaimed three-part series that appeared in Rolling Stone during the summer of 2003. His narrative follows the twenty-three marines of First Recon who spearheaded the blitzkrieg on Iraq. This elite unit, nicknamed "First Suicide Battalion," searched out enemy fighters by racing ahead of American battle forces and literally driving into suspected ambush points. Evan Wright lived on the front lines with this platoon from the opening hours of combat, to the fall of Baghdad, through the start of the guerrilla war. He was welcomed into their ranks, and from this bird's-eye perspective he tells the unsettling story of young men trained by their country to be ruthless killers. He chronicles the triumphs and horrors-physical, moral, emotional, and spiritual-that these marines endured while achieving victory in a war many questioned before it began. Wright's book is a timely account of war; even more important, it is a timeless description of the human drama taking place on today's battlefields. Written with brutal honesty, raw intensity, and startling intimacy, Generation Kill is destined to become a classic and take its place in the canon of the most captivating and authentic works of war literature.
More Details
ISBN:
9780425224748
9781400129744
9780399151934
9780786547012
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID cd7120c6-937c-c18a-6b8b-02969d149cf6
full_title generation kill devil dogs iceman captain america and the new face of american war
author wright evan
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-04-29 05:59:26AM

Solr Details

_version_ 1566006862643462144
accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Lawlor, Patrick G.
author Evan Wright
author-letter Wright, Evan.
author2 Lawlor, Patrick G., NetLibrary, Inc., hoopla digital.
author2-role Lawlor, Patrick G., NetLibrary, Inc., hoopla digital.
author_additional Evan Wright.
author_display Wright, Evan
availability_toggle_arlington Available Now, Available Online, Entire Collection
available_at_arlington Aurora Hills, Central, Shirlington
callnumber-a DS79.76
callnumber-first D - World History
callnumber-subject DS - Asia
callnumber_sort_arlington Online OverDrive
collection_arlington Adult Nonfiction
date_added 2009-05-18T04:00:00Z
days_since_added 2903
detailed_location_arlington Aurora Hills Adult Nonfiction, Central Adult Nonfiction, EBSCOhost, Shirlington Adult Nonfiction, hoopla
display_description

They were called a generation without heroes. Then they were called upon to be heroes. Within hours of 9/11, America's war on terrorism fell to those like the twenty-three Marines of the First Recon Battalion, the first generation dispatched into open-ended combat since Vietnam. They were a new breed of American warrior unrecognizable to their forebears - soldiers raised on hip-hop, Internet porn, Marilyn Manson, video games, and The Real World, a band of born-again Christians, dopers, Buddhists, and New Agers who gleaned their precepts from kung fu movies and Oprah Winfrey. Cocky, brave, headstrong, wary, and mostly unprepared for the physical, emotional, and moral horrors ahead, the "First Suicide Battalion" would spearhead the blitzkrieg on Iraq and fight against the hardest resistance Saddam had to offer.

Generation Kill is the funny, frightening, and profane firsthand account of these remarkable men, of the personal toll of victory, and of the randomness, brutality, and camaraderie of a new American war.

