Hector and the search for happiness: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2010.
Language:
English
Description
Now a major motion picture starring Simon Pegg, Rosamund Pike, Toni Collette, and Christopher PlummerThe international bestseller with more than two million copies sold“Once upon a time there was a young psychiatrist called Hector who was not very satisfied with himself. . . . And so he decided to take a trip around the world, and everywhere he went he would try to understand what made people happy or unhappy.”Hector travels from Paris to China to Africa to the United States, and along the way he keeps a list of observations about the people he meets. Combining the winsome appeal ofThe Little Prince with the inspiring philosophy of The Alchemist, Hector’s journey around the world and into the human soul is entertaining, empowering, and smile-inducing—as winning in its optimism as it is wise in its simplicity.
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780143118398
9781615731084
Lexile measure:
1100L
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID e7b443fa-1f19-90fd-0d8f-2c1fe7fae287
Grouping Title hector and the search for happiness
Grouping Author lelord françois
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-18 04:48:31AM
Last Indexed 2018-11-18 04:52:25AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Garcia, Lorenza.
author Lelord, François.
author2-role Garcia, Lorenza.
author_display Lelord, François
available_at_arlington Central
collection_arlington Adult Fiction
detailed_location_arlington Central Adult Fiction
display_description For fans of "The Elegance of the Hedgehog" and "The Alchemist" comes this international bestseller--a charming fable about modern life and the quest for the secret of happiness.
format_arlington Book, eAudiobook
format_category_arlington Audio Books, Books, eBook
id e7b443fa-1f19-90fd-0d8f-2c1fe7fae287
isbn 9780143118398, 9781615731084
item_details ils:.b14528587|.i19141890|Central Adult Fiction|F LELOR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Mar 15, 2018|caf||, overdrive:f76dc8b8-b150-4321-a995-2ff796a17652|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_arlington , Paperback
last_indexed 2018-11-18T09:52:25.795Z
lexile_score 1100
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington F LELOR, Online OverDrive
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central
primary_isbn 9780143118398
publishDate 2010
record_details ils:.b14528587|Book|Books||English|Penguin Books,|2010.|165, 13 pages ; 19., overdrive:f76dc8b8-b150-4321-a995-2ff796a17652|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|HighBridge Company|2010|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b14528587 .i19141890 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 9999
overdrive:f76dc8b8-b150-4321-a995-2ff796a17652 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
series Hector's journeys
series_with_volume Hector's journeys|1
subject_facet Happiness -- Fiction, Psychiatrists -- Fiction, Psychiatrists -- Travel -- Fiction
title_display Hector and the search for happiness : a novel
title_full Hector and the Search for Happiness Hector's Journeys Series, Book 1, Hector and the search for happiness : a novel / François Lelord ; [English translation by Lorenza Garcia]
title_short Hector and the search for happiness :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Fiction, Literature