Get the New Arlington Public Library App for Apple/Android 

The body has a mind of its own: how body maps in your brain help you do (almost) everything better

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In this compelling, cutting-edge book, two generations of science writers explore the exciting science of “body maps” in the brain–and how startling new discoveries about the mind-body connection can change and improve our lives. Why do you still feel fat after losing weight? What makes video games so addictive? How can “practicing” your favorite sport in your imagination improve your game? The answers can be found in body maps.Just as road maps represent interconnections across the landscape, your many body maps represent all aspects of your bodily self, inside and out. In concert, they create your physical and emotional awareness and your sense of being a whole, feeling self in a larger social world.Moreover, your body maps are profoundly elastic. Your self doesn’t begin and end with your physical body but extends into the space around you. This space morphs every time you put on or take off clothes, ride a bike, or wield a tool. When you drive a car, your personal body space grows to envelop it. When you play a video game, your body maps automatically track and emulate the actions of your character onscreen. When you watch a scary movie, your body maps put dread in your stomach and send chills down your spine. If your body maps fall out of sync, you may have an out-of-body experience or see auras around other people.The Body Has a Mind of Its Own explains how you can tap into the power of body maps to do almost anything better–whether it is playing tennis, strumming a guitar, riding a horse, dancing a waltz, empathizing with a friend, raising children, or coping with stress. The story of body maps goes even further, providing a fresh look at the causes of anorexia, bulimia, obsessive plastic surgery, and the notorious golfer’s curse “the yips.” It lends insights into culture, language, music, parenting, emotions, chronic pain, and more. Filled with illustrations, wonderful anecdotes, and even parlor tricks that you can use to reconfigure your body sense, The Body Has a Mind of Its Own will change the way you think–about the way you think.“The Blakeslees have taken the latest and most exciting finds from brain research and have made them accessible. This is how science writing should always be.”–Michael S. Gazzaniga, Ph.D., author of The Ethical Brain“Through a stream of fascinating and entertaining examples, Sandra Blakeslee and Matthew Blakeslee illustrate how our perception of ourselves, and indeed the world, is not fixed but is surprisingly fluid and easily modified. They have created the best book ever written about how our sense of ‘self’ emerges from the motley collection of neurons we call the brain.”–Jeff Hawkins, co-author of On Intelligence “The Blakeslees have taken the latest and most exciting finds from brain research and have made them accessible. This is how science writing should always be.”–Michael S. Gazzaniga, Ph.D., author of The Ethical Brain“A marvelous book. In the last ten years there has been a paradigm shift in understanding the brain and how its various specialized regions respond to environmental challenges. In addition to providing a brilliant overview of recent revolutionary discoveries on body image and brain plasticity, the book is sprinkled with numerous insights.”–V. S. Ramachandran, M.D., director, Center for Brain and Cognition, University of California, San Diego
More Details
ISBN:
9781400064694
9781400124978
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID f74f937f-3be3-282f-066b-52f6a38a4169
full_title body has a mind of its own how body maps in your brain help you do almost everything better
author blakeslee sandra
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-05-29 04:53:04AM

Solr Details

_version_ 1568720584418787328
accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Blakeslee, Matthew., Reading, Kate.
author Sandra Blakeslee
author-letter Blakeslee, Sandra.
author2 Blakeslee, Matthew., Reading, Kate., hoopla digital.
author2-role Blakeslee, Matthew., Reading, Kate.|Narrator, hoopla digital.
author_additional Sandra Blakeslee and Matthew Blakeslee.
author_display Blakeslee, Sandra
availability_toggle_arlington Available Now, Available Online, Entire Collection
available_at_arlington Aurora Hills, Central
callnumber_sort_arlington 150 BLAKE
collection_arlington Adult Nonfiction
date_added 2009-05-18T04:00:00Z
days_since_added 2933
detailed_location_arlington Aurora Hills Adult Nonfiction, Central Adult Nonfiction, hoopla
display_description

Why do you still feel fat after losing weight? Why do you duck your head when you drive into an underground parking garage? Why are your kids so enthralled by video games?

The answers to these questions can be found in a new understanding of how your brain interacts with your body, the space around your body, and the social world. Every point on your body, each internal organ, and every point in space out to the end of your fingertips is mapped inside your brain. Your ability to sense, move, and act in the physical world arises from a rich network of flexible body maps distributed throughout your brain.

