Empire of illusion: the end of literacy and the triumph of spectacle

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
We now live in two Americas. One?now the minority?functions in a print-based, literate world that can cope with complexity and can separate illusion from truth. The other?the majority?is retreating from a reality-based world into one of false certainty and magic. To this majority?which crosses social class lines, though the poor are overwhelmingly affected?presidential debate and political rhetoric is pitched at a sixth-grade reading level. In this ?other America,” serious film and theater, as well as newspapers and books, are being pushed to the margins of society.

In the tradition of Christopher Lasch’s The Culture of Narcissism and Neil Postman’s Amusing Ourselves to Death, Pulitzer Prize-winner Chris Hedges navigates this culture?attending WWF contests, the Adult Video News Awards in Las Vegas, and Ivy League graduation ceremonies?to expose an age of terrifying decline and heightened self-delusion.

More Details
ISBN:
9781568584379
9781977329134
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID eaf43cf5-a44e-3694-5b60-f78289c57ad3
Full title empire of illusion the end of literacy and the triumph of spectacle
Author hedges chris
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-06-15 04:50:10AM
Last Indexed 2018-06-24 04:56:41AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Yen, Jonathan.
author Hedges, Chris.
author2-role Yen, Jonathan., hoopla digital.
author_display Hedges, Chris
available_at_arlington Central, Shirlington
collection_arlington Adult Nonfiction
detailed_location_arlington Central Adult Nonfiction, Shirlington Adult Nonfiction, hoopla
display_description We now live in two Americas. One-now the minority-functions in a print-based, literate world that can cope with complexity and can separate illusion from truth. The other-the majority-is retreating from a reality-based world into one of false certainty and magic. To this majority-which crosses social class lines, though the poor are overwhelmingly affected-presidential debate and political rhetoric is pitched at a sixth-grade reading level. In this "other America," serious film and theater, as well as newspapers and books, are being pushed to the margins of society. In the tradition of Christopher Lasch's The Culture of Narcissism and Neil Postman's Amusing Ourselves to Death, Pulitzer Prize winner Chris Hedges navigates this culture-attending WWF contests, the Adult Video News Awards in Las Vegas, and Ivy League graduation ceremonies-to expose an age of terrifying decline and heightened self-delusion.
format_arlington Book, eAudio
format_category_arlington Audio Books, Books
id eaf43cf5-a44e-3694-5b60-f78289c57ad3
isbn 9781568584379, 9781977329134
item_details external_econtent:ils:.b20433025||hoopla|Online|eAudio|Audio Books|1|false|true|hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12097285||Available Online||qanea||, ils:.b1325635x|.i14167803|Central Adult Nonfiction|302.23 HEDGE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Jun 14, 2018|can||, ils:.b1325635x|.i14167827|Shirlington Adult Nonfiction|302.23 HEDGE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|May 08, 2018|san||
itype_arlington Hardback, eCollection
last_indexed 2018-06-24T08:56:41.049Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington 302.23 HEDGE, Online
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Arlington Public Library Online, Aurora Hills, Aurora Hills Online, Central, Central Online, Cherrydale, Cherrydale Online, Columbia Pike, Columbia Pike Online, Connection Crystal City, Connection Crystal City Online, Detention Center, Detention Center Online, Glencarlyn, Glencarlyn Online, Local History, Local History Online, Plaza, Plaza Online, Shirlington, Shirlington Online, Westover, Westover Online
owning_location_arlington Central, Shirlington
primary_isbn 9781568584379
publishDate 2009, 2018
record_details external_econtent:ils:.b20433025|eAudio|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Tantor Audio,|2018.|1 online resource (1 audio file (9hr., 27 min.)) : digital., ils:.b1325635x|Book|Books||English|Nation Books,|c2009.|vii, 232 p. ; 22 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
external_econtent:ils:.b20433025 Available Online Available Online false true false false false true
ils:.b1325635x .i14167827 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 999
ils:.b1325635x .i14167803 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 999
subject_facet Downloadable audio, Literacy -- United States, Mass media -- United States, Mass media and culture -- United States, Popular culture -- United States, Streaming audio, United States -- Intellectual life
title_display Empire of illusion : the end of literacy and the triumph of spectacle
title_full Empire of illusion : the end of literacy and the triumph of spectacle / Chris Hedges, Empire of illusion : the end of literacy and the triumph of spectacle [electronic resource] / Chris Hedges
title_short Empire of illusion :
title_sub the end of literacy and the triumph of spectacle