Staff Picks - Graphic Novels

Created on April 28, 2021, 10:00 am

Last Updated April 28, 2021, 10:00 am

Export List to Excel
Series
Library wars volume 1
Notes
Libraries protect the freedom to read, so when Japan starts banning some books for being potentially harmful, libraries form an army to literally fight censorship. Inspired by an incident in her youth, Iku Kasahara joins the elite force, but does she have what it takes? - Jennie R
Description
Notes
Pri Das ia an Indian American teen whose mother keeps secrets about her past; Pri wants to learn about India, but her mother refuses to talk. When Pri discovers a magical red pashmina scarf that transports her to India, will her mother's secrets be revealed? - Carol S
Description
Notes
Dounya battles eating disorders in this young adult graphic novel. She strives for perfection, eating to combat stress. She begins to eat and purge—her weight drops from over 200 pounds to just 73 pounds. Part of a sobering series by Zuiker Press. - Sarah C
Description
Notes
I have never laughed so hard while reading as I did with this graphic novel. Whether you have a cat or a baby (or both), if you are in need of a pick me up, this book will definitely lift your spirits (or have you crying from laughter)! - Deborah K
Description
Notes
A delightful modern-day fairy tale that asks the question if you could change it all, would you? More importantly, should you? Deceptively simple, quirky art helps to bring this story to life. - Megan B
Description
Notes
This bitingly witty comic biography highlights the stories of indomitable women from all over the world and history. The artwork conveys the stories beautifully. - Brit A
Description
Series
Heavy vinyl volume 1
Notes
If you love Empire Records, but wish the store was run and staffed by more women and that they sometimes solve crimes, this is the graphic novel for you! - Nico P
Description
Notes
This beautifully drawn graphic novel combines court intrigue, a magical world, and a forbidden romance as Lady Poppy - the former king's illegitimate daughter - searches to learn who is making attempts on her life. Fans of "Saga" and "Fable" should definitely check this out! - Megan B
Description
Notes
Through beautiful illustrations, the narrative follows Ebo on his dangerous journey from his home in Ghana across the Sahara Desert and Mediterranean Sea to a new life. Ebo encounters many who try to thwart him and others who sacrifice much to assist him on his journey. - Sarah C
Formats:
Description
Notes
Nadia Pym has escaped the Red Room and made it to America, where she's assembling a super team of the smartest girls she can find. With the irrepressible energy and joy familiar to fans of Squirrel Girl, Unstoppable Wasp is a fun addition to the Marvel lineup. - Jennie R
Series
Low riders volume 1
Notes
This quirky graphic novel follows a group of friends who love working on cars. When they hear of a car competition to build the best lowrider in town, they enter and embark on an intergalactic journey! Beautiful ballpoint pen illustrations make this book out of this world! - Janelle O
Description
Notes
Illustrating WWI-era poetry with comics, this anthology is a moving and haunting look at the devastation of war. - Jennifer R.
Description
Notes
In this installment of Hazardous Tales, Hale tells the story of Araminta Ross, a *** who risked everything to be free. Once she made it, she changed her name to Harriet Tubman and helped rescue others. - Jennifer R.
Formats:
Description
Notes
A hilariously perfect blend of satire and self-awareness, along with fantastic artwork by Cameron Stewart. - Katelyn A.
Description
Series
Shutter volume 1
Notes
Exciting and fast-paced, Shutter Vol. 1 follows the adventures of explorer and photographer Kate Kristopher. I especially loved the narrative twists and the fantastic artwork from Leila Del Duca. - Katelyn A.
Description
Notes
The visually inventive and surprisingly poignant tale of four kids who love Dungeons and Dragons and playing video games, but have to grow up fast when one of their fathers plans a bank robbery. The art style really shows off the things that only graphic novels can do. - Pete P.
Description
Author
Notes
Bui’s painful & honest graphic memoir recounts her family’s upheaval & survival in pre- and post-war Vietnam, & their later transculturation and struggle to survive as emigres to America. - Stephen H.
Formats:
Description
Notes
In this graphic novel set thousands of years in the future, ice covers the earth and human history has been forgotten. When archaeologists discover the Louvre buried beneath the ice, they make absurd assumptions about humanity’s past based on the art they find there. - Tracy K.
19) Hostage
Notes
What would it be like to endure the darkness of cruel captivity for three months? "Hostage" exemplifies how well suited the graphic format is for tackling difficult subject matter. - Michael L.
Formats:
Description
Series
Notes
This updated look at the classic cartoon uses the 1950s suburbia feeling of Bedrock to offer thoughtful and biting social commentary. - Jennifer R.
Description