The science of body maps has far-reaching applications. It can help people lose weight, improve their ability to play a sport, or assist recovery from stroke. It points the way to new treatments for anorexia and phantom limbs. It helps explain out-of-body experiences, auras, placebos, and healing touch. It provides a new way to understand human emotions from love to hate, lust to disgust, pride to humiliation.

With scientific discoveries from every corner of the globe, Sandra and Matthew Blakeslee have written a compelling narrative that is positively mind-bending and that will appeal to readers of Sharon Begley's Train Your Mind, Change Your Brain.

econtent_device Android, BlackBerry, Kindle Fire, Mac, Windows, iPad, iPhone, iPod touch
econtent_protection_type_arlington Limited Access, external
econtent_source_arlington OverDrive, hoopla
edition Unabridged.
format_arlington Book, eAudio, eAudiobook
format_boost 26
format_category_arlington Audio Books, Books, eBook
genre Non Fiction
genre_facet Non Fiction
grouping_category book
id f74f937f-3be3-282f-066b-52f6a38a4169
isbn 9781400064694, 9781400124978
item_details external_econtent:ils:.b14934449||hoopla|Online|eAudio|Audio Books|1|false|true|hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/10756901||Available Online||qanea||, ils:.b1274220x|.i13182195|Aurora Hills Adult Nonfiction|150 BLAKE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|May 02, 2016|aan||, ils:.b1274220x|.i13182201|Central Adult Nonfiction|150 BLAKE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Feb 18, 2017|can||, overdrive:cd49fc80-91b6-4dc4-b2b3-e90220570071|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||
itype_arlington , Hardback, eCollection
language English
language_boost 10
language_boost_es 1
lexile_code
lexile_score -1
lib_boost_arlington 50
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_arlington 150 BLAKE, Online, Online OverDrive
local_callnumber_exact_arlington 150 BLAKE, Online, Online OverDrive
local_callnumber_left_arlington 150 BLAKE, Online, Online OverDrive
local_days_since_added_arlington 3436
num_holdings 3
oclc (OCoLC)77270823
owning_library_arlington Arlington Public Library, Arlington Public Library Online, Aurora Hills, Aurora Hills Online, Central, Central Online, Cherrydale, Cherrydale Online, Columbia Pike, Columbia Pike Online, Connection Crystal City, Connection Crystal City Online, Detention Center, Detention Center Online, Glencarlyn, Glencarlyn Online, Local History, Local History Online, Plaza, Plaza Online, Shirlington, Shirlington Online, Westover, Westover Online
owning_location_arlington Aurora Hills, Central
physical 1 online resource (1 audio file (540 min.)) : digital., 228 p. : ill. ; 25 cm.
popularity 10
primary_isbn 9781400064694
publishDate 2007
publishDateSort 2007
publisher Random House,, Tantor Media
rating 2.5
rating_facet oneStar, twoStar
record_details external_econtent:ils:.b14934449|eAudio|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English||2007|1 online resource (1 audio file (540 min.)) : digital., ils:.b1274220x|Book|Books||English|Random House,|c2007.|228 p. : ill. ; 25 cm., overdrive:cd49fc80-91b6-4dc4-b2b3-e90220570071|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Tantor Media||
recordtype grouped_work
scope_has_related_records a, arlington, c, d, g, h, o, p, s, u, v, w
scoping_details_arlington external_econtent:ils:.b14934449||Available Online|Available Online|false|true|false|false|false|true|||, ils:.b1274220x|.i13182195|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999||, ils:.b1274220x|.i13182201|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999||, overdrive:cd49fc80-91b6-4dc4-b2b3-e90220570071|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false|||
subject_facet Brain -- Localization of functions, Mind and body
target_audience Adult
target_audience_full Adult
title The body has a mind of its own : how body maps in your brain help you do (almost) everything better
title_display The body has a mind of its own : how body maps in your brain help you do (almost) everything better
title_full The Body Has a Mind of Its Own How Body Maps in Your Brain Help You Do (Almost) Everything Better, The body has a mind of its own : how body maps in your brain help you do (almost) everything better / Sandra Blakeslee and Matthew Blakeslee, The body has a mind of its own [electronic resource] : how body maps in your brain help you do (almost) everything better / Sandra Blakeslee and Matthew Blakeslee
title_short The body has a mind of its own :
title_sort body has a mind of its own how body maps in your brain help you do almost everything better
title_sub how body maps in your brain help you do (almost) everything better
topic Health & Fitness, Nonfiction
topic_facet Health & Fitness, Nonfiction