The Eyre affair
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York : Viking, c2002.
Status:
Central Detectives has 2
D FFORD
Shirlington Detectives has 2
D FFORD
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
Central Detectives
D FFORD
Due Aug 1, 2018
Central Detectives
D FFORD
Due Jul 30, 2018
Central Detectives
D FFORD
Available
Jul 8, 2018
Central Detectives
D FFORD
Available
Dec 21, 2017
Glencarlyn Detectives
D FFORD
Due Aug 1, 2018
Show All Copies
Description
The first installment in Jasper Fforde’s New York Times bestselling series of Thursday Next novels introduces literary detective Thursday Next and her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England—from the author of Early RiserFans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse will love visiting Jasper Fforde's Great Britain, circa 1985, when time travel is routine, cloning is a reality (dodos are the resurrected pet of choice), and literature is taken very, very seriously: it’s a bibliophile’s dream. England is a virtual police state where an aunt can get lost (literally) in a Wordsworth poem and forging Byronic verse is a punishable offense. All this is business as usual for Thursday Next, renowned Special Operative in literary detection. But when someone begins kidnapping characters from works of literature and plucks Jane Eyre from the pages of Brontë's novel, Thursday is faced with the challenge of her career. Fforde's ingenious fantasy—enhanced by a Web site that re-creates the world of the novel—unites intrigue with English literature in a delightfully witty mix.
More Details
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
374 pages ; 22 cm.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780142001806 , 0142001805, 0670030643

Notes

Description
Thursday Next, a Special Operative in literary detection in a time-altered Great Britain in which messing with the classics is a punishable offense, sets out to apprehend a criminal who is murdering characters from works of literature and has chosen Jane Eyre as his next victim.
Local note
Publisher varies.
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Fforde, J. (2002). The Eyre affair. New York: Viking.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Fforde, Jasper. 2002. The Eyre Affair. New York: Viking.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Fforde, Jasper, The Eyre Affair. New York: Viking, 2002.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Fforde, Jasper. The Eyre Affair. New York: Viking, 2002. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
b97a171e-5d94-737f-9291-31ffd5482d00
Go To Grouped Work
Last File Modification Time Jul 12, 2018 04:53:08 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time Jul 12, 2018 04:50:16 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03917nam a2200565 a 4500
00148046002 
003OCoLC
00520030602165203.0
008010910s2002    nyu           000 1 eng  
010 |a  2001043775
020 |a 9780142001806 |q (Penguin pbk.)
020 |a 0142001805
020 |a 0670030643 |q (alk. paper)
049 |a VIAC
09204 |a D FFORD
1001 |a Fforde, Jasper.
24514 |a The Eyre affair / |c Jasper Fforde.
260 |a New York : |b Viking, |c c2002.
300 |a 374 p. ; |c 22 cm.
4901 |a Thursday next series; |v 1.
520 |a Thursday Next, a Special Operative in literary detection in a time-altered Great Britain in which messing with the classics is a punishable offense, sets out to apprehend a criminal who is murdering characters from works of literature and has chosen Jane Eyre as his next victim.
590 |a Publisher varies.
650 0 |a Next, Thursday (Fictitious character) |v Fiction.
650 0 |a Women detectives |z England |v Fiction.
650 0 |a Characters and characteristics in literature |v Fiction.
650 0 |a Books and reading |v Fiction.
650 0 |a Alternative histories (Fiction).
655 7 |a Fantasy fiction. |2 gsafd.
655 7 |a Mystery fiction. |2 gsafd.
8001 |a Fforde, Jasper. |t Thursday next series; |v 1.
898 |a English qEnglish.
898 |a qBook.
898 |a qFiction.
