Empire of illusion: the end of literacy and the triumph of spectacle

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Nation Books,
Pub. Date:
[2009]
Language:
English
Description
We now live in two Americas. One?now the minority?functions in a print-based, literate world that can cope with complexity and can separate illusion from truth. The other?the majority?is retreating from a reality-based world into one of false certainty and magic. To this majority?which crosses social class lines, though the poor are overwhelmingly affected?presidential debate and political rhetoric is pitched at a sixth-grade reading level. In this ?other America,” serious film and theater, as well as newspapers and books, are being pushed to the margins of society.

In the tradition of Christopher Lasch’s The Culture of Narcissism and Neil Postman’s Amusing Ourselves to Death, Pulitzer Prize-winner Chris Hedges navigates this culture?attending WWF contests, the Adult Video News Awards in Las Vegas, and Ivy League graduation ceremonies?to expose an age of terrifying decline and heightened self-delusion.

More Details
ISBN:
9781568584379
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDeaf43cf5-a44e-3694-5b60-f78289c57ad3
Grouping Titleempire of illusion the end of literacy and the triumph of spectacle
Grouping Authorhedges chris
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-11-13 18:51:47PM
Last Indexed2019-11-22 04:44:10AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorHedges, Chris.
author_displayHedges, Chris
available_at_arlingtonAurora Hills
Westover
collection_arlingtonAdult Nonfiction
detailed_location_arlingtonAurora Hills Adult Nonfiction
Westover Adult Nonfiction
display_description
format_arlingtonBook
format_category_arlingtonBooks
ideaf43cf5-a44e-3694-5b60-f78289c57ad3
isbn9781568584379
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b1325635x.i14167827Aurora Hills Adult Nonfiction302.23 HEDGE1falsefalseOn ShelfNov 08, 2019aan
ils:.b1325635x.i14167803Westover Adult Nonfiction302.23 HEDGE1falsefalseOn ShelfNov 13, 2019wan
itype_arlingtonHardback
last_indexed2019-11-22T09:44:10.615Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington302.23 HEDGE
owning_library_arlingtonArlington Public Library
Aurora Hills
Central
Cherrydale
Columbia Pike
Connection Crystal City
Detention Center
Glencarlyn
Local History
Plaza
Shirlington
Westover
owning_location_arlingtonAurora Hills
Westover
primary_isbn9781568584379
publishDate2009
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b1325635xBookBooksEnglishNation Books, [2009]vii, 232 pages ; 22.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_arlington
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b1325635x.i14167827On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b1325635x.i14167803On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
subject_facetMass media -- United States
Popular culture -- United States
title_displayEmpire of illusion : the end of literacy and the triumph of spectacle
title_fullEmpire of illusion : the end of literacy and the triumph of spectacle / Chris Hedges
title_shortEmpire of illusion
title_subthe end of literacy and the triumph of spectacle