econtent_device Android, BlackBerry, Kindle Fire, Mac, Windows, iPad, iPhone, iPod touch
econtent_protection_type_arlington Limited Access, external
econtent_source_arlington EBSCOhost, OverDrive, hoopla
edition Unabridged.
format_arlington Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_boost 36
format_category_arlington Audio Books, Books, eBook
genre Non Fiction
genre_facet Non Fiction
grouping_category book
id cd7120c6-937c-c18a-6b8b-02969d149cf6
isbn 9780399151934, 9780425224748, 9780786547012, 9781400129744
item_details external_econtent:ils:.b12391840||EBSCOhost|Online|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|EBSCOhost||http://www.netlibrary.com.library.access.arlingtonva.us/urlapi.asp?action=summary&v=1&bookid=124841||Available Online||q||, external_econtent:ils:.b14897374||hoopla|Online|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/10755608||Available Online||qanea||, ils:.b12225988|.i15829108|Aurora Hills Adult Nonfiction|956.7044 WRIGH|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Mar 28, 2017|aan||, ils:.b12225988|.i1582911x|Central Adult Nonfiction|956.7044 WRIGH|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Jan 19, 2017|can||, ils:.b12225988|.i15829133|Shirlington Adult Nonfiction|956.7044 WRIGH|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Feb 16, 2016|san||, overdrive:831e9a67-3afc-46af-b6ae-5e75684eb868|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|2|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_arlington , Hardback, eCollection
language English
language_boost 10
language_boost_es 1
lexile_code
lexile_score -1
lib_boost_arlington 50
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington 956.7044 WRIGH, Online, Online OverDrive
local_callnumber_exact_arlington 956.7044 WRIGH, Online, Online OverDrive
local_callnumber_left_arlington 956.7044 WRIGH, Online, Online OverDrive
local_days_since_added_arlington 4501
num_holdings 5
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Arlington Public Library Online, Aurora Hills, Aurora Hills Online, Central, Central Online, Cherrydale, Cherrydale Online, Columbia Pike, Columbia Pike Online, Connection Crystal City, Connection Crystal City Online, Detention Center, Detention Center Online, Glencarlyn, Glencarlyn Online, Local History, Local History Online, Plaza, Plaza Online, Shirlington, Shirlington Online, Westover, Westover Online
owning_location_arlington Aurora Hills, Central, Shirlington
physical 1 online resource (1 audio file (13hr., 30 min.)) : digital., 354 p. : ill., 2 maps ; 24 cm., 354 p., [16] p. of plates : ill., map ; 24 cm.
popularity 21
primary_isbn 9780425224748
publishDate 2004, 2008
publishDateSort 2004
publisher G.P. Putnam's Sons,, Tantor Media
rating 2.5
rating_facet oneStar, twoStar
record_details external_econtent:ils:.b12391840|eBook|eBook||English|G.P. Putnam's Sons,|c2004.|354 p. : ill., 2 maps ; 24 cm., external_econtent:ils:.b14897374|eAudiobook|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English||2008|1 online resource (1 audio file (13hr., 30 min.)) : digital., ils:.b12225988|Book|Books||English|G.P. Putnam's Sons,|2004.|354 p., [16] p. of plates : ill., map ; 24 cm., overdrive:831e9a67-3afc-46af-b6ae-5e75684eb868|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Tantor Media|2008|
recordtype grouped_work
scope_has_related_records a, arlington, c, d, g, h, o, p, s, u, v, w
scoping_details_arlington external_econtent:ils:.b12391840||Available Online|Available Online|false|true|false|false|false|true|||, external_econtent:ils:.b14897374||Available Online|Available Online|false|true|false|false|false|true|||, ils:.b12225988|.i15829108|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999||, ils:.b12225988|.i1582911x|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999||, ils:.b12225988|.i15829133|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999||, overdrive:831e9a67-3afc-46af-b6ae-5e75684eb868|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false|||
subject_facet Iraq War, 2003- -- Personal narratives, American, Iraq War, 2003-2011 -- Personal narratives, American
target_audience Adult
target_audience_full Adult
title Generation kill : Devil Dogs, Iceman, Captain America, and the new face of American war
title_display Generation kill : Devil Dogs, Iceman, Captain America, and the new face of American war
title_full Generation Kill Devil Dogs, Iceman, Captain America and the New Face of American War, Generation kill : Devil Dogs, Iceman, Captain America, and the new face of American war / Evan Wright, Generation kill [electronic resource] : Devil Dogs, Iceman, Captain America, and the new face of American war / Evan Wright
title_short Generation kill :
title_sort generation kill devil dogs, iceman, captain america, and the new face of american war
title_sub Devil Dogs, Iceman, Captain America, and the new face of American war
topic History, Nonfiction
topic_facet History, Nonfiction