Ignite the Stars
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published
Albert Whitman & Company 2018
Status
Available from OverDrive
Formats
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with with reading apps installed.
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
OverDrive Read
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
Description
Loading Description...
More Details
Format
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Street Date
09/04/2018
Language
English
ISBN
9780807536261
Also in this Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Milan, M. (2018). Ignite the Stars. Albert Whitman & Company.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Milan, Maura. 2018. Ignite the Stars. Albert Whitman & Company.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Milan, Maura, Ignite the Stars. Albert Whitman & Company, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Milan, Maura. Ignite the Stars. Albert Whitman & Company, 2018. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailableShared?
Shared Digital Collection11No
Staff View
Go To Grouped Work

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDb2135d7e-d0a9-7878-a6da-d440a87391f9
Full titleignite the stars
Authormilan maura
Grouping Categorybook
Last Update2020-04-01 16:46:36PM
Last Indexed2020-04-01 17:48:07PM

Book Cover Information

Image SourcecontentCafe
First LoadedMar 3, 2020
Last UsedApr 3, 2020
Date Added:
Dec 26, 2019 16:26:33
Date Updated:
Mar 18, 2020 16:48:58
Last Metadata Check:
Mar 18, 2020 16:48:58
Last Metadata Change:
Mar 18, 2020 16:48:58
Last Availability Check:
Mar 18, 2020 16:48:58
Last Availability Change:
Mar 18, 2020 16:48:58

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0427-1/{4A73A6CB-9DE7-4053-962B-D28F1F099523}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0427-1/{4A73A6CB-9DE7-4053-962B-D28F1F099523}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0427-1/4A7/3A6/CB/{4A73A6CB-9DE7-4053-962B-D28F1F099523}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0427-1/4A7/3A6/CB/{4A73A6CB-9DE7-4053-962B-D28F1F099523}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
formats
      • fileName: IgnitetheStars9780807536261
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 1247715
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780807536261
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 0
            • type: Printing
            • value: -1
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 1
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 09/04/2018
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=4a73a6cb-9de7-4053-962b-d28f1f099523&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: IgnitetheStars9780807536261
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B07BYVPYN7
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 09/04/2018
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=4a73a6cb-9de7-4053-962b-d28f1f099523&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: IgnitetheStars9780807536261
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780807536261
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 09/04/2018
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=4a73a6cb-9de7-4053-962b-d28f1f099523&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Milan, Maura
      • bioText: Maura Milan received her BA in Film Production from USC's School of Cinema-Television and currently lives in Los Angeles, where she works in video production. Ignite the Stars is her first novel. Maura Milan lives in Los Angeles, where she can be found writing stories set in made-up worlds, watching Korean dramas, and hanging out with Thor, her schipperke. This is her debut novel.
      • name: Maura Milan
imprint
AW Teen
subjects
      • value: Science Fiction
      • value: Young Adult Fiction
      • value: Young Adult Literature
publishDate
2018-09-04T00:00:00-04:00
publishDateText
09/04/2018
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription
Everyone in the universe knows his name. Everyone in the universe fears him. But no one realizes that notorious outlaw Ia Cocha is a seventeen-year-old girl.A criminal mastermind and unrivaled pilot, Ia has spent her life terrorizing the Olympus Commonwealth, the imperialist nation that destroyed her home. When the Commonwealth captures her and her true identity is exposed, they see Ia's age and talent as an opportunity: by forcing her to serve them, they will prove that no one is beyond their control.Soon, Ia is trapped at the Commonwealth's military academy, desperately plotting her escape. But new acquaintances—including Brinn, a seemingly average student with a closely-held secret, and their charming Flight Master, Knives—cause Ia to question her own alliances. Can she find a way to escape the Commonwealth's clutches before these bonds deepen?In this exhilarating edge-of-your-seat sci-fi adventure—perfect for fans of The Lunar Chronicles—debut author...
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Ignite the Stars
fullDescription
Everyone in the universe knows his name. Everyone in the universe fears him. But no one realizes that notorious outlaw Ia Cocha is a seventeen-year-old girl.A criminal mastermind and unrivaled pilot, Ia has spent her life terrorizing the Olympus Commonwealth, the imperialist nation that destroyed her home. When the Commonwealth captures her and her true identity is exposed, they see Ia's age and talent as an opportunity: by forcing her to serve them, they will prove that no one is beyond their control.Soon, Ia is trapped at the Commonwealth's military academy, desperately plotting her escape. But new acquaintances—including Brinn, a seemingly average student with a closely-held secret, and their charming Flight Master, Knives—cause Ia to question her own alliances. Can she find a way to escape the Commonwealth's clutches before these bonds deepen?In this exhilarating edge-of-your-seat sci-fi adventure—perfect for fans of The Lunar Chronicles—debut author Maura Milan introduces our world to a thrilling new heroine.
sortTitle
Ignite the Stars
crossRefId
3943065
reviews
      • premium: True
      • source: Kirkus
      • content:

        July 1, 2018
        A 17-year-old girl is the universe's most wanted criminal in Milan's exhilarating debut.After surrendering herself to the imperialist Olympus Commonwealth that is responsible for her home planet's destruction, golden-skinned, black-haired Ia Cocha is forced to join the Royal Star Force Academy on Aphelion. Upon arrival, the notorious expert pilot is feared by her peers and immediately plots her escape. Naturally blue-haired Brinn Tarver, a Commonwealth citizen who conceals her half-Tawny heritage out of fear, enrolls in the Academy and is devastated to discover that her roommate is Ia. Meanwhile, blond-haired and blue-eyed Flight Master Knives has lost faith in the Royal Star Force after his sister died on a mission and receives a remote control for a device implanted on Ia's heart. All three protagonists' alliances come under question as they begin to empathize with one another and dissect their political beliefs surrounding the treatment of refugee groups. Meanwhile, a slaving nation known as the Armada drives the plot forward as it takes over Ia's turf in Dead Space. Ia is a kick-ass fighter and complex heroine whose hot-and-cold attitude is often aimed at introspective Brinn, who has the greatest potential for growth. Knives comes close to being just a convenient love interest, but a future installment may redeem him.Fast-paced and gripping--a stellar opening to a new sci-fi adventure series focused on social justice. (Science fiction. 12-18)

        COPYRIGHT(2018) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

      • premium: True
      • source: School Library Journal
      • content:

        September 1, 2018

        Gr 7 Up-In the year 8921, the Olympus Commonwealth boasts the most powerful military in the galaxy. The Commonwealth intends to explore and conquer as many star systems as possible and advance their political agenda throughout the known universe. Brinn Tarver is a 16-year-old citizen who loves the Commonwealth so much that she joins the Royal Star Force, its military arm. Ia C├Ácha is a 17-year-old girl who lives among the fringe planets with her older brother. She is considered the "most dangerous criminal in Commonwealth history." Circumstances bring Brinn and Ia together, forcing them to open their minds to the possibility that not everything is as it seems. Milan has produced an incredible novel that is particularly relevant in the current political climate. Each chapter switches between the protagonists' perspectives, giving readers multiple points of view throughout. Milan is excellent at establishing relatable, complex characters. The action-packed sequences, with spaceship battles and academic competition, are so engaging, teens won't be able to put the book down. The author provides elaborate detail about the Royal Star Force academy, space, and the Commonwealth, immersing readers in a fully developed alternate world. VERDICT A strong first book in a sure-to-be successful science fiction series.-Davia Schmidt, Queens Public Library, NY

        Copyright 2018 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

series
Ignite the Stars
popularity
581
publisher
Albert Whitman & Company
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L1BbQAAAA2i/products/4a73a6cb-9de7-4053-962b-d28f1f099523/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
4a73a6cb-9de7-4053-962b-d28f1f099523
starRating
4.2