907 |a .b11787089 |b 07-11-18 |c 01-25-11
998 |a aaf |a (11)caf |a (2)haf |a gaf |a (4)saf |a (2)waf |b 01-25-11 |c m |d a |e - |f eng |g nyu |h 4
910 |a 523833
903 |a OCLC Holdings Updated 20110802
99812 |a ITS163 SC 20011219085305.0 ITS ARL |b ITS74.2 20101201103153 saz 2483 |b ITS74.2 20101119125352 llc 2483 |b 20080324235735 |b ITS62.1 20080324110623 tvu 2483 |b ITS181 JFS 20030602164903.0 ITS ARL |b ITS181 SC 20030515120543.0 ITS ARL |b ITS163 JOA 20030115105031.0 ITS ARL
989 |g 1 |i 202027942763 |j 0 |k  - - |l aafd |o n |p $24.00 |q - |r - |s w |t 1 |e  - - |d 09-08-2014 18:24 |h 08-05-2014 14:47 |u 116 |v 6 |w 0 |x 0 |y .i14292257 |z 01-26-11
989 |g 0 |i 31000001304420 |j 0 |k  - - |l cafd |o - |p $16.00 |q - |r - |s - |t 2 |e  - - |d 12-21-2017 10:04 |h 11-30-2017 13:52 |u 6 |v 5 |w 0 |x 1 |y .i20347637 |z 01-21-16
989 |g 1 |i 202036712258 |j 0 |k  - - |l cafd |n Wed Nov 18 2015: $15.00 paid by .p10817396 |o n |p $15.00 |q - |r - |s w |t 2 |e  - - |d 11-18-2015 15:20 |h 01-31-2015 13:19 |u 34 |v 9 |w 0 |x 0 |y .i14292270 |z 01-26-11
989 |g 1 |i 31000000027840 |j 0 |k  - - |l cafd |o n |p $16.00 |q - |r - |s w |t 2 |e  - - |d 05-01-2017 18:31 |h 02-25-2017 10:25 |u 10 |v 7 |w 0 |x 0 |y .i20013206 |z 07-30-15
989 |g 1 |i 31000000027980 |j 0 |k  - - |l cafd |o n |p $16.00 |q - |r - |s w |t 2 |e  - - |d 08-20-2016 11:49 |h 08-04-2016 19:04 |u 6 |v 4 |w 0 |x 0 |y .i20013218 |z 07-30-15
989 |g 0 |i 31000001304438 |j 0 |k  - - |l cafd |m Mon Jun 18 2018 04:24PM: IN TRANSIT from ksulliva to cafd |o n |p $16.00 |q - |r - |s w |t 2 |e  - - |d 06-18-2018 16:24 |h 06-12-2018 15:44 |u 14 |v 6 |w 0 |x 7 |y .i20347595 |z 01-21-16
989 |g 0 |i 31000001304370 |j 0 |k 08-01-18 |l cafd |o - |p $16.00 |q - |r - |s - |t 2 |e 07-11-2018 16:55 |d 07-01-2018 19:41 |h 06-11-2018 14:09 |u 10 |v 7 |w 1 |x 6 |y .i20347625 |z 01-21-16
989 |g 0 |i 31000001304412 |j 0 |k  - - |l cafd |o - |p $16.00 |q - |r - |s - |t 2 |e  - - |d 07-08-2018 18:49 |h 05-08-2018 10:14 |u 8 |v 5 |w 0 |x 5 |y .i20347601 |z 01-21-16
989 |g 0 |i 31000001304362 |j 0 |k 07-30-18 |l cafd |o - |p $16.00 |q - |r - |s - |t 2 |e 07-09-2018 19:52 |d 06-27-2018 17:40 |h 05-15-2018 17:37 |u 10 |v 7 |w 1 |x 5 |y .i20347662 |z 01-21-16
989 |g 0 |i 31000001304388 |j 0 |k 08-01-18 |l gafd |o - |p $16.00 |q - |r - |s - |t 2 |e 07-11-2018 19:47 |d 05-08-2018 13:51 |h 04-28-2018 13:42 |u 9 |v 3 |w 1 |x 2 |y .i20347650 |z 01-21-16
989 |g 0 |i 31000001304396 |j 0 |k  - - |l safd |o - |p $16.00 |q - |r - |s - |t 2 |e  - - |d 06-30-2018 14:26 |h 06-30-2018 13:55 |u 13 |v 12 |w 0 |x 6 |y .i20347613 |z 01-21-16
989 |g 0 |i 31000001304404 |j 0 |k  - - |l safd |o - |p $16.00 |q - |r - |s - |t 2 |e  - - |d 06-15-2018 12:52 |h 05-31-2018 12:14 |u 9 |v 4 |w 0 |x 6 |y .i20347649 |z 01-21-16