American Street
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Published:
HarperCollins 2017
Status:
Checked Out
Formats
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with with reading apps installed.
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
OverDrive Read
Need Help?
If you are having problem using our eCollection, please visit our support center.
Description

A National Book Award Longlist title with five starred reviews!

American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys.

In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.

On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life.

But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola's mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit's west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.

Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

More Details
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Street Date:
02/14/2017
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062473066
ASIN:
B01G1GDAEY
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Ibi Zoboi. (2017). American Street. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Ibi Zoboi. 2017. American Street. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Ibi Zoboi, American Street. HarperCollins, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Ibi Zoboi. American Street. HarperCollins, 2017. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection10

There are 3 holds on this title.

Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
e564ef52-91ac-cdd5-922d-2ee92ebf5b2c
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Feb 15, 2017 12:25:30
Date Updated:
Nov 18, 2017 04:58:50
Last Metadata Check:
Dec 12, 2017 23:58:01
Last Metadata Change:
Dec 07, 2017 09:54:12
Last Availability Check:
Dec 12, 2017 23:58:02
Last Availability Change:
Dec 12, 2017 23:58:02

OverDrive Product Record

id
85d1abe5-c42f-42cb-8bd8-cf26c0063cc9
primaryCreator
    • name: Ibi Zoboi
    • role: Author
starRating
4.1
title
American Street
crossRefId
2725914
sortTitle
American Street
images
    • cover300Wide:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/85D/1AB/E5/{85D1ABE5-C42F-42CB-8BD8-CF26C0063CC9}Img400.jpg
    • cover:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{85D1ABE5-C42F-42CB-8BD8-CF26C0063CC9}Img100.jpg
    • thumbnail:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{85D1ABE5-C42F-42CB-8BD8-CF26C0063CC9}Img200.jpg
    • cover150Wide:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/85D/1AB/E5/{85D1ABE5-C42F-42CB-8BD8-CF26C0063CC9}Img150.jpg
dateAdded
2017-02-15T11:37:00.29-05:00
contentDetails
      • account:
          • id: 1208
          • name: Arlington Public Library (VA)
      • type: text/html
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=166&titleID=2725914
mediaType
eBook
formats
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • value: 9780062473066
            • type: ISBN
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • value: B01G1GDAEY
            • type: ASIN
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • identifiers:
            • value: 9780062473066
            • type: ISBN
      • name: OverDrive Read

OverDrive MetaData

crossRefId
2725914
subjects
      • value: Young Adult Fiction
      • value: Young Adult Literature
sortTitle
American Street
links
    • self:
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
        • href: http://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L1BbQAAAA2i/products/85d1abe5-c42f-42cb-8bd8-cf26c0063cc9/metadata
mediaType
eBook
formats
      • fileSize: 695057
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • value: 9780062473066
            • type: ISBN
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • rights:
            • value: 34
            • type: Copying
            • value: 34
            • type: Printing
            • value: 0
            • type: Lending
            • value: 1
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 0
            • type: ExpirationRights
      • fileName: AmericanStreet9780062473066
      • partCount: 0
      • onSaleDate: 02/14/2017
      • samples:
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • source: From the book
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=85d1abe5-c42f-42cb-8bd8-cf26c0063cc9&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileSize: 0
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • value: B01G1GDAEY
            • type: ASIN
      • name: Kindle Book
      • fileName: AmericanStreet9780062473066
      • partCount: 0
      • onSaleDate: 02/14/2017
      • samples:
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • source: From the book
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=85d1abe5-c42f-42cb-8bd8-cf26c0063cc9&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileSize: 827035
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • identifiers:
            • value: 9780062473066
            • type: ISBN
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • fileName: AmericanStreet9780062473066
      • partCount: 0
      • onSaleDate: 02/14/2017
      • samples:
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • source: From the book
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=85d1abe5-c42f-42cb-8bd8-cf26c0063cc9&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
publisher
HarperCollins
publishDateText
02/14/2017
id
85d1abe5-c42f-42cb-8bd8-cf26c0063cc9
creators
      • name: Ibi Zoboi
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Zoboi, Ibi
      • bioText:

        Ibi Zoboi was born in Port-au-Prince, Haiti, and immigrated to the U.S. when she was four years old. She holds an MFA in writing for children and young adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts, where she was a recipient of the Norma Fox Mazer Award. Her award-winning and Pushcart-nominated writing has been published in Haiti Noir, the Caribbean Writer, the New York Times Book Review, The Horn Book magazine, and The Rumpus, among other publications. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband and their three children. American Street is her first novel, followed by Pride. Visit the author at www.ibizoboi.net.

languages
      • name: English
      • code: en
starRating
4.1
isPublicDomain
False
title
American Street
fullDescription

A National Book Award Longlist title with five starred reviews!

American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys.

In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.

On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life.

But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola's mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit's west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.

Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

shortDescription

*Five Starred Reviews*

American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.

On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life.

But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola's mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit's west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.

Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the...

imprint
Balzer + Bray
awards
      • source: National Book Foundation
      • value: National Book Award Finalist
isOwnedByCollections
True
images
    • cover300Wide:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/85D/1AB/E5/{85D1ABE5-C42F-42CB-8BD8-CF26C0063CC9}Img400.jpg
    • cover:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{85D1ABE5-C42F-42CB-8BD8-CF26C0063CC9}Img100.jpg
    • thumbnail:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{85D1ABE5-C42F-42CB-8BD8-CF26C0063CC9}Img200.jpg
    • cover150Wide:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/85D/1AB/E5/{85D1ABE5-C42F-42CB-8BD8-CF26C0063CC9}Img150.jpg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
publishDate
2017-02-14T00:00:00-05:00
popularity
1872