Broken strings

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Puffin Books,
Pub. Date:
2019.
Language:
English
Description
A violin and a middle-school musical unleash a dark family secret in this moving story by an award-winning author duo. For fans of The Devil's Arithmetic and Hana's Suitcase.It's 2002. In the aftermath of the twin towers -- and the death of her beloved grandmother -- Shirli Berman is intent on moving forward. The best singer in her junior high, she auditions for the lead role in Fiddler on the Roof, but is crushed to learn that she's been given the part of the old Jewish mother in the musical rather than the coveted part of the sister. But there is an upside: her "husband" is none other than Ben Morgan, the cutest and most popular boy in the school. Deciding to throw herself into the role, she rummages in her grandfather's attic for some props. There, she discovers an old violin in the corner -- strange, since her Zayde has never seemed to like music, never even going to any of her recitals. Showing it to her grandfather unleashes an anger in him she has never seen before, and while she is frightened of what it might mean, Shirli keeps trying to connect with her Zayde and discover the awful reason behind his anger. A long-kept family secret spills out, and Shirli learns the true power of music, both terrible and wonderful.
More Details
ISBN:
9780735266247
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDd4d7e565-0383-a674-4f58-3483fc25191d
Grouping Titlebroken strings
Grouping Authorwalters eric
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-11-02 04:43:56AM
Last Indexed2019-11-19 04:44:27AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Kacer, Kathy, 1954-
authorWalters, Eric, 1957-
author2-roleKacer, Kathy,1954-author.
author_displayWalters, Eric
available_at_arlingtonCentral
Shirlington
collection_arlingtonKids Fiction
detailed_location_arlingtonCentral Kids Fiction
Shirlington Kids Fiction
display_descriptionIt's 2002. In the aftermath of the twin towers -- and the death of her beloved grandmother -- Shirli Berman is intent on moving forward. The best singer in her junior high, she auditions for the lead role in Fiddler on the Roof, but is crushed to learn that she's been given the part of the old Jewish mother in the musical rather than the coveted part of the sister. But there is an upside: her "husband" is none other than Ben Morgan, the cutest and most popular boy in the school. Deciding to throw herself into the role, she rummages in her grandfather's attic for some props. There, she discovers an old violin in the corner -- strange, since her Zayde has never seemed to like music, never even going to any of her recitals. Showing it to her grandfather unleashes an anger in him she has never seen before, and while she is frightened of what it might mean, Shirli keeps trying to connect with her Zayde and discover the awful reason behind his anger. A long-kept family secret spills out, and Shirli learns the true power of music, both terrible and wonderful. -- from Amazon.
format_arlingtonBook
format_category_arlingtonBooks
idd4d7e565-0383-a674-4f58-3483fc25191d
isbn9780735266247
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b20729583.i22700389Central Kids FictionJF WALTE1falsefalseOn ShelfOct 27, 2019cjf
ils:.b20729583.i22700390Shirlington Kids FictionJF WALTE1falsefalseOn ShelfSep 24, 2019sjf
itype_arlingtonHardback
last_indexed2019-11-19T09:44:27.259Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_arlingtonJF WALTE
local_time_since_added_arlingtonQuarter
Six Months
Year
owning_library_arlingtonArlington Public Library
Aurora Hills
Central
Cherrydale
Columbia Pike
Connection Crystal City
Detention Center
Glencarlyn
Local History
Plaza
Shirlington
Westover
owning_location_arlingtonCentral
Shirlington
primary_isbn9780735266247
publishDate2019
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b20729583BookBooksEnglishPuffin Books, 2019.282 pages ; 22 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b20729583.i22700389On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b20729583.i22700390On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
subject_facetActing -- Juvenile fiction
Grandmothers -- Juvenile fiction
Grandparent and child -- Juvenile fiction
Holocaust survivors' families -- Juvenile fiction
Jews -- United States -- Juvenile fiction
Musicals -- Juvenile fiction
Secrecy -- Juvenile fiction
Violin -- Juvenile fiction
title_displayBroken strings
title_fullBroken strings / Eric Walters and Kathy Kacer
title_shortBroken strings