Get the New Arlington Public Library App for Apple/Android 

Empire of illusion: the end of literacy and the triumph of spectacle

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Nation Books,
Pub. Date:
c2009.
Language:
English
Description
We now live in two Americas. One?now the minority?functions in a print-based, literate world that can cope with complexity and can separate illusion from truth. The other?the majority?is retreating from a reality-based world into one of false certainty and magic. To this majority?which crosses social class lines, though the poor are overwhelmingly affected?presidential debate and political rhetoric is pitched at a sixth-grade reading level. In this ?other America,” serious film and theater, as well as newspapers and books, are being pushed to the margins of society.

In the tradition of Christopher Lasch’s The Culture of Narcissism and Neil Postman’s Amusing Ourselves to Death, Pulitzer Prize-winner Chris Hedges navigates this culture?attending WWF contests, the Adult Video News Awards in Las Vegas, and Ivy League graduation ceremonies?to expose an age of terrifying decline and heightened self-delusion.

More Details
ISBN:
9781568584379
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID eaf43cf5-a44e-3694-5b60-f78289c57ad3
full_title empire of illusion the end of literacy and the triumph of spectacle
author hedges chris
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-05-09 04:59:45AM

Solr Details

_version_ 1568448800898416640
accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Hedges, Chris.
author-letter Hedges, Chris.
author_additional Chris Hedges.
author_display Hedges, Chris
availability_toggle_arlington Available Now, Entire Collection
available_at_arlington Central
callnumber-a P92.U5
callnumber-first P - Language and Literature
callnumber-subject P - Philology and Linguistics
callnumber_sort_arlington 302.23 HEDGE
collection_arlington Adult Nonfiction
date_added 2011-01-26T05:00:00Z
days_since_added 2312
detailed_location_arlington Central Adult Nonfiction, Westover Adult Nonfiction
display_description
format_arlington Book
format_boost 10
format_category_arlington Books
grouping_category book
id eaf43cf5-a44e-3694-5b60-f78289c57ad3
isbn 9781568584379
item_details ils:.b1325635x|.i14167803|Central Adult Nonfiction|302.23 HEDGE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Jun 01, 2016|can||, ils:.b1325635x|.i14167827|Westover Adult Nonfiction|302.23 HEDGE|||1|false|false|||||Due May 30, 2017|Jun 07, 2016|wan||
itype_arlington Hardback
language English
language_boost 10
language_boost_es 1
lexile_code
lexile_score -1
lib_boost_arlington 50
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington 302.23 HEDGE
local_callnumber_exact_arlington 302.23 HEDGE
local_callnumber_left_arlington 302.23 HEDGE
local_days_since_added_arlington 2312
num_holdings 2
oclc (OCoLC)301887642
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Aurora Hills, Central, Cherrydale, Columbia Pike, Connection Crystal City, Detention Center, Glencarlyn, Local History, Plaza, Shirlington, Westover
owning_location_arlington Central, Westover
physical vii, 232 p. ; 22 cm.
popularity 10
primary_isbn 9781568584379
publishDate 2009
publishDateSort 2009
publisher Nation Books,
rating 4
rating_facet fourStar, oneStar, threeStar, twoStar
record_details ils:.b1325635x|Book|Books||English|Nation Books,|c2009.|vii, 232 p. ; 22 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scope_has_related_records a, arlington, c, d, g, h, o, p, s, u, v, w
scoping_details_arlington ils:.b1325635x|.i14167803|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999||, ils:.b1325635x|.i14167827|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|999||
subject_facet Mass media -- United States, Popular culture -- United States
table_of_contents The illusion of literacy -- The illusion of love -- The illusion of wisdom -- The illusion of happiness -- The illusion of America.
target_audience Adult
target_audience_full Adult
title Empire of illusion : the end of literacy and the triumph of spectacle
title_display Empire of illusion : the end of literacy and the triumph of spectacle
title_full Empire of illusion : the end of literacy and the triumph of spectacle / Chris Hedges
title_short Empire of illusion :
title_sort empire of illusion the end of literacy and the triumph of spectacle
title_sub the end of literacy and the triumph of spectacle