The symphonies of Beethoven

Book Cover
Average Rating
Teaching Company,
Pub. Date:
Ludwig van Beethoven is justifiably acclaimed as one of the most revered composers in the history of Western music-a genius once characterized as a "Titan, wrestling with the gods." There is no better way for you to understand the full impact of that description than to not only listen to all nine of his magnificent symphonies, but to do so with a full understanding of what this great composer was saying and the circumstances that drove him up to and beyond what had once been considered the limits of musical expression. The 32 lectures that make up this detailed introduction to Beethoven explores each of his symphonies in depth, explaining the gifts of musical communication that made this composer unique. Even without any previous musical training, you'll be able to grasp the absolute directness that made his work so accessible, the sheer emotional power that could never be ignored, and the ways in which his ideas were revolutionary on every level. Beginning with an introduction to Beethoven the man and the musical and societal forces that shaped his development, you'll explore his breathtaking innovations: harmonic, melodic, rhythmic, formal, dramatic, self-expressive, and emotional. And you'll come to understand how and why this man was able to lead music into a totally new era as he dispensed with the restraint of 18th-century Classicism to usher in the era of romantic self-expression - even as his own ability to even hear what he was creating was progressively and tragically vanishing.
More Details
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID e4d3d364-7f7b-34ea-c1e8-2083b9242c4b
Grouping Title symphonies of beethoven
Grouping Author greenberg robert
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-04-05 04:49:00AM
Last Indexed 2019-08-20 04:52:01AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Greenberg, Robert.
author2-role Teaching Company.
author_display Greenberg, Robert
detailed_location_arlington RBdigital
display_description Witness Beethoven's artistic developments through 3 chronological periods from 1792 to 1826. Within this time he composed 9 symphonies that Greenberg analyzes in depth, and he also explains how specific events in Beethoven's life influenced his work.
format_arlington eAudiobook
format_category_arlington Audio Books
id e4d3d364-7f7b-34ea-c1e8-2083b9242c4b
isbn 9781682764039
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
external_econtent:ils:.b20527688 RBdigital Online eAudiobook Audio Books 1 false true RBdigital Available Online qanea
itype_arlington eCollection
last_indexed 2019-08-20T08:52:01.973Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington Online
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library Online
Aurora Hills Online
Central Online
Cherrydale Online
Columbia Pike Online
Connection Crystal City Online
Detention Center Online
Glencarlyn Online
Local History Online
Plaza Online
Shirlington Online
Westover Online
primary_isbn 9781682764039
publishDate 2015
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
external_econtent:ils:.b20527688 eAudiobook Audio Books English Teaching Company, [2015] 1.
recordtype grouped_work
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
external_econtent:ils:.b20527688 Available Online Available Online false true false false false true
series Great courses
series_with_volume Great courses|
subject_facet Downloadable audio
MUSIC / Genres & Styles / Classical
Streaming audio
title_display The symphonies of Beethoven
title_full The symphonies of Beethoven / Robert Greenberg
title_short The symphonies of Beethoven