The Ghosts of Cannae: Hannibal and the Darkest Hour of the Roman Republic
(OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
Tantor Media 2010
Status:
Available from OverDrive
Formats
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Works on MP3 Players, PCs, and Macs. Some mobile devices may require an application to be installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem using our eCollection, please visit our support center.
Description

For fans of Victor Davis Hanson, Donald Kagan, and Barry Strauss comes a rich, sweeping account of the most imitated—-and vicious—-battle in history.

Hannibal's battle plan at Cannae became the mother of all great battle strategies—-the first battle of encirclement that has been imitated (often to disastrous effect) endlessly over the past two thousand years. In this brilliant, long-overdue, and beautifully written account, Robert L. O'Connell gives listeners an epic account of one of the most dramatic battles of antiquity. The Ghosts of Cannae is at once a book about a specific battle (the massive defeat of a huge but inexperienced Roman army in southern Italy by Hannibal in 216 BC) but also an interpretation of the larger course of the Second Punic War, as well as an assessment of the historical impact of Rome's storied rivalry with Carthage. What ties the book together is the fate of the survivors, their treatment by the authorities in Rome, and ultimately their vindication nearly two decades later, when they defeated Hannibal at the decisive battle of Zama in North Africa. With an unforgettable cast of heroes and villains, The Ghosts of Cannae is history at its finest.

More Details
Format:
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen
Edition:
Unabridged
Street Date:
7/13/2010
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781400197224
Also in This Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Robert L. O'Connell. (2010). The Ghosts of Cannae: Hannibal and the Darkest Hour of the Roman Republic. Unabridged Tantor Media.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Robert L. O'Connell. 2010. The Ghosts of Cannae: Hannibal and the Darkest Hour of the Roman Republic. Tantor Media.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Robert L. O'Connell, The Ghosts of Cannae: Hannibal and the Darkest Hour of the Roman Republic. Tantor Media, 2010.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Robert L. O'Connell. The Ghosts of Cannae: Hannibal and the Darkest Hour of the Roman Republic. Unabridged Tantor Media, 2010.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection11
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
8e62232b-5c53-1ec4-d2a8-9f06e4578fb0
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Nov 09, 2015 17:59:05
Date Updated:
May 18, 2019 15:50:05
Last Metadata Check:
May 18, 2019 15:50:45
Last Metadata Change:
Jul 28, 2018 23:57:19
Last Availability Check:
May 18, 2019 15:50:45
Last Availability Change:
Apr 03, 2019 14:44:17

OverDrive Product Record

images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/1219-1/{894AF14F-FEEA-48F7-BA08-DC9DB801F6FC}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/1219-1/{894AF14F-FEEA-48F7-BA08-DC9DB801F6FC}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/1219-1/894/AF1/4F/{894AF14F-FEEA-48F7-BA08-DC9DB801F6FC}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/1219-1/894/AF1/4F/{894AF14F-FEEA-48F7-BA08-DC9DB801F6FC}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: 8
            • value: tantor_audio#9781400187225
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781400197224
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • identifiers:
            • type: 8
            • value: tantor_audio#9781400187225
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781400197224
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
otherFormatIdentifiers
      • type: ISBN
      • value: 9781400117222
mediaType
Audiobook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Robert L. O'Connell
title
The Ghosts of Cannae
dateAdded
2010-09-20T22:29:42.18-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=166&titleID=352007
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Arlington Public Library (VA)
          • id: 1208
sortTitle
Ghosts of Cannae
crossRefId
352007
subtitle
Hannibal and the Darkest Hour of the Roman Republic
id
894af14f-feea-48f7-ba08-dc9db801f6fc
starRating
3.7

