Staff Picks - Adult

Created on August 8, 2021, 12:09 pm

Last Updated January 12, 2023, 3:10 pm

Export List to CSV
Notes
A family’s identity was in jeopardy. It affected the outcome of all Axton's decision as an adult. Her life revolved around that fact and truth about the person who stole her identity has overturned everything. A great revelation about identity theft. Trust no one. - Shahana P
Description
Notes
Earth has become uninhabitable, and the remnants of humankind are sailing through space on the HSS Matilda in search of a new home. Unfortunately, all the societal ills are also aboard and in abundance. For the determined protagonist, Aster, it is a matter of life or death. - Bridgette W
Description
Notes
Still Life is the best, most practical book on mindfulness and mediation that I have read. It is articulate, funny, insightful and so "normal". This is not your typical woo woo book on meditation, it is accessible, helpful and the methods can be immediately put to use. - Michael N
Description
Notes
In a world filled with claims of multiverses and computer simulations, Dr. Hossenfelder (my favorite physicist and science communicator) educates readers on deciphering what is truly scientific and what is ascientific -- without, in her words, all the gobbledygook. - Miguel R
Description
5) Spare
Notes
Prince Harry is an engaging and witty narrator of his well-written memoir. It is a delight to hear him tell his story as the spare, second to the future King of England. He is honest and, at times, angry. Perception is far from reality. The audiobook is worth a listen. - Alexandra S
Description
Notes
Antoine Wilson's latest novel, "Mouth to Mouth" is a short, well-written and unforgettable thriller. This contemporary novel offers an unusual structure full of chance encounters, hidden identities and shocking revelations. - Alexandra S
Description
Notes
Anyone who works in user-focused design today - or has experienced both good and bad product design - will be fascinated by this history of user-experience in the machine-focused 20th century design. - Alex Z
Description
Notes
A young girl must put her minor baking-related wizardry skills to work to help protect herself and her kingdom. Full of adventure, humor, and animated gingerbread men, this book is for fans of Legends and Lattes and The House in the Cerulean Sea. - Sarah D
Description
Notes
Both a piece of investigative journalism into the charlatan behind the books Go Ask Alice and Jay's Journal and a fascinating history of the moral panics they helped fuel, Unmask Alice is impossible to put down. - Laurel T
Description
Notes
Oncologist and researcher Mukherjee explores the history of how cells were discovered, how modern medicine evolved, and how advances in cellular therapy may change the very nature of being human. Mukherjee makes advanced scientific concepts accessible and fascinating. - Laura B
Description
Series
Notes
This debut novel is a fun supernatural romance set at the Jersey Shore. When a spell goes awry, a witch and a merman find themselves thrown together in a series of unexpected events that lead to romance. The perfect escape from reality with a magical happy ending. - Megan W
Description
Notes
Maya needs her mercenary crew back for one last stab at a heist gone wrong. Unfortunately, her shoot-first attitude might get in the way. Beneath the layers of unresolved grudges, murderous AI starships, and vulgar punk rock violence, the author delivers a tale of redemption. - Cuong N
Description
Author
Notes
As letters are banned from use in the story they are also removed from the writing of the book itself, further pulling the reader into the story and adding to the sense of urgency the characters feel as their means of communicating is taken away. A fascinating read! - Chrysalis C
Notes
There are 2 entangled mysteries- what happened to the villagers in the past and what's happening to the film crew now? It's unsettling and creepy and will keep you guessing on where the threats lie and what threats could remain decades later. The audiobook is captivating. - Chrysalis C
Description
Notes
Farrah, a Black teen, is upset that she will have to move when her parents lose their house. She manipulates her way into staying with her best friend, Cherish, a Black girl adopted by rich white parents, but things become murky about who is using whom. Twisty and chilling! - Michelle M
Description
Notes
Camille is unable to move on because the guy who raped her daughter and left her to die was acquitted. After joining a group of grieving mothers, she gets involved in revenge plots and finds herself in over her head. A well-plotted thriller that will keep you turning pages. - Michelle M
Description
Notes
Lydia is 23 years old and dealing with her mother, her job, her crush, her multi-racial identity. She’s also a vampire who has run out of pig blood and is very hungry. This book is a unique take on struggling to find a place in the world despite the obstacles women face. - Michelle M
Description
Notes
Madame Burova spent years telling fortunes on the Brighton boardwalk. She is ready to retire but one secret, one promise remains. Billie's life is imploding. She's lost her job, her husband and just learned she was adopted. How will Madame Burova's and Billie's paths merge? - Karen G
Description
Notes
The Kennedys love their suburb and enjoy having a vacant lot next door. They are unhappy when construction begins there and are unhappier when it seems the new house is making its occupants do awful things. This book turns over a rock to see what is crawling underneath. - Michelle M
Description
Notes
Vibrant, witty, and bursting with delicious-sounding food, My Life in France is not only a memoir. It’s also biography of Julia Child’s transformative cookbook Mastering the Art of French Cooking and the years-long labor of love that led to its creation. - Anna W
Description