Generation Kill: Devil Dogs, Iceman, Captain America and the New Face of American War

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Tantor Media, Inc.
Pub. Date:
2008
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of Black Hawk Down and Jarhead comes a searing portrait of young men fighting a modern-day war. A powerhouse work of nonfiction, Generation Kill expands on Evan Wright's acclaimed three-part series that appeared in Rolling Stone during the summer of 2003. His narrative follows the twenty-three marines of First Recon who spearheaded the blitzkrieg on Iraq. This elite unit, nicknamed "First Suicide Battalion," searched out enemy fighters by racing ahead of American battle forces and literally driving into suspected ambush points. Evan Wright lived on the front lines with this platoon from the opening hours of combat, to the fall of Baghdad, through the start of the guerrilla war. He was welcomed into their ranks, and from this bird's-eye perspective he tells the unsettling story of young men trained by their country to be ruthless killers. He chronicles the triumphs and horrors-physical, moral, emotional, and spiritual-that these marines endured while achieving victory in a war many questioned before it began. Wright's book is a timely account of war; even more important, it is a timeless description of the human drama taking place on today's battlefields. Written with brutal honesty, raw intensity, and startling intimacy, Generation Kill is destined to become a classic and take its place in the canon of the most captivating and authentic works of war literature.
More Details
ISBN:
9781400129744
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID cd7120c6-937c-c18a-6b8b-02969d149cf6
Grouping Title generation kill devil dogs iceman captain america and the new face of american war
Grouping Author wright evan
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-08-18 04:53:16AM
Last Indexed 2019-08-18 04:56:44AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Evan Wright
author_display Evan Wright
display_description

They were called a generation without heroes. Then they were called upon to be heroes. Within hours of 9/11, America's war on terrorism fell to those like the twenty-three Marines of the First Recon Battalion, the first generation dispatched into open-ended combat since Vietnam. They were a new breed of American warrior unrecognizable to their forebears - soldiers raised on hip-hop, Internet porn, Marilyn Manson, video games, and The Real World, a band of born-again Christians, dopers, Buddhists, and New Agers who gleaned their precepts from kung fu movies and Oprah Winfrey. Cocky, brave, headstrong, wary, and mostly unprepared for the physical, emotional, and moral horrors ahead, the "First Suicide Battalion" would spearhead the blitzkrieg on Iraq and fight against the hardest resistance Saddam had to offer.

Generation Kill is the funny, frightening, and profane firsthand account of these remarkable men, of the personal toll of victory, and of the randomness, brutality, and camaraderie of a new American war.

format_arlington eAudiobook
format_category_arlington Audio Books
eBook
id cd7120c6-937c-c18a-6b8b-02969d149cf6
isbn 9781400129744
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:831e9a67-3afc-46af-b6ae-5e75684eb868 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eAudiobook Audio Books 2 false true OverDrive OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen Available Online
itype_arlington
last_indexed 2019-08-18T08:56:44.745Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington Online OverDrive
primary_isbn 9781400129744
publishDate 2008
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:831e9a67-3afc-46af-b6ae-5e75684eb868 eAudiobook Audio Books English Tantor Media, Inc. 2008
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:831e9a67-3afc-46af-b6ae-5e75684eb868 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
title_display Generation Kill
title_full Generation Kill Devil Dogs, Iceman, Captain America and the New Face of American War
title_short Generation Kill
title_sub Devil Dogs, Iceman, Captain America and the New Face of American War
topic_facet History
Nonfiction