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/1219-1/{894AF14F-FEEA-48F7-BA08-DC9DB801F6FC}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/1219-1/{894AF14F-FEEA-48F7-BA08-DC9DB801F6FC}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/1219-1/894/AF1/4F/{894AF14F-FEEA-48F7-BA08-DC9DB801F6FC}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/1219-1/894/AF1/4F/{894AF14F-FEEA-48F7-BA08-DC9DB801F6FC}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
formats
      • fileName: GhostsofCannae9781400187225
      • partCount: 16
      • fileSize: 383913808
      • identifiers:
            • audience: retailer
            • type: 8
            • value: tantor_audio#9781400187225
            • audience: library
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781400197224
      • rights:
            • type: PlayOnPC
            • value: 1
            • type: PlayOnPCCount
            • value: -1
            • type: BurnToCD
            • value: 1
            • type: BurnToCDCount
            • value: -1
            • type: PlayOnPM
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToNonSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferCount
            • value: -1
            • type: CollaborativePlay
            • value: 0
            • type: PublicPerformance
            • value: 0
            • type: TranscodeToAAC
            • value: 1
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • onSaleDate: 07/13/2010
      • samples:
            • source: Cast of Characters
            • formatType: audiobook-wma
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-25/1219-1/352007-TheGhostsOfCannae.wma
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/1219-1/352007-TheGhostsOfCannae.mp3
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=894AF14F-FEEA-48F7-BA08-DC9DB801F6FC&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: GhostsofCannae9781400187225
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 383141711
      • identifiers:
            • audience: retailer
            • type: 8
            • value: tantor_audio#9781400187225
            • audience: library
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781400197224
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 07/13/2010
      • samples:
            • source: Cast of Characters
            • formatType: audiobook-wma
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-25/1219-1/352007-TheGhostsOfCannae.wma
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/1219-1/352007-TheGhostsOfCannae.mp3
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=894AF14F-FEEA-48F7-BA08-DC9DB801F6FC&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: O'Connell, Robert L.
      • name: Robert L. O'Connell
      • role: Narrator
      • fileAs: Sklar, Alan
      • name: Alan Sklar
subjects
      • value: History
      • value: Nonfiction
publishDate
2010-07-13T00:00:00-04:00
edition
Unabridged
publishDateText
7/13/2010
otherFormatIdentifiers
      • type: ISBN
      • value: 9781400117222
mediaType
Audiobook
shortDescription

For fans of Victor Davis Hanson, Donald Kagan, and Barry Strauss comes a rich, sweeping account of the most imitated—-and vicious—-battle in history.

Hannibal's battle plan at Cannae became the mother of all great battle strategies—-the first battle of encirclement that has been imitated (often to disastrous effect) endlessly over the past two thousand years. In this brilliant, long-overdue, and beautifully written account, Robert L. O'Connell gives listeners an epic account of one of the most dramatic battles of antiquity. The Ghosts of Cannae is at once a book about a specific battle (the massive defeat of a huge but inexperienced Roman army in southern Italy by Hannibal in 216 BC) but also an interpretation of the larger course of the Second Punic War, as well as an assessment of the historical impact of Rome's storied rivalry with Carthage. What ties the book together is the fate of the survivors, their treatment by the authorities in Rome, and...

isOwnedByCollections
True
title
The Ghosts of Cannae
fullDescription

For fans of Victor Davis Hanson, Donald Kagan, and Barry Strauss comes a rich, sweeping account of the most imitated—-and vicious—-battle in history.

Hannibal's battle plan at Cannae became the mother of all great battle strategies—-the first battle of encirclement that has been imitated (often to disastrous effect) endlessly over the past two thousand years. In this brilliant, long-overdue, and beautifully written account, Robert L. O'Connell gives listeners an epic account of one of the most dramatic battles of antiquity. The Ghosts of Cannae is at once a book about a specific battle (the massive defeat of a huge but inexperienced Roman army in southern Italy by Hannibal in 216 BC) but also an interpretation of the larger course of the Second Punic War, as well as an assessment of the historical impact of Rome's storied rivalry with Carthage. What ties the book together is the fate of the survivors, their treatment by the authorities in Rome, and ultimately their vindication nearly two decades later, when they defeated Hannibal at the decisive battle of Zama in North Africa. With an unforgettable cast of heroes and villains, The Ghosts of Cannae is history at its finest.

sortTitle
Ghosts of Cannae
crossRefId
352007
subtitle
Hannibal and the Darkest Hour of the Roman Republic
popularity
118
publisher
Tantor Media
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L1BbQAAAA2i/products/894af14f-feea-48f7-ba08-dc9db801f6fc/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
894af14f-feea-48f7-ba08-dc9db801f6fc
starRating
3.7