Hector and the search for happiness: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2010.
Language:
English
Description
Now a major motion picture starring Simon Pegg, Rosamund Pike, Toni Collette, and Christopher PlummerThe international bestseller with more than two million copies sold“Once upon a time there was a young psychiatrist called Hector who was not very satisfied with himself. . . . And so he decided to take a trip around the world, and everywhere he went he would try to understand what made people happy or unhappy.”Hector travels from Paris to China to Africa to the United States, and along the way he keeps a list of observations about the people he meets. Combining the winsome appeal ofThe Little Prince with the inspiring philosophy of The Alchemist, Hector’s journey around the world and into the human soul is entertaining, empowering, and smile-inducing—as winning in its optimism as it is wise in its simplicity.
More Details
ISBN:
9780143118398
9781615731084
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID e7b443fa-1f19-90fd-0d8f-2c1fe7fae287
full_title hector and the search for happiness
author lelord françois
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-10-23 04:42:55AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Garcia, Lorenza.
author François Lelord
author2-role Garcia, Lorenza., Garcia, Lorenza.|Narrator, hoopla digital.
author_display Lelord, François
available_at_arlington Central
collection_arlington Adult Fiction
detailed_location_arlington Central Adult Fiction, hoopla
display_description For fans of "The Elegance of the Hedgehog" and "The Alchemist" comes this international bestseller--a charming fable about modern life and the quest for the secret of happiness.
format_arlington Book, eAudio, eAudiobook
format_category_arlington Audio Books, Books, eBook
id e7b443fa-1f19-90fd-0d8f-2c1fe7fae287
isbn 9780143118398, 9781615731084
item_details external_econtent:ils:.b15095733||hoopla|Online|eAudio|Audio Books|1|false|true|hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11418355||Available Online||qafea||, ils:.b14528587|.i19141890|Central Adult Fiction|F LELOR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Jun 26, 2017|caf||, overdrive:f76dc8b8-b150-4321-a995-2ff796a17652|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||
itype_arlington , Paperback, eCollection
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington F LELOR, Online, Online OverDrive
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Arlington Public Library Online, Aurora Hills, Aurora Hills Online, Central, Central Online, Cherrydale, Cherrydale Online, Columbia Pike, Columbia Pike Online, Connection Crystal City, Connection Crystal City Online, Detention Center, Detention Center Online, Glencarlyn, Glencarlyn Online, Local History, Local History Online, Plaza, Plaza Online, Shirlington, Shirlington Online, Westover, Westover Online
owning_location_arlington Central
primary_isbn 9780143118398
publishDate 2010
record_details external_econtent:ils:.b15095733|eAudio|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books :|2010.|1 online resource (1 audio file (3hr., 45 min.)) : digital., ils:.b14528587|Book|Books||English|Penguin Books,|2010.|165, 13 p. ; 19 cm., overdrive:f76dc8b8-b150-4321-a995-2ff796a17652|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|HighBridge Company|2010|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington external_econtent:ils:.b15095733||Available Online|Available Online|false|true|false|false|false|true||||, ils:.b14528587|.i19141890|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||, overdrive:f76dc8b8-b150-4321-a995-2ff796a17652|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||
series Hector's Journeys
series_with_volume Hector's Journeys
subject_facet Downloadable audio, Happiness -- Fiction, Psychiatrists -- Fiction, Psychiatrists -- Travel -- Fiction, Streaming audio
title_display Hector and the search for happiness : a novel
title_full Hector and the Search for Happiness Hector's Journeys Series, Book 1, Hector and the search for happiness / François Lelord, Hector and the search for happiness : a novel / François Lelord ; [English translation by Lorenza Garcia]
title_short Hector and the search for happiness :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Fiction, Literature