Hector and the search for happiness: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2010.
Language:
English
Description
Now a major motion picture starring Simon Pegg, Rosamund Pike, Toni Collette, and Christopher PlummerThe international bestseller with more than two million copies sold“Once upon a time there was a young psychiatrist called Hector who was not very satisfied with himself. . . . And so he decided to take a trip around the world, and everywhere he went he would try to understand what made people happy or unhappy.”Hector travels from Paris to China to Africa to the United States, and along the way he keeps a list of observations about the people he meets. Combining the winsome appeal ofThe Little Prince with the inspiring philosophy of The Alchemist, Hector’s journey around the world and into the human soul is entertaining, empowering, and smile-inducing—as winning in its optimism as it is wise in its simplicity.
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780143118398
9781615731084
Lexile measure:
1100L
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDe7b443fa-1f19-90fd-0d8f-2c1fe7fae287
Grouping Titlehector and the search for happiness
Grouping Authorlelord françois
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-12-06 04:43:28AM
Last Indexed2019-12-06 04:44:47AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Garcia, Lorenza.
authorLelord, François.
author2-roleGarcia, Lorenza.
author_displayLelord, François
available_at_arlingtonShirlington
collection_arlingtonAdult Fiction
detailed_location_arlingtonShirlington Adult Fiction
display_descriptionFor fans of "The Elegance of the Hedgehog" and "The Alchemist" comes this international bestseller--a charming fable about modern life and the quest for the secret of happiness.
format_arlingtonBook
eAudiobook
format_category_arlingtonAudio Books
Books
eBook
ide7b443fa-1f19-90fd-0d8f-2c1fe7fae287
isbn9780143118398
9781615731084
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b14528587.i19141890Shirlington Adult FictionF LELOR1falsefalseOn ShelfAug 30, 2019saf
overdrive:f76dc8b8-b150-4321-a995-2ff796a17652-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
itype_arlingtonPaperback
last_indexed2019-12-06T09:44:47.146Z
lexile_score1100
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_arlingtonF LELOR
Online OverDrive
owning_library_arlingtonArlington Public Library
Aurora Hills
Central
Cherrydale
Columbia Pike
Connection Crystal City
Detention Center
Glencarlyn
Local History
Plaza
Shirlington
Westover
owning_location_arlingtonShirlington
primary_isbn9780143118398
publishDate2010
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b14528587BookBooksEnglishPenguin Books, 2010.165, 13 pages ; 19.
overdrive:f76dc8b8-b150-4321-a995-2ff796a17652eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishHighBridge2010
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b14528587.i19141890On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
overdrive:f76dc8b8-b150-4321-a995-2ff796a17652-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
seriesHector's journeys
series_with_volumeHector's journeys|1
subject_facetHappiness -- Fiction
Psychiatrists -- Fiction
Psychiatrists -- Travel -- Fiction
title_displayHector and the search for happiness : a novel
title_fullHector and the Search for Happiness
Hector and the search for happiness : a novel / François Lelord ; [English translation by Lorenza Garcia]
title_shortHector and the search for happiness
title_suba novel
topic_facetFiction
Literature